We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Tambos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Tambos
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Va
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Excellent location, phenomenal service, good restaurant recommendations, and a clean/safe place to stay. The staff at this hotel went way beyond our expectations and we would stay their again in a heartbeat. Thomas in particular was very good.

Room Tip: You'd be a fool not to stay here. Stay on the 5th floor for an awesome balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JB142228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    168
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
141
531
66
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Thomas and his team provided the best customer service we experienced at any hotel while in Peru. They were proactive in providing us a box lunches when we were headed out at 0300 hours for a Colca Canyon tour, arranged free taxis for us to and from the airport, and provided spot on recommendations for restaurants. The entire staff was the best I have experienced from top to bottom. The location is just a few steps from the main plaza and all the amenities one could need. We were lucky enough to get one of the rooms overlooking the street (room 201) and ti was quite large, had a large TV with DirecTV, the bathroom and shower were large and the bed was very comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel and if you like to open your windows and view the street activity, request one of the street rooms if available. Also, the rooftop is fabulous!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are larger, have sound proof windows, and provide views to people watch all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinjm1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Ok, this hotel is a regular 3*. But what makes this special is their customer service, attention to detail and care of their guests. I've never seen a hotel being so proactive like here. They have arranged a free taxi to pick us from the bus station (even after midnight) and also arranged the taxi to take us back when we were leaving, extraordinary... One day we booked a trip to Colca canyon and without hotel knowing it, we've received a breakfast packages at 3am when we were leaving the hotel, wow... The rooms are standard, nothing special but all functional. There is only one thing I'd change and that is a breakfast. You are given menu instead of a regular buffet. However, location of the hotel is just a stone throw away from the main square. We were very comfortable here, would have chosen it again. Thanks Los Tambos!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordighera, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We spent three nights at Los Tambos and it was by far the best accommodation we had in Peru.
Hotel stuff was very helpful and friendly.Breakfast really nice peruvian style served in a cosy restaurant.
Location superb!
I highly recommend to stay at Los Tambos.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regularnormalguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in total during April 2014. Location - perfect. Steps from Plaza de Armas, on a side road that has a lot of convenient amenities (drug store, ATM, restaurants, fast food). Room - wonderful. Good size, well appointed and modern, great bathroom with good shower. Bed was very comfy, great linens. Blackout curtains were great, room was quite. Very good wi-fi reception in the room. Breakfast was excellent, a great selection so tnat you didn't need to eat the same thing everyday.

What really makes this place stand out are the staff. They cannot do enough for you. Extremely friendly and attentive. It felt like a home from home. Don't bother looking elsewhere, if there is a room available at Los Tambos, snap it up!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night in this beautiful town at Los Tambos. Reserved based on previous TA reviews and did not regret it. Reservation process was very easy over the internet. Airport pickup was prompt and our driver Carlos was very friendly and pointed out helpful hints. The drive into the city will make you think whether it was a wise decision to come visit but once you enter the old city these doubts vanish. Check-in was simple and Vanessa at the front desk was very efficient. We got in early but were lucky that our room was ready.

Staff were extremely helpful in planning the day and arranging and negotiating with a taxi for a visit to a Picanteria. The hotel was conveniently located at one corner of the main plaza and walking distance to all the major sites including the Monastery of Santa Catalina. They even made dinner reservations for us at Chi-Cha Restaurant at our request which was very helpful. Breakfast options were good (eggs as well as Tamales and quinoa pancakes on the menu). So recommend it highly and will definitely like to stay here if we find ourselves back in Arequipa.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HonestOpinionReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydneyaustralia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We can't speak highly enough of the hotel, manager and staff from the moment we were driven from the airport until our early departure due to a family emergency - they were so welcoming, friendly, accommodating and kind. They are AMAZING and go above and beyond to ensure their guests have wonderful stay and were genuinely caring at a sad time. The hotel has a warm ambience and is steps from the main square, the rooms and bathrooms are fresh and modern, the beds are very comfortable and our room was very quiet. Breakfast on the terrace with a view of Arequipa was a highlight with many delicious choices and charming service from the staff. We would highly recommend Los Tambos to anyone and hope we will return.

Room Tip: rooms not fronting the street are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.1 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.7 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Tambos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tambos

Property: Los Tambos
Address: Puente Bolognesi 129 | A half block from Plaza de Armas, Arequipa 04001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#1 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#4 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Tambos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let yourself be seduced by the colonial charm of Arequipa and experience unmatched hospitality at Los Tambos. Located in the heart of the city center amidst historic buildings, and world-class attractions, Los Tambos is right next to Plaza de Armas and 20 minutes away from Arequipa Airport. Los Tambos, a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice award-winning hotel, promises excellent accommodation and extraordinary experiences. Revel in our modern and comfortable bedrooms, à la carte breakfast, wireless high-speed Internet access, private transfer to/from the airport (2-night minimum). All included in your rate, complete with panoramic views of the White City and our majestic volcanoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Los Tambos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tambos Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing