We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small hotel with pleasent and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Los Tambos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Tambos
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
HULL
Level Contributor
215 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Small hotel with pleasent and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The key feature and asset of this hotel are the staff, they are extremely helpful and pleasant, nothing is too much trouble for them. The hotel is well located near the main square. Breakfast was decent; I particularly enjoyed the pancakes. The room was fine though a little small, the bed was comfortable and there was a good range of toiletries in the bathroom including sun block

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdarocha, General Manager at Los Tambos, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very good review!

I am delighted that you chose to stay at Los Tambos and I am proud to hear that our Team Members ensured that you and your aunt had a warm and comfortable stay with us. Thank you for acknowledging them!

I noted your comments on our Ruphai breakfast and have shared your feedback with our team for their thorough review. Thank you also for highlighting the sun block feature in every room. As you know, radiation is extreme here in Arequipa and protection is necessary year-round.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences here. I look forward to welcoming you back to Los Tambos in the near future.

Warm regards from Arequipa,

Tom Bonini Vieira da Rocha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    178
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
150
559
76
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colonial Quito
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Let me start by saying that the people who run this hotel are very nice, polite, attentive and speak good english. the staff were practically my office when we were there. In the hospitality business......people are everything so that is why this hotel gets a VERY GOOD from us.

However, there is nothing charming about this hotel. Arequipa is one of the finest Spanish Colonial towns oustide of Mexcio but this hotel is designed like a Holiday Inn Express. the bathroom in our room was almost the same size of our bedroom. There was no view and lack of artwork and cheap wall to wall carpeting made it seem sadly commercial.

For such a charming city with spectacular views and 18th Century buildings.....there are so many small boutique hotels to choose from in this great city. I wil lnot list them here but my advise would be to perhaps use this hotel the first night and then explore around to find something more symbolic of this great Spanish Colonial City.

Overall....we thought this hotel should be at a lower price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MATtheEXPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdarocha, General Manager at Los Tambos, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Los Tambos Arequipa. We consider all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our future guests.

Thank you also for highlighting some of the advantages of giving us the pleasure to be chosen as your preferred hotel in Arequipa. We're very proud of our award-winning service, and in order to be the best choice in the city, no guest request is too big. Not all guests come on business to Arequipa, but when you do it is paramount to us that you feel comfortable with our complimentary office facilities and printing services. Also, being nice and polite is part of us inside and out of the property and are some of the reasons we are Arequipa's favorite hotel and acclaimed over and over on TripAdvisor. We believe our staff is our greatest asset, especially in our industry. Thank you for acknowledging our English skills, as it is not the native language of any of our staff members.

I'm obviously concerned to learn that your experience was below expectations regarding a few aspects. I'd like to take this opportunity to talk a bit about our facilities in general, which makes a few guests like you curious about the fact that we are a modern building right in the heart of our colonial city center, one of the finest in the South American continent, as you stated. As we modeled our business less than 5 years ago it was essential that we provided maximum comfort to our guests, without forgetting our prime location. Thus the decision to be in a brand new and modern construction, in spite of being only a half block from Plaza de Armas, the main square in Arequipa. Yet, a number of pieces of local artwork were indeed carefully added to the modern facilities, in order to give unique details to the decor. Views are also limited, especially in lower floors, just like in most hotels located in urban areas.

All guest bathrooms are considered to be spacious and even though we know the same not always can be stated about some of the guest rooms, we do our best effort to accommodate reservations for more than 1 person in our more spacious rooms and highly recommend that bookings can be made in advance, especially this time of the year. I also would like to clarify that for hygienic and safety reasons fireproof wall to wall carpeting is only present in our hallways, with the sole purpose of soundproofing them. Guest rooms feature thermal floor tiles.

I assure you that we give special attention to those comments that you have provided. Once again, we value your feedback since that is an opportunity to clarify our product and service, and not to create false expectations.

Please accept our most distinguished regards as we thank you once again,

Thomas J.Bonini Vieira da Rocha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Several weeks ago, we stayed at the Los Tambos hotel in Arequipa Peru. We booked the hotel ahead of time, via Kayak, and decided on this property, due to the excellent reviews. It did not let us down.

Included in the very reasonable price was pick up and delivery back to the airport - which was nicely appreciated!.

The hotel is clean, updated, and modern. It is in an excellent location, minutes walk from the main square, place des armas. All of the staff spoke english well and were always willing to assist. Each morning, home make, made to order breakfast awaited us, which was always fresh and excellent. The only drawback was the small double bed -- for two average sized adults, the bed was cozy. The room was also small.

However two nice sized singles were also available, so next time, this may be the way to go.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lia3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Carlos the driver picked us up from the airport and so friendly. On arrival to hotel met by staff, bags bought in to reception. English speaking staff made it easy to communicate. Staff where attentive, helpful and always wore a smile. Nothing too much trouble. Rooms clean, everything worked well. Breakfast included and absolutely delicious.

Close to main square and getting around easy to walk to. Staff would arrange tours. Ask about lovely places to eat out at night. Would recommend it was a great place.

Room Tip: Larger room 501 only room on this floor and lovely outdoor area to sit and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosClarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for four nights, with a break to go to the Colca Canyon in the middle. We found it to be a great place to stay in Arequipa. It's an upclass hotel around the corner from Arequipa's main square, no way to beat this location. Rooms are nice and clean, breakfast very good with many choices, and the font desk staff one of the nicest and most competent we've seen in a very long time. Transport from/to the airport was included and worked perfectly, one email sufficed. A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bababux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed one night here. The room was clean and the service was great. The location of the hotel is right in the heart of the city. We stayed here on a Friday night and the noise from the street and the plaza was our only complaint. I still give the hotel 5 stars because they can' t control the noise. I have not read any reviews that address this so I wanted to make sure I commented on it. We ended up having to use earplugs to get any rest. The breakfast staff is outstanding and the food is excellent! Overall a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkw2765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights. Amazing value. Free transfer if u stay more than 1 night. Packed me a boxed lunch because I was going to miss breakfast due to early colca canyon 1 day trip. Super friendly staff. Best independent hotel i stayed at during 3+ weeks in Peru. Right next to main square.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmith2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.1 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.2 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Tambos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tambos

Property: Los Tambos
Address: Puente Bolognesi 129 | A half block from Plaza de Armas, Arequipa 04001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#4 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Tambos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let yourself be seduced by the colonial charm of Arequipa and experience unmatched hospitality at Los Tambos. Located in the heart of the city center amidst historic buildings, and world-class attractions, Los Tambos is right next to Plaza de Armas and 20 minutes away from Arequipa Airport. Los Tambos, a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice award-winning hotel, promises excellent accommodation and extraordinary experiences. Revel in our modern and comfortable bedrooms, à la carte breakfast, wireless high-speed Internet access, private transfer to/from the airport (2-night minimum). All included in your rate, complete with panoramic views of the White City and our majestic volcanoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Tambos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tambos Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing