We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Los Tambos
Nearby Hotels
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada Nueva Espana(Arequipa)
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Hosteria(Arequipa)
$118
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$61
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$56
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Arequipa(Arequipa)
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,179)
Filter reviews
1,179 results
Traveler rating
943
204
28
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
943
204
28
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarequinoa pancakescolca canyonobservation deckhalf blocktamalespacked breakfastthe hotel managerexcellent locationplaza de armasfourth floorsmall hotellate checkbreakfast staffthe entire staffairport pickupbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
481 - 486 of 1,179 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent a few nights at Los tambos on our way to Lauca park and on our way back to Lima. The pre-trip communication was excellent. Los Tambos is located half a block from the main Placa. the rooms are not very large, but comfortable and spotless clean. The manager lived in the states and europe for some years and speaks english perfectly. Staff is very friendly and helpful.-
No pool -

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was by far the best Hotel we stayed in during our 3 week holiday in Peru. The rooms were well equipped, a good size and very clean. There were a choice of breakfasts each morning rather than the standard American breakfast we experienced in most places. Location is just off the main square so is perfect for exploring the city. The staff were really helpful and we were made to feel very welcome.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdarocha, General Manager at Los Tambos, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback! It was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our team. They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return.

We were particularly delighted to read that we got to be "by far the best Hotel you stayed in during your 3 week holiday in Peru".

Kind Regards,

Tom Bonini Vieira da Rocha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent one night at Los Tambos in Arequipa in February 2013 after returning from a 3 day Colca Trek trip. Location - Excellent. The hotel is only 100 meters from the Plaza de Armas, on a main street. Rooms - a bit on the small side, but clean with nice private bathrooms and plenty of hot water. Food - honestly, one of the best hotel breakfasts we've had in a while. The bread was a surprising delight - hot and crunchy little rolls arequipena-style, plus one of five menu options. Lots of fruit and yogurt choices as well. Service - we had a question on our bill when we checked in, as we pre-paid when we booked online. Apparently, after two months in the country, foreigners are required to pay an additional luxury tax. Not only did the shift manager come over to explain - politely and thoroughly - but the hotel's manager found us shortly thereafter to explain (in perfect English as well). We were very impressed at their effort to reassure us and answer our questions. Finally, we asked the hotel team to reserve a taxi for us - the taxi was right on time, clean and spacious, with a driver who really knew the city and got us right where we were going. No, it's not as cheap as the many hostels in the city, but for a big-city business-hotel feel at half the price, it's great!

Room Tip: Interior rooms are very quiet - try to avoid a room right on Puente Bolognesi, as it's a busy street.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdarocha, General Manager at Los Tambos, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind comments!

It is heartwarming to hear that our Team Members assisted to ensure that you had a warm and comfortable stay. It is also a delight to read that we have one of the best hotel breakfasts you had in a while. We are particularly excited about the introdution of fresh homemade bread!

It is also reassuring the we managed to clarify the national sales tax exemption criteria. That's the tax that had to be collected at check-in since you have been in Peru for more than 60 days ans is officially recognized as a long-term visitor. It is important that all visitors become aware of that.

We look forward to welcome you back to Los Tambos for more memorable visits!

Warm regards from Arequipa,

Tom Bonini Vieira da Rocha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My Girlfriend and I stayed Feb 11-13 2013 and we absolutely loved this place. Since we wanted to the make the most of our time in Arequipa we flew into Arequipa at 8am on the 11th and left at 11pm on the 13th. Not only did Los Tambos let us check in at 8am but they left us stay in our room until 9pm on the 13th right before we headed out to the airport.

On the 12th we did a one day trip to the Colca Canyon and the tour bus picked us up at 3am. Since the cafe wasnt open for breakfast at that time the hotel was kind enough to give us two snack bags with juices, fruits and snacks before we left so we wouldn't go hungry.

The entire hotel, rooms, bathroom, cafe is very well taken care off, clean, and very modern. The bedroom had a combination safe you could leave your valuables in and had nothing to worry about.

Next time we go back to Arequipa we will be sure to stay here, they are extremely customer service oriented and right in the heart of the city.

Thank you Los Tambos!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdarocha, General Manager at Los Tambos, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review! We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay here with us and that you absolutely loved Los Tambos. We are very happy to help you make the most out of your brief time in our lovely city. Early check-ins and late check-outs are part of our routine, and we love bending over backwards to make them happen. And regarding breakfast, even if we'll never let you leave our place with an empty stomach, we're even prouder to have you served à la carte at Ruphai.

Thanks again for your contribution and for coming to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Warm regards from the heart of Arequipa,

Tom Bonini Vieira da Rocha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nigths during our independent trip in Peru. We picked up from the airport. Meet by Mr Thomas very welcoming and had useful information. Hotel is located one block from the Main Plaza and walking distance to everything. The room we stayed was soo small and simple, there were not space for our luggages...Bathroom was spacious. Wifi was good. Breakfast was delicious...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelybulut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdarocha, General Manager at Los Tambos, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a very good stay with us here at Los Tambos. We are pleased that the location of our hotel, guest bathroom, wireless Internet access, à la carte breakfast and complimentary private airport pick-up was to your liking. While some rooms are larger than others, we appreciate your feed back and will be sure to accomodate you in a larger room for your next stay.

Thank you for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Los Tambos.

Warm regards,

Tom Bonini Vieira da Rocha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews