We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing and sweet”
Review of Home Sweet Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Home Sweet Home
Ranked #47 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Me and hubby were trying to recuperate from being hospitalized. So most of the time I was more inside my room and around the common areas than trying to explore Arequipa so for sure i can tell you that i had a great time staying here.
The beds were firm and there was a tv in my room with channels in english. :)
The garden had comfy chairs to sit and sun yourself and the roof top area for bfast was a treat so you can see around the city and the mountains.
There was someone at reception 98% of the time and they were helpful.
The pets were well behaved and super cute!!!

Things i wish they'd change:
-just that the door of the shower is broken
-that they'd have more kitchen stuff (forks, spoon, etc) out for guests to use, they lock most of them up.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 87 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This hostal is a bit far from the plaza de armas and there really isn't anything around it but it is a really great value. The walk to town is maybe 10-15 minutes.

You can check in at anytime (my flight got me in at 7:30am and they had no issue with it at all). The breakfasts are served on the terrace with a gorgeous view, and are delicious. There are several indoor and outdoor common areas and they are very happy to store your bags or call you a cab.

I'd recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snadiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hostel is lovely, the staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was awesome. Pancakes, eggs, juice and coffee all included...yum!
The showers here were hot all day and the rooms were quiet and clean. There is a great roof terrace and a patio downstairs to sit.
The staff helped us organise or colca canyon trip and buses to cusco. Really great value for money. It's about a 5-10 minute walk to the plaza. Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyj603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Very nice place to stay. Close enough to the center but more quiet. There was Internet wifi and television sitting area. The breakfast was nice (crepes and eggs made to order!) as was the view from the rooftop. Also several sitting areas and knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perutravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Really nice service. Hot water all day long, super quality/price. I highly recommend this place for anyone who want clean, quiet and warm place close to the center.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden are quite goo specially #11 with cable TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here for two nights while in Arequipa. Hostel is located in a good area, only a few mins away from main Plaza. Was a little shocked at the poor condition of this hostel, very run down and no one seems to care. The place is filthy especially the washrooms and shared showers. Dorm rooms were basic but cold at night. Staff were pleasant. Common areas were terrible, outdoor patio a joke. On the positive side, showers were always hot and breakfast was best I'd had in Peru. Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milkman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

It may not be the best hostel but it matched our expectations: clean, quiet, good mattress, great breakfast. The location is not too bad, about 5 blocks from the center. One weakness: no good common room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie3511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.1 mi away
La Posada del Virrey
La Posada del Virrey
#122 of 191 in Arequipa
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
MB Backpackers
MB Backpackers
#19 of 191 in Arequipa
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
#10 of 191 in Arequipa
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 191 in Arequipa
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bothy Hostel Arequipa
Bothy Hostel Arequipa
#7 of 191 in Arequipa
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Sweet Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home

Address: Calle Rivero 509-A | Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range: $13 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Sweet Home 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Home Sweet Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing