We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave us the wrong room, smelled like mildew.”
Review of Hostal Sol de Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Sol de Oro
Ranked #19 of 171 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gave us the wrong room, smelled like mildew.”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Can't argue with much about this place for the price...guess we knew what we were getting, but getting the number of beds for our reservation wrong was annoying, the room smelled like mildew, and we had to split our breakfast table with a very standoffish german due to lack of patio space.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobclarkemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    42
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
34
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Arequipa. The location is good and the patio/garden area is gorgeous. The staff are also very friendly and more than willing to help with booking tours etc

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicilia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Hostel clean, and very close to the Plaza de Armas. John and Yuliana were very helpful and kind. Rooms ok, value for money. A funny parrot entertaining guests...recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The Sol de Oro is not far from the Plaza de Armas.
The rooms are nice and the bathrooms are clean. We first stayed there for 1 night, then went to the Colca Canyon and then stayed another night there.
The breakfast is included in the price and it is really good. You get bread, butter, tea, pancakes and eggs or joghurt.
The staff is really nice.
They book bus tickets for you, you can do the laundry there for 5 Soles per kilogram and they also call taxis.
If you want to safe money maybe calling a taxi from the Hostels is not the best solustion, because then you have to pay 8 Soles to the Terminal Terreste, otherwise the cost for a taxi ride to the bus station is about 5 Soles!
If you are going on a trek to the colca canyon or whereever you can leave your luggage there.
They also offer free internet on 2 quite fast computers.
They organize several tours themselves, but we decided to do the Colca trek on our own, so we do not know if the tours are good.
They are member of the "Hola Hostels" so if you are registered at www.holahostels.com you get a 10% discount on the rooms.
So I would really recommend the Hostel as a good place to stay in Arequipa.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InWe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Very clean and nice hostel. Definitely not a party place, so if you're looking for a good rest in a quiet hostel, Sol de Oro is a great place in Arequipa. Shower was nice and hot!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Checked in at 8am with no wait. Staff booked canyon hike and bus tickets for me. Dorm's are 27 Soles for 6 bedroom, 31.50 soles for 4 bedroom (private bath and tv). Kitchen area, backyard and patio plus movie room. Free WiFi and free computers to use. 2 blocks from Plaza, 1 block from Super Marcado. Very comfy beds. Breakfast included, coffree/tea bread and choice of eggs or yogurt & trail mix.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank losttrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Booked this hostel online before leaving home. Started in Lima, made our way to Huacachina and then onto Arequipa. No one was there to meet us at the bus station as previously arranged. It was very early in the morning and a kind lady employee of the bus station phoned the hostel and soon a young boy arrived to collect us. We got a taxi after he haggled the driver down to his price.
We weren't too impressed with the hostel and only stayed one night instead of the two we had booked. Our room had no window and wasn't very clean. The room opposite ours was left with the door ajar and inside was just a hovel. I thought it was maybe a store room where they just dumped stuff, but no, later that day the occupants arrived, a bunch of buskers, all filthy, soap dodgers we call them. We then realised that the walls between our rooms were made from cardboard and when our neighbours used their toilet it sounded like they were right in our room ( we heard everything) and so the same would be the other way round. The terrace is a joke., The chairs are falling apart and the youngster who picked us up from the bus station was the only one running the whole show! Day and night. Only other person was a young girl who cleaned in the morning. When paying for our room, the boy tried to charge us three times as much as we were supposed to pay. I had to go online and show him my booking confirmation and the deposit I paid. He basically had no idea what he was doing. No harm to the boy, he was very young and was doing his best I'm sure. But the whole hostel needed a lot of work doing even just to bring it up to a basic standard.
Shame really as we couldn't be bothered walking the streets looking for another hostel so we just jumped on the bus to Puno a day early and didn't spend as much time as would have liked in Arequipa.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anmariekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mirasol
Hotel Mirasol
#36 of 167 in Arequipa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 171 in Arequipa
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home Sweet Home
Home Sweet Home
#37 of 171 in Arequipa
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Foyer Hostel
Le Foyer Hostel
#5 of 171 in Arequipa
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sol de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sol de Oro

Property: Hostal Sol de Oro
Address: Calle Cruz Verde 307 | Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 171 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Sol de Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Sol de Oro is located in the center of Arequipa, three blocks away from the Plaza de Armas, el Corazon of the white city: close to just main attractions: museums, banks, supermarkets, shopping, colonial buildings and restaurants, bars, nightclubs. Hostal de Sol de Oro is a cozy hostel with a friendly family service. We offer several types of entertainment facilities to enjoy your stay. We have a beautiful and colorful terrace to get healthy breakfast (including in the price), free WIFI; open terrace with a sunset view to pass time with friends and share a drink, or having a meal or a barbecue. The kitchen well furnished is at your disposal.A comfortable TV room (including DVDs selection, play station unit, music stereo) is available as well exercise equipments. In others rooms are book change, pool table, ping pong table and other games a lot to keep yourself entertained.Also a free internet space with computers is available: no need to go out and pay to check your emails and download your photos.The rooms are all equipped with televisions and have their private bathroom with solar and gas powered hot water available 24 hours a day. The beds have brand new mattresses to ensure you sleep comfortably. Our friendly and helpful staff can assist with our laundry services as well as information about the city and the surrounding regions to visit. We will be more than happy to supply you with all the information you will need to fully enjoy Arequipa and the surrounding areas. Sol de Oro Backpackers hostel welcomes you to Arequipa, Peru! Yuliana and John.EXCHANGE RATE .......S/.2.75Check in at 11:30amCheck out at 10:30amcredit cards accepted (only visa)+9 pax group bookings acceptedCancellation and no show policy: Cancellations or changes are accepted only with minimum 24 hours before the arrival date via phone or email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal Sol de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing