We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame...”
Review of Posada del Parque

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arequipa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada del Parque
Ranked #82 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Positives
Hot showers
Stunning views
Helpful trip organiser - there for one hour a day

Negatives
Unfortunately the owner and his family spoke no English and were extremely rude when they realised that we spoke no Spanish, he knew the words 'pay' and room' so would aggresively say those when he wanted his money!

Entering the hostel proved difficult! There was often noone at reception so you could be left ringing the doorbell for 5/10 mins which late at night a a female traveller is not comforting!

Beware of the leaking showers! Taking a shower (which to the hostels credit were lovely and warm!)for more than 2 or 3 minutes could leave you with an ocean in your bathroom/room!

Unfortunately we found the entire experience at Pirwa Park/Posada del Parque (apart from the trip to the Colca Canyon) a negative and rude experience and will not be recommending this hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonIndia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 34 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Housed in a well-cared for colonical building in the heart of Arequipa, Posada del Parque, or Pirwa Park Hostel, is a family-run establishment. The rooms are large, high-ceilinged and comfortable. The common areas are attractive and comfortable, and very clean. The roof-top terrace has several seating areas both covered and uncovered with spectacular views of the surrounding volcanos. The hostel is located three blocks from Plaza de Armas and one block from the municipal market. The surrounding streets are bustling, but inside the atmosphere is peaceful. The hostel is very secure with 24 hour staffing and the streets are well patrolled day and night. We were welcome to do some hand washing and hang it on the terrace, as well as use the communal kitchen. The little tour agency located on the terrace was extremely helpful in making personized suggestions for further travel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Nice cosy homely hostel, we stayed in a 6 bed room which had nice balcony doors which opened out so the room was airy and light. The roof terrace is really nice with sun loungers so you can chill out up there, there is also access to a kitchen so we made our own food a few times which saves you money. Good computers and wi fi and DVDs available from reception. Only minor complaint was we did our laundry through the hostel and our friends did have some clothes ruined, but they did give them sons money off the washing and I suppose that's pretty standard for laundry here anyway!?
Staff were nice, would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had a large, clean and interesting room. We arrived in the early evening and the ladies at the front desk could not do enough for us, they were helpful and welcoming. Breakfast on the rooftop with a view of the volcanoes was a treat as was the location just a few blocks away from the main tourist streets. It was an easy walk to Plaza Armas and also to the tour operators so we could book our trip to the Colca Canyon. A draw back for us was the lack of pressure in the shower and the warm, but not hot, water. It is not a 5 star but it offers good value and a kind, concerned staff for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wageni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Rooms and halls are adorable, old colonial style, very clean and well maintained, spacious, comfortable with nice view – especially dining room and kitchenette on the rooftop, from where you can see tops of volcanoes and a cathedral.
Unfortunately there is NO ONE who speaks English, not the nice lady (I guess the owner), not anyone on the reception – very inconvenient, as you always get the best information at your hotel when you’re in the city for the first time. The only person we could communicate with was a friendly man at tourist office (only few hours a day present). We bought a bus ticket for Colca Canyon and condor watching, but the bus was an hour late (we waited in cold at 2:30 AM!) and we stopped for breakfast (it wasn’t mentioned while buying the trip) for like 40 minutes and for condors we had only half an hour – definitely too little time :(
The breakfast is optional, so is laundry service, the costs is almost double comparing with prices in the city. There is no possibility to negotiate prices, even for longer stay, or couple of pesos.
To sum up: beautiful but not very tourists friendly hostel, though good value for money (55 soles per night in big double room with bathroom and balcony, TV). Very good wifi.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Clean, well-decorated. Hard to get a hold of staff, though-- the front desk wasn't always manned, and they didn't necessarily respond to the bell. Also, breakfast wasn't at 7:30, as advertised on the sign in the lobby-- you had to make arrangements the night before in order for the cook to get there on time. Would have been nice to have known before we sat at the restaurant for 45 minutes, waiting for someone to show up. Otherwise, no complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lk0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Owner on site 6 days a week to operate his agency so very aware of what is going on and very eager to make is hotel even better. He asked me if I had suggestions and all I found was to tell him an extra towel would be nice to put on the floor when getting out of the shower. That should tell you how I had nothing negative to say about his place. He speaks perfect english by the way and a little french too.

The neighborhood is fine, the breakfasts are good, the fact that it is served on the terrasse on the roof with the mountains/volcanos in the background makes it even better and the staff is very helpful. There is a laundry service that dries your clothes in the sun when possible and it is a nice touch for me. The rooms are roomy and clean and for 15$ a night for a single room with a double bed as of may of 2011, it is hard to ask for a bette value!

Ty Cesar for the great hospitality, I would return for sure!

Room Tip: reserve in advance?!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doumdoum1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#16 of 102 in Arequipa
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 102 in Arequipa
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casablanca Hostal
Casablanca Hostal
#35 of 193 in Arequipa
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Casa De Sillar
La Casa De Sillar
#12 of 193 in Arequipa
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Posada del Virrey
La Posada del Virrey
#125 of 193 in Arequipa
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Parque

Address: Dean Valdivia 238 A | Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic center of the city, only three blocks from the main square, you will find Park Hostel (before Posada del Parque). A large colonial house, specially remodeled to offer you a friendly service for a most relax and enjoyable stay. The hostel has a great and colorfull design with a nice terrace where you will have one of the best panoramic views of the city and three volcanoes that surround it: Misti (5,825m), Chachani (6,075m) and Pichu Pichu (5,600m). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing