We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good friendly fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Point
Ranked #92 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good friendly fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

This hostel is has a nice bar and very friendly staff. There is good atmosphere adnd it is an easy place to meet people. If your looking for somewhere to party but in a relaxed atmosphere this is the place. The location is great and the rates are pretty good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    18
    10
    18
See reviews for
2
13
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

The Point in Arequipa lived up to every expectation we have of a Point Hostel. Great bar with freindly barmen, a pool table, a huge comfy room, hot showers ( most of the time!), good food, helped us order Dominoes pizza :)
It is a little way out of the centre of town but a taxi is really cheap and walking during the day takes about 20 minutes, and it is a nice walk.
Really recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisewitham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

I suppose it depends what you're looking for. If you're travelling alone and don't mind the state of where you're sleeping and want to party this seems like a good enough place to do it as they have activities arranged every night so you can meet loads of like-minded people.

Although not ridiculously far from town, there are better places to stay IN town. You wouldn't want to be a girl walking back here at night alone, it's a very dark and quiet road.

Shared showers are surprisingly clean but the rooms can only be described as worn out and therefore don't feel very clean.

Service was particularly unimpressive with staff clearly having no clue about the area, having given us some terrible advice I think we'd of done a better job on our first day in the town. Also they're not the best at ordering taxis.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arequipa hotels

London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

To be fair, I should not have booked into this place as, although I fancy a drink now and again, I was not up for a ḿad-fer-it' party. Although it didnt seem that the people there wanted to party that much (more play pool or watch DVDs), they insisted on playing music so loud it shook the rooms (including my dorm upstairs). It seemed very keen to prove itself as a wild party place but the staff were the ones who wanted to party. It was fairly clean though, there was a paltry free breakfast and hot water showers.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbitontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

Just brilliant, was going to stay for just 1 night ended up staying a week, great party, always loads of people around to hang with and see the sites.
Comfy beds, clean, secure, super friendly, James the manager was brilliantly helpful and way too patient, god bless the British.
Couldn't ask for more, after staying in the Lima "The Point" was even more charmed by the one in Arequipa.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank TrekOficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.3 mi away
Le Foyer Hostel
Le Foyer Hostel
#5 of 169 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wild Rover Backpackers
Wild Rover Backpackers
#17 of 169 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MB Backpackers
MB Backpackers
#28 of 169 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Friendly AQP
Friendly AQP
#4 of 169 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 169 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point

Property: The Point
Address: Palacio Viejo 325, Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New city centre location! We are now just 2 blocks from the main plaza. All dorms just 15 soles! Special opening prices. Come and see our all new hostel and stay for just 15 soles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing