We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arequipay Backpackers Downtown
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent hostel”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Cleanest hostel I have stayed in a long time! They clean the bathrooms hourly (starting at 10am I think?) and provide bread and tea all day long. Laundry line on the roof and full kitchen which is also cleaned regularly in case your fellow travelers forget to clean up. They have hot showers and lots of activity rooms (pool table, ping pong, hammocks, tv room) and 3 computers for internet access. Warm clean dorm rooms, excellent place.

TIP: But they have these promo cards all over Lima and Cusco that have the wrong address on them. I spent 3x the regular price of a cab driving all over the city looking for an address that does not exist, finally when we got near the neighborhood, 7 people we asked had never heard of the street. Be sure to get directions from the hostel when you book, otherwise you might have the same problem as me (I see TripAdvisor also has a different address listed, which is not the street address).

Room Tip: ask for the 14 bed dorm and get the part of the dorm that is actually 4 beds in a separate room near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afrinina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    89
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
54
108
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Beautiful house, extremely clean(they even vacuum the books....one by one!!!), big, modern kitchen....free breakfast that is more than the typical free breakfast in Peru consisting of a roll with jelly and butter and coffee/tea....the 2 girls who work there are super friendly and helpful with any questions you have about the area and speak very good english.....fast free wifi plus a few computers to use that are free as well....a patio to use and a pool...2 large flat screen TVs and tons of movies to chose from....free alls to the US and Canada....only negative would be that the hostel is not in the main plaza. It it is a cheap taxi ride(only a few dollars each
way) away which isn't bad and there is a supermarket within walking distance. One recommendation I would say is that if you are going to Colca Canyon, I would not take the 1 day tour(unless you have very limited time) because you wind up spending more time in the van then actually walking around enjoying the canyon....I would say to take the 2 day, 1 Night at a minimum....all in all, a great place and highly recommended....I planned on staying only a night or 2 and wound up staying 5 because it was so nice.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpc1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The wife of the owner employs only female reception staff and they run the hostel like annoying mothers. Although it's a well facilitated hostel, kitchen closes at 10, lights out by 11. No noise, no talking, just go to bed! BORING, BORING, BORING! And terrible and mean reception staff!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amiz-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Even though it’s a little bit outside the city center it’s super comfortable and clean. We stayed in a private room and it was clean but really tight on space, and it didn’t have a private bathroom. We spent one afternoon lounging in the backyard area with the awesome hammocks soaking up the sun. They have strong wireless internet that worked in our room and outside in the backyard in addition to three public computers in the lobby. They have plenty of room to hang out and are located in a safe upscale neighborhood. Breakfast was the basic bread, jam, and tea.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

we stayed there 4 nights and had the best time. great English-speaking personnel, nice, specious and comfortable rooms, good showers with hot water 24 hours, good kitchen, TV room with movies...
It is possible to sign through the hostel to the tracks in the area, we did Colca kanyon and it was amazing and good organized.
The location is good- about 10 minuets from the center, and in a really nice and safe neighborhood.

highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dafnaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed here for two nights, it was supposed to be one night only, however, the bus wouldn't leave for Cuzco due to problems around the Bolivian border.
The whole problem was made a lot more easy by the assistance offered by the staff here, they gave us the same room and nothing was too much trouble. They made us feel very welcome.
It is a very clean and very well equipped hostel in a quiet location. There is a pool (which was, admittedly, freezing cold), a pool table and table tennis, a PS3 and a massive TV in the movie room located downstairs, away from the sleeping quarters.
The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, there was always plenty of hot water and breakfast was reasonable.
The facilities on offer here make this ideal as a stop over point for planning the next phase of your trip. Furthermore, it is more than suitable for a short stay with a friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. It was an excellent place which will be fondly remembered.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevej2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at this hostel and it was awesome! It is like staying at your posh friends house. It has tiled floors and a large, well equipped kitchen for making food. The drinks they sell are cheaper than at the local shop. They have a fussball table, PS3, loads of films, 2 massive tvs, a small pool, beautiful garden and amazingly helpful staff. We were sick whilst here and one of the staff took us to the hospital in her free time and stayed there with us for 3 hours, translating for us. They could not have been better. They can also organise tours for you and book bus tickets with one of the Peruvian bus companies. It was really, really clean too. Three computers so youre never waiting for the internet, which is free and fast enough to Skype.
It is a 30 min walk into the centre of town but they run a free shuttle in the morning and it is about 5 sol in a taxi back. The budget double is pretty small but the rest of the hostel is great, spacious and friendly. We loved it. Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.2 mi away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 174 in Arequipa
333 reviews
0.7 mi away
ECONUNAY Hostels
ECONUNAY Hostels
#3 of 174 in Arequipa
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Friendly AQP
Friendly AQP
#4 of 174 in Arequipa
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bothy Hostel Arequipa
Bothy Hostel Arequipa
#6 of 174 in Arequipa
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mango Hostel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arequipay Backpackers Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arequipay Backpackers Downtown

Property: Arequipay Backpackers Downtown
Address: Pasaje Ohiggins 224 Vallecito, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are not a basic property, do you know why? Because we have attractions and facilities that others in arequipa do not have that make us the funniest, coziest and homiest property in town with a funky and modern decor. We are a cozy property and you are going to feel like you are in your own home. We offer both indoor and outdoor spaces that are perfect to socialize with all travelers. If you are looking for a place to relax and recharge your energy to continue your journey the best place in arequipa is arequipay backpackers house!. We are not a party property where you always going to find people that disturb your peace of mind, here you going to find tranquility, great vibe and the best service in town, we put our guests above and beyond because you are number one priority for us. We know - you like it clean that's why we take care of it around the clock making sure everything is spotless. Location: Only five blocks away to the main square. Even though we are situated downtown, we are in a peaceful neighborhood away from the hustle and bustle of the streets around the main square in a private neighborhood. Our location is perfect because it's near banks, supermarkets, bars, and principal tourist attractions. *******facilities****** A game room with a 32 lcd hd tv and professional pool table. 3 computers with flat-panel with free internet and wifi Two movie rooms with a 52 lcd hd tv with dvd and an extensive movie collection. Foosball table and ping pong table. Play station 3! With the latest games Patio with hammocks, patio sets and a heater. Two kitchens good equipped. Barbicue area Free Calls to USA and Canada!!! *****you will find for free***** Free Calls to USA and CAnada Free individual lockers Free tea and coca tea 24/7 Free spices to cook Free wireless internet connection and 3 computers Free access to guide books from all around the world Book exchange Free maps and advice Free luggage storage Free satellite tv and films, Basic breakfast from 7 15 am to 10 am: Bread, butter and jam. Free tea and coca tea 24/7 +++++++location++++++ If you take a taxi please say the taxi driver that our address is near to colegio claretiano, or in front of hotel casa de avila, or near the intersection of calle san martin cuadra 1 and calle cusco cuadra 1 in vallecito almost one block away from siete esquinas +++++++++warning about the taxi drivers+++++++++++ There is a high level of corruption between the taxis inside the bus station and some hostales! So please do not believe the taxi drivers when they try to persuade you not to come to arequipay backpackers properties taking you to other property, they always lie because those hostales pay the taxis commission and for sure you will not find a better property like arequipay, our comments are our best guarantee! Cancellation and no show policy: Cancellations or changes are accepted only with minimum 24 hours before the arrival date via email or phone. Same day cancellations, same day changes or no show will result in 1 night charge per person regardless the reason from your credit card. We are not responsible for weather conditions, illness, flight delays or flight cancellations. If you do not arrive within 3 hrs of your scheduled arrival time, we reserve the right to cancel your booking. So please avoid to be charged from your credit card, if you decided to change or cancel your reservation please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Arequipay Backpackers Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing