We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Los Tambos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Tambos
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Los Tambos and it was exceptional in every way. The location was perfect, a half block from the main square of Arequipa. The rooms were attractive, modern and comfortable, and breakfast was the best we had in Peru. What made Los Tambos a complete standout, however, was their extraordinary customer service. They were personal and caring, and helped organize everything from city tours to bus tickets to side trips to Colca Canyon. I can't recommend them highly enough!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    178
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
150
559
76
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This small hotel gives outstanding customer services. The rooms are small but clean. The staff were willing to book other hotels for us and arrange side trips. Anything we asked, they did. They are friendly and they care. I agree that the cooked to order breakfast was the best we had in Peru.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jplapis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

in the midst of the bustling city center in arequipa is hotel los tambos. i was in town on business and was greeted by a caring staff and manager. the manager went out of his way to make my stay amazing. breakfast each morning was the best in town!

Room Tip: restaurant is only open for breakfast (included with stay) and there isn't a fitness center. bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I found Los Tambos on TripAdvisor for when my Aunt was coming to visit me while I was living in Arequipa, and it had nothing but incredible reviews, was reasonably priced (compared to hotels like Casa Andina or Sonesta Posada del Sol which cost more IN DOLLARS than 4 star hotels in Canada do), and located perfectly just half a block from the Plaza de Armas, and 2-3 blocks from my apartment.

They sent a courtesy taxi to the airport to pick her up, went out of their way to accomodate any and every need that we might have had from extra plates to preparing her an extra breakfast on a day where she wouldn't be able to eat it to recommending restaurants to us. Everything was perfect-- the staff was wonderful and all of them spoke at the very least functional English (not necessary for me, but for her it was); the manager, Thomas, treated her like an absolute queen; and the rooms and breakfasts were fantastic. The beds were so comfortable that I often napped on her bed while she was visiting and I spent a great deal of time with her in the hotel because it was so comfortable and welcoming.

Everything was tastefully decorated, INCREDIBLY clean, and the burning fire place in the lobby as well as tea and coffee always ready for guests were wonderful touches during Arequipa's cold, rainy season.

Also included was a breakfast prepared before the restaurant even opened so that she could have breakfast before catching her flight home, and also a taxi service all the way to the airport.

I can't rave enough about Los Tambos, and I hope that anybody traveling to Arequipa on anything more than a shoe-string budget stays there. I've worked in Westin, Fairmont, Delta, Coast, Four Seasons, and Shangri-La hotels, and this ranks right up there with the best of them-- but even more personalized and warm, and much less expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleHoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdarocha, Gerente at Los Tambos, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review!

I am delighted that you chose to stay at Los Tambos after reading our reviews on TripAdvisor and I am proud to hear that our Team Members ensured that you and your aunt had a warm and comfortable stay with us. It is really our goal to treat our guests as absolute queens and kings!

I note your comments on all hotel areas and have shared your feedback with our team for their thorough review. We feel overwhelmed for your words, especially coming from a gentleman who knows the standards of extraordinary hospitality from so many great hotel properties.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences here. I look forward to welcoming you back to Los Tambos in the near future.

Warm regards from Arequipa,

Tom Bonini Vieira da Rocha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent a few nights at Los tambos on our way to Lauca park and on our way back to Lima. The pre-trip communication was excellent. Los Tambos is located half a block from the main Placa. the rooms are not very large, but comfortable and spotless clean. The manager lived in the states and europe for some years and speaks english perfectly. Staff is very friendly and helpful.-
No pool -

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was by far the best Hotel we stayed in during our 3 week holiday in Peru. The rooms were well equipped, a good size and very clean. There were a choice of breakfasts each morning rather than the standard American breakfast we experienced in most places. Location is just off the main square so is perfect for exploring the city. The staff were really helpful and we were made to feel very welcome.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdarocha, General Manager at Los Tambos, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback! It was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our team. They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return.

We were particularly delighted to read that we got to be "by far the best Hotel you stayed in during your 3 week holiday in Peru".

Kind Regards,

Tom Bonini Vieira da Rocha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent one night at Los Tambos in Arequipa in February 2013 after returning from a 3 day Colca Trek trip. Location - Excellent. The hotel is only 100 meters from the Plaza de Armas, on a main street. Rooms - a bit on the small side, but clean with nice private bathrooms and plenty of hot water. Food - honestly, one of the best hotel breakfasts we've had in a while. The bread was a surprising delight - hot and crunchy little rolls arequipena-style, plus one of five menu options. Lots of fruit and yogurt choices as well. Service - we had a question on our bill when we checked in, as we pre-paid when we booked online. Apparently, after two months in the country, foreigners are required to pay an additional luxury tax. Not only did the shift manager come over to explain - politely and thoroughly - but the hotel's manager found us shortly thereafter to explain (in perfect English as well). We were very impressed at their effort to reassure us and answer our questions. Finally, we asked the hotel team to reserve a taxi for us - the taxi was right on time, clean and spacious, with a driver who really knew the city and got us right where we were going. No, it's not as cheap as the many hostels in the city, but for a big-city business-hotel feel at half the price, it's great!

Room Tip: Interior rooms are very quiet - try to avoid a room right on Puente Bolognesi, as it's a busy st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdarocha, General Manager at Los Tambos, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind comments!

It is heartwarming to hear that our Team Members assisted to ensure that you had a warm and comfortable stay. It is also a delight to read that we have one of the best hotel breakfasts you had in a while. We are particularly excited about the introdution of fresh homemade bread!

It is also reassuring the we managed to clarify the national sales tax exemption criteria. That's the tax that had to be collected at check-in since you have been in Peru for more than 60 days ans is officially recognized as a long-term visitor. It is important that all visitors become aware of that.

We look forward to welcome you back to Los Tambos for more memorable visits!

Warm regards from Arequipa,

Tom Bonini Vieira da Rocha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.1 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.2 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Tambos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tambos

Property: Los Tambos
Address: Puente Bolognesi 129 | A half block from Plaza de Armas, Arequipa 04001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#4 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Tambos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let yourself be seduced by the colonial charm of Arequipa and experience unmatched hospitality at Los Tambos. Located in the heart of the city center amidst historic buildings, and world-class attractions, Los Tambos is right next to Plaza de Armas and 20 minutes away from Arequipa Airport. Los Tambos, a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice award-winning hotel, promises excellent accommodation and extraordinary experiences. Revel in our modern and comfortable bedrooms, à la carte breakfast, wireless high-speed Internet access, private transfer to/from the airport (2-night minimum). All included in your rate, complete with panoramic views of the White City and our majestic volcanoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Tambos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tambos Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing