We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lomo Saltado - veggie is excellent - great value food”
Review of Lakshmivan - CLOSED

Lakshmivan
Restaurant details
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lomo Saltado - veggie is excellent - great value food”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed in Arequipa at the Posada del Kuraka which was 3 minutes away from this restaurant. Excellent selection of food and drinks, including wine and beer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gshanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good veggie choices”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

I ate here once and was happy with my meal. I had the vegetarian limo saltado with soya meat, which was a good opportunity to try a local speciality. It was a little cold , however. I had a glass of red wine and a pisco sour, both of which were good. The courtyard setting is very nice and the menu includes Peruvian, American and Indian food. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank nellygiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Veg in Town”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Lovely service
Extensive menu
Excellent setting, bring your best alpaca apparel and sit outside, enchanting little court yard.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Moi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of vegan options in a pretty setting”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We went for the 18 soles vegan set menu. There was a choice of half a dozen starters and mains. It was refreshing to have a nice (if undressed) salad on a hot day (corn, broccolli, spinich and lettuce) though the quinoa soup was a little plain if still nourishing. For our mains we both guiltily went for the decidedly non-Peruvian soya burger with hot chips and it was cooked perfectly - soft, slightly crispy chips and a flavourful crispy/chewy burger with tomato and cucumber garnish. Likewise the fruit salad (peach, banana, apple, papaya) and the home-comfort baked banana hit the spot. I've docked a star because they drizzled honey over the top of the desserts (honey is not vegan so really shouldn't be part of the vegan set menu), but they replaced them immediately without complaint when we asked. 18 soles isn't the cheapest set menu around, especially as it didn't include bread or tea/coffee but the sunny plant-filled courtyard and large vegetarian menu would make us return if only we had another day in Arequipa.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank veganinsoutham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonJames2050
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Food was basic”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Had an evening meal. Food was basic. Soup was not home made but good. Had the Menu of the day 3 course for 18 sole. Had a hamburger and chips good imitation. Partner had a nice tomato sauce over a wrap. Cake was ok. Service was poor as they were watching television in the kitchen. No English spoken or English menu. Lovely court yard but to cold tonight to sit out.

Pros: good value * healthy *
Cons: could do with paint *

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJames2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakshmivan also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing