We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent small boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Tambos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Los Tambos
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An excellent small boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Centrally located and within walking distance to the main square, restaurants and museum (to visit juanita)

Rooms are quite small but clean and comfortable. When we first got to the hotel we had a tiny room and talked to the Manager who moved us to another room which was slightly bigger. Think European rooms and you will have an idea of how small the rooms are... WIFI is good and we did not encounter any problems.

Breakfast was delicious and made to order. They were so good I ended up having to pay for second breakfast twice, I wanted to try everything on their menu.

Agree with most of the reviews, service is excellent, the personnel is friendly and always helpful.

The free airport transfer is a plus. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacFlores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    149
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
128
482
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Believe what you read from all the positive reviews. No doubt i shall be echoing a number of these as my experience was fantastic, so good in fact it set the standard too high for other hotels/accommodation to live up to!
I often book accommodation based upon location. Los Tambos is perfectly positioned and is in a very safe location.
Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff. What i really loved was that they weren't imposing, they were so chilled, relaxed and patient. From the moment we arrived, refreshment drinks offered and comfy seating offered. After a long haul flight i am prone to being a little grumpy however staff were friendly and not overbearing. Thank you.
Rooms were comfortable and very clean.
Bathrooms were lovely, my only grumble was with the toilet seat - it seamed to have hard edges, which made sitting a little uncomfortable. (Sounds weird i know)
Breakfast - what can i say, the best i had in Peru - seriously - lots of love in the food, with homemade triangle bread which i looked and longed for in every place i went on to but never found. Fruit, yoghurts, pancakes, cereals, juices were all to a very good standard. Loved going upstairs for breakfast, again staff were lovely.
Not part of this hotel however i must mention the free walking tour (meeting point at the Plaza) - fantastic
To sum it up…this is the place to stay. Would love to return to Arequipa and if i did i would be staying here, highly recommended and well deserved to be the number one place to stay in Arequipa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fussyfoodlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Aside from its wonderful location, less than one minute away from the main square, this hotel has a lot to offer. Rooms are large and well decorated, with comfortable beds, and no noise. Bathrooms are spotless, with hot shower. Good wifi connections. Excellent breakfast. And on top of it, super friendly staff who gave us lots of very useful tips for our stay in Arequipa! Thouroughly recommended, as probably the best option in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arthemise21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

LOCATION: Ideally located in City centre around the corner from main square and walking distance to many attractions.

SERVICE: the staff are excellent, the best service I've received. For instance my wife from singapore found the room too chilly, as there is no heating in the room, I raised this with reception and a heater was produced promptly. Also laundry is very reasonably priced. The staff also very helpful in recommending and booking restaurants for us.

ROOM: was compact, which meant bed was quite small - we were in a double room for two people. Bathroom was good enough with shower.

BREAKFAST: Excellent with choice of fresh cooked dish.

CHECKOUT : Was a let down as we left early at 5 am and the credit card machine was not working. As we were in a hurry we had to pay cash, this wiped out most of our cash in hand. Also in the panic we did not get the prepared take-away breakfast which was missed as no food on our morning flight to Cusco.


Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GTGULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascota, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here six nights.

If you want to be near the main plaza of Arequipa, this hotel is as good as any.

The rooms are pretty basic, but clean and comfortable. My room had a strong wifi signal. The TV was pretty small, but I never used it, so that didn't matter to me. My room had a low-end security safe, but it was adequate.

The breakfast is made to order, and good -- but the little dining room can be a bit cold in winter, so wear a coat.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and accommodating. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PV F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Right off the main square - within walking distance of everyplace you would want to visit in Arequipa. Airport pick-up included. Breakfast was delicious - and made to order (the quinoa pancakes were so good, I had them each morning). Room and shower were big, clean, comfortable. Wifi a bit weak - but you're on vacation - get off your device! With all that said, the thing that clearly stuck out the most about this hotel was the staff - they were so friendly, so accommodating, so helpful. Definitely the place to stay in Arequipa.

Room Tip: Had room facing main street - definitely louder, but we're not light sleepers so appreciate the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights to acclimatise and relax after a long journey and it was a great choice. Very welcoming, helpful staff. Log fire in the reception with comfy sofas and a nice little outdoor-ish courtyard to sit quiety to take phone calls. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful, from advising on the altitude to recommending things to do and great restaurants. There was nothing more they could have added to make our stay so memorably pleasant. Would definitely stay here again. Oh, and free coco and other teas and coffee in reception was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#2 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.6 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Tambos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tambos

Property: Los Tambos
Address: Puente Bolognesi 129 | A half block from Plaza de Armas, Arequipa 04001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#4 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Tambos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let yourself be seduced by the colonial charm of Arequipa and experience unmatched hospitality at Los Tambos. Located in the heart of the city center amidst historic buildings, and world-class attractions, Los Tambos is right next to Plaza de Armas and 20 minutes away from Arequipa Airport. Los Tambos, a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice award-winning hotel, promises excellent accommodation and extraordinary experiences. Revel in our modern and comfortable bedrooms, à la carte breakfast, wireless high-speed Internet access, private transfer to/from the airport (2-night minimum). All included in your rate, complete with panoramic views of the White City and our majestic volcanoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Los Tambos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tambos Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing