We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent balance beteen party and rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bothy Hostel Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Very good hostel in the center of Arequipa. Has all necesary things like hot showers, internet, kitchen (although very basic), breakfast,.. Also has a good bar, but it hardle ever gets noisy in the dorms. I did not like the 12bed dorm as it is close to the street and very noisy. The 4bed dorm was excelent. The view from terace is stunning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vasek_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 362 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

Good location, good price. Wicked nice and informative staff...especially ALEX!! The only hostel with good coffee for breakfast...Cafe Valenzuela! They will also cook killer omelets or pancakes for breakfast for cheap. Rooftop kitechen and lounge area is awesome. There is a great view of Volcan Misti!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed at Bothy Arequipa 3 days in early May 2012. The hostel is located in safe neighborhood and its facility is good. The staff is very helpful and friendly, and the place is kept quite clean. I would highly recommend this hostel to budget travelers. K

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khanh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My stay at Bothy hostel in Arequipa was wonderful! The staff, Alex and Jackie were great! They were very welcoming and super helpful in booking white water rafting and the colca canyon trek for me.

The rooms are basic but clean, and the showers are hot. Location is perfect too, close to the main plaza and lots of bars and restaurants.

I definitely recommend Bothy hostel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Alex and Raoul are awesome people and Jackie as well. Helped out with everything. Friendly people, nice rooms, and overall I had a great experience

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I had a really good time during my stay at Bothy. I found the hostel to be well located in Arequipa. It was a few blocks from the city center and a few blocks from a more none touristy experience. The staff was very nice and helpful during my stay there. The manager was around very often and he is always willing to help guests or just talk to them, when they are lonely. The hostel had a bar on the grounds, so you could party if you want. But at the same time, it wasn't so loud that you couldn't sleep, like many party hostel I've experienced. In addition, there is a movie room, free computers to use, and a kitchen with a great view of El Misti (the kitchen itself wasn't the best, but most people got it to work for them).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed at Bothy for 4 nights and really enjoyed my stay. The facilities are cheap, comfortable, clean, and actually very aesthetically pleasing. From the roof terrace with a great view of the volcanoes to the downstairs bar, Bothy has a lot to offer travelers. The staff is very helpful and friendly, and the owner who is usually around is a character. I look forward to staying again!

Room Tip: There is a dorm, but also 4 bed rooms which are only a few more soles, but with better access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.6 mi away
Arequipay Backpackers Downtown
0.6 mi away
Friendly AQP
Friendly AQP
#3 of 204 in Arequipa
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Foyer Hostel Arequipa
Le Foyer Hostel Arequipa
#5 of 204 in Arequipa
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mango Hostel Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 204 in Arequipa
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bothy Hostel Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bothy Hostel Arequipa

Address: Puente Grau 306 | We always keep some beds for travellers who have not booked in advance., Arequipa 054, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range: $13 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bothy Hostel Arequipa 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for a place to meet and mingle with fellow travelers or relax after a long day of exploring the city, Bothy is the perfect hostel for backpackers of all kinds. Just 3 blocks from the Plaza de Armas (main square), our central location will put you right in the middle of the action. With a more relaxed atmosphere during the week, you’ll be able to get all the rest you need for excursions to Colca Canyon, Misti Volcano, and more, while the weekend brings a party atmosphere that you can find at our in-hostel bar or at the numerous pubs, restaurants, and dance clubs right down the street. Above all, our friendly and helpful staff will make your experience at Bothy. Open 24 hours, our reception is always happy to answer any questions you may have about Arequipa, recommend a good restaurant, or share their best travel stories. Our open-air terrace— complete with hammocks, a bar, and a gorgeous view of the snowed mountains. We only offer 4 beds dorm with and without bat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Bothy Hostel Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing