We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Tambos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Tambos
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in November. This was my second visit to the hotel, and once again the hotel lived up to my expectations. Rooms, location and breakfast are all excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
There was a problem with the lift during my stay but this was soon rectified. The manager left a letter in my room apologizing for any disruption this may.have caused as my room was on the top floor and actually gave a discount on the final bill which I thought was a good and professional gesture.
i wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality place to stay in Arequipa. I will definitely use Los Tambos again when I return.

Room Tip: Room on the top floor is great, with easy access to the terrace and roof with great views over the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lostambos, General Manager at Los Tambos, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review, once again!

I am delighted that you returned to stay at Los Tambos and I am proud to hear that our Team Members ensured that we lived up to your expectations. It is really our goal to delight our guests at every opportunity!

Thanks for recognizing our effort in extending proper explanations regarding a technical issue we had with our lift. Unfortunately these kinds of circumstances are hardly predictable, but whenever they happen our guests come first, as usual.

We thank you especially for highlighting our king room on the 5th floor, which is definitely a very popular choice among our guests and books really fast.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences here. I look forward to welcoming you back once again to Los Tambos in the near future.

Warm regards from sunny Arequipa,

Thomás Bonini Vieira da Rocha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    162
    22
    3
    0
See reviews for
140
512
65
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for seven nights in late November and had an excellent time. All the staff were extremely helpful throughout our stay.

This hotel is located about two minutes from Plaza de Armas and is central for all the main attractions in Arequipa. We visited the Monastery, Plaza, Juanita (the ice mummy) and most of the main historical locations - all within walking distance.

We chose the largest room on the top floor and weren't disappointed - extremely comfortable bed, quiet in terms of hotel noise (but the fireworks let off somewhere outside over the weekend did wake us a couple of times) and good value for the money. No a/c in the room but a large floor-standing fan kept the temperatures down. There was a fridge in our room and bottled water was replaced daily which was appreciated.

Breakfast was included in the cost and was great - the freshly squeezed orange juice was delicious and everything was freshly cooked once you had placed your order.
Didn't particularly like the tv that was on all the time during breakfast, not noisy but there is something about that flickering screen that draws your eyes however hard you try not to watch it!

We were collected from and returned to the airport by taxi arranged by the hotel free of charge which was very helpful and convenient.

There is a small attractive reception area with sofas and a small book library.

The rooftop terraces have enough seats to cope with those who do decide to sit in the open for a while, although as the weather is so good, some shade would be appreciated - a couple of parasols would be useful as there is little shade available once the sun gets up. There were good views over all of Arequipa from both terraces - especially attractive at sunset when the mountains were bathed in pink.

Would definitely stay here again were we to return to Arequipa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisStubberfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I revisited this hotel for 4 night in October 2013 We returned again because we found the location was excellent. The staff were friendly the room was clean & modern. The TV large. and the breakfast was delicious. The price was good because they have a policy of stay for 4 nights pay for 3 so the price was good. The view of the hills from the top floor was very good as it allowed me to take photos of the hills when the weather cleared. We did the Colca canyon before and were quite happy to wander around town to see the sights again. The market was also very good plus I did a cooking class

Room Tip: We always had a front room in the 3 times we have been there so not too sure of the other rooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallbanger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My stay at Los Tambos was excellent. They arranged for a tour to the Colca Canyon which was memorable and very enjoyable. I think what stands out most about Los Tambos is the staff, who are extremely helpful and friendly. They are willing to accomodate your needs. They gave wonderful suggestions on what sites to visit. The breakfast was delicious and served in a very nice setting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duncan1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

A really super hotel to stay at very close to the central square in Arequipa and the nearby key attractions. Central Arequipa is quite small but even so the location here is excellent.

The staff were excellent and spoke great English when our Spanish attempts were poor. They were very friendly and helpful, made a good breakfast and helped show us the best places to visit on the map.

The Airport pickup was great and I can't fault anything about the hotel, its rooms (very clean and comfortable) or the service. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiGav27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel is half a block from the main plaza, which is good not just because its walking distance to the whole historical center, but also because it's safe: there are always policeman patrolling the area.

The service is excellent: from the owner, the counter and the service personnel... everybody efficient, helpful and kind.

We got a regular double room which we found small but ok for the price ($90). The beds were ok, the tv was small and there was no mini-bar.

The bathroom was perfect, seemed brand new.

Don't miss the breakfast!! Really one of the best breakfast I've had in hotels in Peru. It's not a buffet so you'll get what you want within 6-8 options, from natural-light ones to local tamales and cheese.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at Los Tambos at the end of September 2012 after spending the previous days hiking the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu. While this review is definitely long overdue, I did not want to fail commending the impeccable service that we received at Los Tambos. We felt the hospitality of the hotel from the moment we arrived (e.g., airport pickup with cold bottled waters waiting for us) to the second that we departed. Because it is not a big hotel, their service felt intimate and everyone on staff extended themselves to help us on all matters, big or small. We are especially thankful to Michael for his help in trying to resolve an issue we had with a pre-booked tour. While still in the US, we had booked a Colca Canyon Group Bike Tour with an adventure tour company and had paid a 50% deposit. Upon arriving in Arequipa and checking in with the tour company, we found that we were the only bicyclists on the tour (everyone else was traveling by bus). Instead of having 2 hours to spend at Colca Canyon as advertised, the time was reduced to 30 minutes. The advertised bike route was also altered to complement the non-bicyclists. Since the trip was significantly different from what we had signed up for, we requested a refund from the tour company. The person working that day had finally agreed to a refund and told us she will reach out to us for our Paypal information. Two days later, her answer changed and she informed us that the deposit was non-refundable. As we were leaving Arequipa for Lima the following day, we were unable to contact the tour company in person. Michael from Los Tambos reached out multiple times to the tour company on our behalf, even after we had checked out, to try to resolve the issue for us. Michael even contacted us while we were in Lima to update us on the situation. I can think of few hotel properties that I have stayed where the staff went so far out of their way to be as helpful as they can.

And not only was their service outstanding, the location is convenient and the included breakfast in the morning with fresh juices is great! I would absolutely recommend this property to anyone visiting Arequipa!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 91 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#6 of 91 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
0.3 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Tambos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tambos

Property: Los Tambos
Address: Puente Bolognesi 129 | A half block from Plaza de Armas, Arequipa 04001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#4 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Tambos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let yourself be seduced by the colonial charm of Arequipa and experience unmatched hospitality at Los Tambos. Located in the heart of the city center amidst historic buildings, and world-class attractions, Los Tambos is right next to Plaza de Armas and 20 minutes away from Arequipa Airport. Los Tambos, a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice award-winning hotel, promises excellent accommodation and extraordinary experiences. Revel in our modern and comfortable bedrooms, à la carte breakfast, wireless high-speed Internet access, private transfer to/from the airport (2-night minimum). All included in your rate, complete with panoramic views of the White City and our majestic volcanoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Los Tambos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tambos Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing