We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome budget accomodations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bothy Hostel Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Bothy Hostel is a fantastic place to stay on a budget. In fact, it's a great place to stay regardless of budget! It's cozy, with a great layout, and there are lots of things to do. The atmostphere is welcoming, and Raoul, the manager, is service oriented. The same goes for the rest of the staff. There are three floors, and the building is beautiful, with a courtyard and rooftop patio, which are wonderful relaxation spots. Perfect for sipping a beer! Speaking of beer, the fridge is self serve, which makes things easy. There are plenty of activities during the week, such as go-karting, social working, and bbq's to name a few. There is also a bar, with lots of games to play late into the night. Land Adventures is situated in the hostel, and offers great adventure trips. I did the Colca Canyon and river rafting. I'd recommend both. The main square is only a 10 minute walk, and the Santa Catalina monastery even closer. A perfect place to stay all-around.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBOtski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bothyhostels, Manager at Bothy Hostel Arequipa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we try to improve the experience of the guests every day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Bothy Hostel Arequipa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 339 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights and ended up with over 200 bites across my body. Showed the manager who confirmed it was bed bugs, I asked what I should do and he asked if there was a spare bed in our dorm, I said yes and he just told me to switch the mattresses!! They had no intention of sorting out the bed bug problem!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Backpacker88s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bothyhostels, Gerente at Bothy Hostel Arequipa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hello backpacker.
We feel very sorry you had a bad experience at our hostel. When you showed me your bites, I told you that it is strange this happens, as this never happened before in the past and we have never had such complaints of our guests. As mentioned during our conversation at our hostel, it could have been of other insects outside of Arequipa. Anyway, we feel a bit bad that you write a bad comment about our hostel. As you can see on trip advisor, all of our guests leave our hostel very happy and are very satisfied with our services. We will do our best to continue this. l

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed in three hostels in Arequipa, and Bothy was the best find. They have an amazingly cheap "budget" room where you can basically stay forever, reliable hot showers, a movie room, extremely friendly, helpful (bilingual) staff who are always around and willing to chat, and - most importantly - a great bar where they've got something going on every night. Also, curing you hangover with a rooftop nap is highly recommended (just wear sunblock)!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bothyhostels, Manager at Bothy Hostel Arequipa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, we really appreciate it! We try very hard to make your experience enjoyable and continue to improve every day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Yes, we were actually in Bothy for the 4th of July, where they had a great BBQ party for the resident Americans. Quite fun. The bilingual staff was great, and were even warm to my desire to practice my conversational Spanish. Good location, great staff, this place is stellar.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bothyhostels, Gerente at Bothy Hostel Arequipa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your beautifull comment! We are very grateful for your visit! continue to improve to be better every day! Bothy love you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Bothy has everything.... A great manager, atmosphere and lovely rooms! Well priced and all in all great! STAY HERE! They will help with tours, advice and anything you need, perfect english and a lovely bar within the hostel... (Make sure you play beer pong)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bothyhostels, Gerente at Bothy Hostel Arequipa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thanks for your coooment! We are very happy for your visit! We always want to go the extra mile! Muchas Gracias Amigos! bothy love you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The staff at Bothy were so nice and helpful, it made a world of a difference, especially when my friend fell and needed to go to the hospital to get stitches. It was amazing to have such a supportive and knowlegable staff help us get to where we needed to be. Plus the view from the rooftop is amazing!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the third floor, much quieter and you have a view of the volcano!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iverson_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bothyhostels, Gerente at Bothy Hostel Arequipa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your comment. We are always happy to help all our guests. Hope you guys are happy and still enjoying life. Many greetings from Arequipa. Bothy love you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Aside from being a little slow during my stay, Bothy was great!! Internet is pretty fast and was available in my room, the showers were generally hot (my first shower went back and forth from pleasant to freezing), and the bilingual staff is more than willing to chat you up! They knew my name by the 2nd day and I even spent the day hanging out with he bartender. My only qualm would be lack of other travelers, but that had more to do with the season then the business itself. Looking for a fun place where they organize events and offer a clean, safe spot, STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justasillygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.4 mi away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 181 in Arequipa
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
MB Backpackers
MB Backpackers
#21 of 181 in Arequipa
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mango Hostel Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Friendly AQP
Friendly AQP
#4 of 181 in Arequipa
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
#10 of 181 in Arequipa
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bothy Hostel Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bothy Hostel Arequipa

Address: Puente Grau 306, Arequipa 054, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 181 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range: $13 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a place to meet and mingle with fellow travelers or relax after a long day of exploring the city, Bothy is the perfect hostel for backpackers of all kinds. Just 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas (main square), our central location will put you right in the middle of the action. With a more relaxed atmosphere during the week, you’ll be able to get all the rest you need for excursions to Colca Canyon, Misti Volcano, and more, while the weekend brings a party atmosphere that you can find at our in-hostel bar or at the numerous pubs, restaurants, and dance clubs right down the street. Above all, our friendly and helpful staff will make your experience at Bothy. Open 24 hours, our reception is always happy to answer any questions you may have about Arequipa, recommend a good restaurant, or share their best travel stories. Our open-air terrace— complete with hammocks, a bar, and a gorgeous view of the snowed mountains. We only offer 4 beds dorm with and without bat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Bothy Hostel Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing