We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and very friendly Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bothy Hostel Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very friendly stuff, nice rooftop terrace, good location. You can either chill out and have a quiet time or hang out in the bar and go to clubs with the owner and his friends. I had a really good time here and would highly recommend you to go there if you come to Arequipa.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bothyhostels, Manager at Bothy Hostel Arequipa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Gracias Amigo. We are very happy for you visit.

We will keep going and improving more!

Saludos

Bothy love you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 340 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

Amazing hostel with real good atmosphere!! Loved it! One of the nicest hostels we visited in Peru. The service is excellent and they also really do their best to offer the best service possible. Just go to Bothy you'll love it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swaerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bothyhostels, Manager at Bothy Hostel Arequipa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Muchas Gracias por tu comentario.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at bothy Arequipa.

Hope you have a very good time.

Greetings from Arequipa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here in aus busy 2013 and I must say all though it was only 5 mins from the plaza de armas it was and great place to stay at. The staff and managers were very attentive and friendly.
I went past this year 2014 and they have made some amazing renovations that made the place a lot more inviting. The graffiti art is brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bothyhostels, Manager at Bothy Hostel Arequipa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Hi Shirly
We are very happy that you liked our hostel. on your first visit and your second! Thank you for choose us! your comments help a lot to keep improving. We wish you a nice year!

Best wishes from all bothy team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Good location and super friendly staff...kudos to Liz at reception and robert the manager.

Case in point I had an upstairs bed. I did not comment or complain. They proactively asked me if I wanted to change dorms for a lower bed.

Shower was warm but not hot but I was told that was due to solar panel usage and if there is not enough sun and you ask they will turn on the gas.

No kitchen usage which may be common here?

New years Eve was nice. Intimate and fun.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank sfbob21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bothyhostels, General Manager at Bothy Hostel Arequipa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hi Robert,
How lovely it is to receive this message from you.
Thank you so for staying with us, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here.

It was a pleasure spending New Years with you and having great conversation.

All the best to you and safe travels
Liz and I both hope to see you at Bothy when you return to Peru.

Kind regards
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Ended up staying three weeks here at bothy while I was at Spanish school in Arequipa. Loved it. The staff were all super friendly and helpful and it was chilled enough to get some good study done up on the sunny rooftop terrace during the day. The bar added that cool extra dimension to relax in over a few cold ones in the evenings also. All in all a very worthwhile place to stay and very good value for money. I would happily recommend to all travellers..couples singles, families etc.

Room Tip: Maybe stay clear of the rooms facing the road as they are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bothyhostels, Manager at Bothy Hostel Arequipa, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Hi Cole,

Thank you for the great review.
We have recently made quite a few changes to the hostel and I'm sure you will be very surprised when you return in the future.....everyone does :-)
Have an awesome time in Peru on the remainder of your trip.

Safe travels

Robert Els
Manager - Bothy Hostel Arequipa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We found a great place to chill and a good base close to the Plaza De Armas and monastery. Friendly staff and clean rooms make this one to remember. Thank you again to Robert and Henrico for making us feel welcome and also sharing his local knowledge of things to see and experience. You guys rock!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 76Neil12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bothyhostels, Manager at Bothy Hostel Arequipa, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Hi Neil,

Thank you so much for the great message.
We were very happy you decided to stay with us at Bothy, it's always nice meeting great people.
Thank you also for the awesome photos that you took of the hostel and the new changes we are working on, be sure to bring your camera again when you visit us in the future.

Best of luck to yourself and Sam on the remainder of your travels, stay safe and have a lekker time in Cusco.

Regards
Robert Els
Manager - Bothy Hostel Arequipa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hostel is just a few steps from the main square. Around the hostel you have many possibilities, for going out at night, choosing one of the restaurants, doing some sightseeing or just relaxing in one of the parks in Arequipa - everything is very close to the hostel.
The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, the water warm. Breakfast can be enjoyed on the roof terrace - while the sun is shining all day long. Perfect! You can enjoy a book in one of the hammocks...and in the evening you should take a drink in the hostel's bar. If I one day come back to Arequipa, I will choose the Bothy Hostel again. I like! :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.4 mi away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 185 in Arequipa
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
MB Backpackers
MB Backpackers
#21 of 185 in Arequipa
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Friendly AQP
Friendly AQP
#4 of 185 in Arequipa
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mango Hostel Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
#11 of 185 in Arequipa
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bothy Hostel Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bothy Hostel Arequipa

Address: Puente Grau 306, Arequipa 054, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range: $13 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a place to meet and mingle with fellow travelers or relax after a long day of exploring the city, Bothy is the perfect hostel for backpackers of all kinds. Just 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas (main square), our central location will put you right in the middle of the action. With a more relaxed atmosphere during the week, you’ll be able to get all the rest you need for excursions to Colca Canyon, Misti Volcano, and more, while the weekend brings a party atmosphere that you can find at our in-hostel bar or at the numerous pubs, restaurants, and dance clubs right down the street. Above all, our friendly and helpful staff will make your experience at Bothy. Open 24 hours, our reception is always happy to answer any questions you may have about Arequipa, recommend a good restaurant, or share their best travel stories. Our open-air terrace— complete with hammocks, a bar, and a gorgeous view of the snowed mountains. We only offer 4 beds dorm with and without bat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bothy Hostel Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing