We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High altitude service excellence”
Review of Los Tambos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Tambos
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“High altitude service excellence”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

People go to Arequipa, the White City, for high altitude attractions and it's cool ambience. Los Tambos delivers high altitude service in spades. It richly deserves it's top trip adviser ratings. We stayed for two nights either side of a Colca Canyon trip. Nothing was too much trouble, from the free bus station and airport transfers, to the snack pack we got when we left for an early flight, to the free arrival breakfast when we arrived really early for check in, to tour bookings, to local advice, you name it. The cool thing about Los Tambos is simplicity. The place is simply decorated in a modern take on the prevailing architecture of Arequipa. Staff do not fuss either, they just get the job done in a highly guest centered way. Rooms are in great condition, but maybe some are on the small size. Wifi was a little hit and miss in our room, but that was just a directional thing. Breakfasts are very tasty, fresh and with just the right mix of stuff ie not sparse but not silly in range either. We cannot praise the team at Los Tambos enough. we have been travelling in SA for nearly 3 months and have developed a keen sense of what to expect and what excellent looks like. If you are lucky enough to secure a booking at Ls Tambos, then enjoy the hotel and revel in Arequipa, which is one the nicest little cities we have visited.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    189
    26
    3
    1
See reviews for
157
600
78
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Los Tambos Hotel is the best experience in Arequipa, Peru. By far the Best Hotel. It is a clean and beautifull boutique hotel steps away from Plaza de Armas and walking distance to EVERYTHING Arequipa has to offer. In addition to a La Carte breakfast. The impression starts at the airport,where you'll be met by Mr. Carlos and taken to Los Tambos. This is a unique hotel, by far the BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE of any hotel I have been in the world. To say is excellent, or awsome, or wonderful is to fall short on how to describe this hotel and it's personnel, ALL. Come experience Los Tambos and you'll see what I really mean. Must say thank you to all, specially Mr Tomas, General Manager, Linda, Paola, Lino, Ruphei, Claudia and the housekeeping ladies.

Room Tip: Ask the people at Los Tambos Hotel for anything, they will go the extra mile to accomodate all of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rofiguero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, SC
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The location of Los Tambos can't be beat. It's literally a block from the main plaza. There is everything within walking distance that a traveller would need - a pharmacy, grocery store, fast food takeout, shopping. The staff was very accommodating. A nice complimentary breakfast menu was included in our stay. The room we had (#305) was very clean, and the bathroom was very clean too. We liked the little extras in the bathroom, like the pocket pack of kleenex, the sunscreen and shampoo packets. We found the pocket tissues to come in very handy during our visit in Arequipa because not all public restrooms had toilet paper. Cable TV had English language channels, primarily news. Free Wi-Fi was awesome. We had to check out for one night, and were going to check back in the day after. Not only was the staff ok with storing our bags during our absence, they let us keep in our room! We would check back into the same room. Maybe because it was low season. Whatever it was, it was very nice. We had a 4:30 am pick up for the airport, and they sent us off with a brown bag breakfast that included boxed juice, fruit, and some cereal bars. Los Tambos gets 5+ stars from us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ouchfirehot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent, clean & modern rooms, sufficient wifi, AMAZING breakfast....

But the one thing that stood out was their service. Being on holidays, you want everything to be effortless & problem free... Los Tambos definitely delivers this. They anticipate every need before they arise. Staff are always friendly & courteous & efficient!

Basically stay here if you want a stress free holiday! We are really dreading leaving Los Tambos tomorrow!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spandaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our stay at Los Tambos was fantastic. The rooms were modern and very clean/comfortable. We had a room with a street view but the windows were soundproof so we couldn't hear the traffic. Airport pick-up and drop-off is included in the price. Breakfast was delicious, lots of menu options. Perfect location, only a block or so from the main plaza. The hotel staff was excellent and very considerate. We had to check-out very early before breakfast started but the staff provided snack packages for us. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omgerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for a total of two nights (one before, one after our Colca canyon trip). Their service is outstanding: pick-up AND drop-off at airport included, greeted with water and fresh-wipes, sent away with care-package of snacks & fruit (especially appreciated since we left before breakfast-hours started), great breakfast included. Whenever we needed something (extra towels, etc.) it was provided happily within 5 minutes or less, which is a level of service I have yet to see at many 5-star hotels! We stayed in a King bed room, on the 5th floor, which was plenty warm, very spacious (complete with extra sink and refrigerator) and reasonably quiet. Great showers with ample hot water. To top it all off, their price is very competitive. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights inbetween a trip to colca canyon. We could not have chosen a better place. In a great location with a wonderful staff which helped us organise our bus trip to nasca and also colca canyon. They arranged for us to have early check in and late check out too. A lot of five star hotels could learn from these guys about service!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#4 of 99 in Arequipa
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.2 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 99 in Arequipa
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Tambos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tambos

Property: Los Tambos
Address: Puente Bolognesi 129 | A half block from Plaza de Armas, Arequipa 04001, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#4 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Tambos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let yourself be seduced by the colonial charm of Arequipa and experience unmatched hospitality at Los Tambos. Located in the heart of the city center amidst historic buildings, and world-class attractions, Los Tambos is right next to Plaza de Armas and 20 minutes away from Arequipa Airport. Los Tambos, a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice award-winning hotel, promises excellent accommodation and extraordinary experiences. Revel in our modern and comfortable bedrooms, à la carte breakfast, wireless high-speed Internet access, private transfer to/from the airport (2-night minimum). All included in your rate, complete with panoramic views of the White City and our majestic volcanoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Los Tambos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tambos Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing