We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, very good location, service, security”
Review of Su Majestad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Su Majestad Hotel
Ranked #8 of 175 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Hotel Su Majestad Arequipa has a very good location, 5 blocks from the Plaza de Armas (main square of Arequipa) in a beautiful Spanish style casona or old courtyard house with nice gardens. The security in its location is very good and we felt extremely safe at all times.
The service was very good, we asked for several items and were provided promptly and without any hassle.
That being said, this hotel is not for the picky traveller. It offers basic accomodation with good size bedrooms and bathrooms with old windows and doors proper of an old casona. This may appeal to some like us, but may turn off others. Also, some bathrooms have small high level open access to the outside yard which could be of concern to some people with respect to insects. We found it a none issue for some, in another case, we asked for a different room.
Lastly, If you decide to go, ask for a room that is not located under the dining room. Activity starts early and while not that noisy, it is noticeable when they drag chairs.
Breakfast is very good, but go first thing or late because the space fills up quickly.
For the seasoned traveller, this is a great hotel at a moderate price for Arequipa standards. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: At then end of the courtyard (away from the street) and not under the dining room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Su Majestad Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 145 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel is very affordable and accordingly you cannot expect opulence. It is a good location to access everything on foot being a direct walk of a few blocks to the square.
By following these two tips you'll definitely enjoy this hotel:
1. Request a room that is NOT under the dining hall which is above. The noise of them setting up the breakfast at 6am woke everybody. We asked to be moved, they did, and it was great from then on.
2. Shower at night or after 11am. During the morning the hot water goes very quickly and is not restored until 10 - 11am.
So...assuming you follow those tips you'll benefit from all the good bits:
The staff are very helpful with good English (on day and afternoon shift). They went out of their way to accommodate our change request.
The architecture is beautiful bu it is an old property (in a historic sense, not lack of condition). The courtyards and ambience are beautiful.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Sheriff1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Majestad Hotel has beautiful courtyards and is located only a few blocks from the main square. However, the construction within the hotel each morning made for a rude awakening. The rooms are large, but filled with a mouldy stench. The showers were great!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kootenaytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Hotel Su Majestad is located in city of Arequipa in country of Peru.
At address of 408 La Merced S, Arequipa.

Good location and service was good. At arrival we were all directed by the staff to location of all our rooms.

Rooms were very big and had an interesting double wooden room with a latch.
The room had good carpet and a television that was safely on a table so it would not fall off.

The bathroom had a shower and sink to which I was able to get good hot water at my command.
The toilet always flushed successfully and was located well in the room.

The beds were nice and comfy and located well in the room and lots of blankets provided in case one gets cold.

Front desk area had good seating and located and staffed well.

Breakfast area was upstairs and coffee and buns were greatly served in the morning.

Hotel was very safe and secure. Location was good as you walk to main town square within ten minutes or less.

This was also choosen location for Intrepid Travel and I would recommend to this place to anyone who is going to Arequipa.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravellers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Surtout pas les chambres du fond du patio et éviter le rez-de-chaussé. En haut les chambres sont plu...
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurence l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Beatriz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#6 of 101 in Arequipa
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 101 in Arequipa
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 101 in Arequipa
1,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.3 mi away
Inkanto Hotel
Inkanto Hotel
#25 of 101 in Arequipa
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Su Majestad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Su Majestad Hotel

Address: Calle La Merced No. 408, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range: $47 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Su Majestad Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Su Majestad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing