We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of vegan options in a pretty setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakshmivan - CLOSED

Lakshmivan
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of vegan options in a pretty setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We went for the 18 soles vegan set menu. There was a choice of half a dozen starters and mains. It was refreshing to have a nice (if undressed) salad on a hot day (corn, broccolli, spinich and lettuce) though the quinoa soup was a little plain if still nourishing. For our mains we both guiltily went for the decidedly non-Peruvian soya burger with hot chips and it was cooked perfectly - soft, slightly crispy chips and a flavourful crispy/chewy burger with tomato and cucumber garnish. Likewise the fruit salad (peach, banana, apple, papaya) and the home-comfort baked banana hit the spot. I've docked a star because they drizzled honey over the top of the desserts (honey is not vegan so really shouldn't be part of the vegan set menu), but they replaced them immediately without complaint when we asked. 18 soles isn't the cheapest set menu around, especially as it didn't include bread or tea/coffee but the sunny plant-filled courtyard and large vegetarian menu would make us return if only we had another day in Arequipa.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank veganinsoutham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LondonJames2050
Level Contributor
161 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Food was basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Had an evening meal. Food was basic. Soup was not home made but good. Had the Menu of the day 3 course for 18 sole. Had a hamburger and chips good imitation. Partner had a nice tomato sauce over a wrap. Cake was ok. Service was poor as they were watching television in the kitchen. No English spoken or English menu. Lovely court yard but to cold tonight to sit out.

Pros: good value * healthy *
Cons: could do with paint *

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJames2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the entrance!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

It looked empty and ununviting but at the back there is a pretty garden which is nice to sit and eat in. Service is a little slow but the food is all cooked freshly and is really good! Especially if youre craving some good veggie meals. There is a good range to choose from too. I went back for more!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Newtowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So good we went back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We went in early. They opened the shop for us! A very relaxed atmosphere, lovely people. The fact that we could eat ANYTHING on the menu was fantastic. The food is so fresh they went to the shop to buy it. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winkle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landshut, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent vegetarian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

This place is really good, we came back the next day because we really liked the dinner.

For lunch they even had a special menu and I got an amazing amount of good food for the equivalent of slightly more than 1 euro!

The atmosphere inside is very good and they even have a beautiful outdoor courtyard.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aciverson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakshmivan also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing