We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel!”
Review of Los Tambos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Los Tambos
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little hotel!”
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We can't say enough about this small hotel, only one-half block off the Plaza de Armas in Arequipa. The people at the reception desk spoke English well and were very courteous and helpful. The hotel is immaculate and designed down to the smallest detail. Nice breakfasts with good coffee (!), a small terrace in addition to inside breakfast room. The lobby has a fire place and tiny quiet patio. If you're staying a while, try the terrace on the top floor with a 360 degree view of the city and Misti volcano and comfortable chairs. I'd go back there in a minute.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWRAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    180
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
150
570
77
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba-PR-Brazil
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Great service! You'll feel at home at this hotel! Everybody is very kind, the rooms are good and clean, and they will get anything you need.
I would definitively stay there again!
Andre Choma
Brasil

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2009

I stayed two nights in "Los Tambos" and to be frank........ at the time of booking I could not believe that all the five-star reviews on Tripadvisor were genuine. After staying there I fully agree with all of them: there is just nothing to complain about! Staff is wonderful, superb breakfast, great service, great location. To find them on the internet is a little difficult...... so if you want to make a reservation: www.lostambos.com.pe

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Quite simply the most welcome I have ever been made to feel at a hotel anywhere in the world. Great room, great breakfast, great location and great staff. Friendly, efficient and professional. I could not think more highly of Los Tambos

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

The night before we flew from Lima to Arequipa I received a message from Tom, the manager of Los Tambos asking if we would provide our flight details so that he could meet us at the airport.. Their wonderful service began at the airport and continued until we departed next morning (in a taxi provide gratis by the hotel) after an all too short stay at this wonderful place. The staff were incredibly helpful, the hotel's position, the rooms and the breakfast were above and beyond our expectatons.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wombatfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

We had an exteremely relaxing and pleasurable stay at Los Tambos. The position of the hotel couldn´t be more perfect and from the moment we arrived the staff took care of our every need. The staff were probably the most helpful and friendly of any hotel that i stayed in. The rooms are modern and exceptionally comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. I think any other hotel would find it hard to compete with Los Tambos.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahvross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

This elegant, modern hotel is sandwiched between other colonial edifices in the main part of the city, just a half block from the Plaza de Armas. The hotel opened recently, and the staff is bending over backwards to please. We were picked up at the airport by the manager, a nice young Brazilian man, who refused any tip or payment for the ride. They serve wonderful full breakfasts, including cooked food. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.1 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.2 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Tambos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tambos

Property: Los Tambos
Address: Puente Bolognesi 129 | A half block from Plaza de Armas, Arequipa 04001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#4 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Tambos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let yourself be seduced by the colonial charm of Arequipa and experience unmatched hospitality at Los Tambos. Located in the heart of the city center amidst historic buildings, and world-class attractions, Los Tambos is right next to Plaza de Armas and 20 minutes away from Arequipa Airport. Los Tambos, a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice award-winning hotel, promises excellent accommodation and extraordinary experiences. Revel in our modern and comfortable bedrooms, à la carte breakfast, wireless high-speed Internet access, private transfer to/from the airport (2-night minimum). All included in your rate, complete with panoramic views of the White City and our majestic volcanoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Los Tambos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tambos Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing