We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideally located hotel in Arequipa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Los Tambos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Los Tambos
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Ideally located hotel in Arequipa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We only stayed one night but really loved this hotel. It's one block from the main plaza, one block from the museum with the Ice Maiden, three blocks from the Monastery of Santa Catalina, and an easy walk to tons of restaurants. The location could not have been better. It's also only about a 20 minute ride from the airport. The hotel arranged our drop off at the airport and would have picked us up there or at the bus station if we had needed it.

The room itself was like a very nice, mid range downtown city hotel. The room was pretty big with a nice sized king bed. Plenty of room to walk around. It had a TV, a nice bathroom with lots of hot water, and an in room safe

The breakfast was really nice, too. Most of the hotels we stayed at in Peru had a buffet, which could be hit or miss. Los Tambos had a made to order breakfast that was really good. There were four or five choices from typical scrambled eggs or granola and cereal to Peruvian tamales.

We only had one day to stay, but can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wes032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    178
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
150
559
76
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The entire staff at Los Tambos was very helpful and friendly. Thomas, the manager went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. Breakfast was amazing- Freshly cut fruits, yummy cereal and crepes and much more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archita85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is brilliant. The location is amazing right near Plaza da Aramas and the historic centre of Arequipa. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are great. We would thoroughly reccommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Los Tambos was very comfortable with stylish, modern beds and baths. The morning breakfast was fantastic - you should definitely try the Creole breakfast of creole sauce with tamales along with the Tres Puntos local bread - not to miss. The staff is super helpful and accommodating. There is no significant outside noise to worry about, and the location is very close to the Plaza de Armas. The staff and manager are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Los Tambos and they were the best 2 nights in the whole of Peru. The staff were so helpful and spontaneously gave us a "take away" breakfast when we had to go to the Airport really early. Thomas the Htoel Manager leads from the front! Breafast was excellent and really clever idea to put the breafast room on the 4th floor lovely views and bright and airy. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great hotel in every aspect. Everything was great - service, room quality, breakfast. The staff was phenomenal. They recommended a great tour operator for my Colca Valley tours. My only regret is that I spent only one night in the hotel. If I return to Arequipa in the future I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: the top floor king suites are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was an excellent value for money hotel in the heart of Arequipa - just a minute walk away from the main square. The staff were welcoming and extremely hospitable - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious as was the freshly squeezed juice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.2 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Tambos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tambos

Property: Los Tambos
Address: Puente Bolognesi 129 | A half block from Plaza de Armas, Arequipa 04001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#1 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#4 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Tambos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let yourself be seduced by the colonial charm of Arequipa and experience unmatched hospitality at Los Tambos. Located in the heart of the city center amidst historic buildings, and world-class attractions, Los Tambos is right next to Plaza de Armas and 20 minutes away from Arequipa Airport. Los Tambos, a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice award-winning hotel, promises excellent accommodation and extraordinary experiences. Revel in our modern and comfortable bedrooms, à la carte breakfast, wireless high-speed Internet access, private transfer to/from the airport (2-night minimum). All included in your rate, complete with panoramic views of the White City and our majestic volcanoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Tambos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tambos Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing