We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Family Run Hotel”
Review of La Casa de Tintin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa de Tintin
Ranked #15 of 168 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delightful Family Run Hotel”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Situated next to the river by the extraordinary Puente Fierro this small hotel is situated in a residential area of Arequipa. It is around 20 to 30 minutes walk to the centre of town through the residential streets which are safe enough during the day although we were advised to get a taxi back if we were after 5pm. Small balcony overlooking the river and clean, good value room. We stayed one night and were very happy with the excellent service we received from the owners and staff and would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    34
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
54
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Nice hotel (bit oldish type) in a quiet residential area , with friendly and helpful staff (they helped us arrange a 2 day trip at Colca Canyon and transfer to Puno). Our room was very clean.
Breakfast is simple (like in most hostels in Peru) but good!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benja_Switz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We first went to the Casa de Tintin for Christmas 2007, as a couple. The first stay was great, the organization of tour efficient, and the personnel very nice, so we decided 3 years later, when we arrived as expatriates in Tacna, to make la casa de tintin our 2nd home in Arequipa. We went there 10 times during our period in Peru, between 2010 and 2012, this time with our little boy. Every stay was so great that we have never looked after another place to go. Anita and all the team are very helpful and the hostel has about 10-12 rooms so it's not too big, and just enough to have all the attention you deserve and to enjoy the nice family atmosphere :) We also send there all our visiting friends and family. Every time they thanked us for the advice of staying at la casa de tintin.
Concerning the location of the hotel: it is 20 minute walk from the center, in a nice and quiet residential neighborhood, nice to find some quietness among the taxi honks and the noisy cities in Peru. The neighborhood is secure.
For the organization of tour in the region, including Colca, they work with a very effective agency, which will offer you a great service.
And if you do not want to go out in the evening, Anita will cook you great soups (yummy pumpkin soup!), salads and other dishes.
To the team: we thank you very very much for those 11 stays! We definitely hope to see you again in some years when we will have the opportunity to come again to Arequipa!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kstor_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This hotel is as very nice and clean place with some great views from the balconies. It's just what you need after a long nightbus journey or a 4 day trek into the Colcon Canyon. The staff are friendly and very helpfull. Liaise with the staff before your arrival and they will be able to assist you in getting here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quilpue, Chile
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2012

What a lovely hotel. After a very long and tiring bus trip from Cusco, we arrived at the Casa de TinTin, it was as if we were at home,. Anita, the owner, is a wonderful person and is very helpful. She does everything to make your stay perfect, such a pity we were only there 2 nights. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the Chili river and gardens.So very peaceful. We could also see the Chachami, El Misti, and Pichu pichu Volcanos from the balcony.
We went off to see Arequipa after a super breakfast. Anita also had our bus tickets to Tacna booked for us when we returned form the tour. I give this hotel 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quilpué, Valparaiso, Chile
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2012

What a lovely hotel. After a very long and tiring bus trip from Cusco, we arrived at the Casa de TinTin, it was as if we were at home,. Anita, the owner, is a wonderful person and is very helpful. She does everything to make your stay perfect, such a pity we were only there 2 nights. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the Chili river and gardens.So very peaceful. We could also see the Chachami, El Misti, and Pichu pichu Volcanos from the balcony. The room was large with a lovely bathroom, with a bath and hot water. It had a fridge and a television.Everything was clean.
We went off to see Arequipa after a super breakfast. Anita also had our bus tickets to Tacna booked for us when we returned form the tour. I give this hotel 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

All the staff are very kind and helpful to plan our traveling in Peru. Very cute hostel with nice patio. View from the window is cute!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toko555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
1.0 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 99 in Arequipa
1,076 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
1.2 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 99 in Arequipa
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 99 in Arequipa
493 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hostal Solar
Hostal Solar
#5 of 168 in Arequipa
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beausejour Boutique-hotel
Beausejour Boutique-hotel
#1 of 168 in Arequipa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Tintin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Tintin

Property: La Casa de Tintin
Address: San Isidro F-1 Vallecito, Arequipa 005154, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Tintin 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa de Tintin B&B offers to its guests all the comfort and amenities of a good hotel plus the warmth of a personal care. Located in the green and safe neighborhood of Vallecito, on the side of the river and in front of beautiful gardens, it is a refuge of calmness only 5 minutes away from Plaza de Armas and the main sites of touristic interest. You’ll be delighted by the charm of the place and the wonderful view from your balcony. And Anita and Francois, the Belgo-Peruvian couple running the hotel, look after every detail to ensure that you’ll enjoy your stay in Arequipa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your La Casa de Tintin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing