We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian with a Peruvian Twist” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Trattoria del Monasterio

La Trattoria del Monasterio
Ranked #3 of 12 Dessert in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Italian with a Peruvian Twist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great place for food following a visit to the Monastario de Santa Catalina next door. The food is delicious Italian with a lovely Peruvian influence. Not the cheapest place to eat, but the food is very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank alunwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    154
    44
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
180 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lunch in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The restaurant building was once part of the monastery. We ate in a back room, whose window was open to the monastery proper. The atmosphere is lovely. The service was very good. The menu is mostly Italian, but I tried Rocoto Relleno con Camerones, which was delicious. It was pretty quiet for lunch on a Saturday, but it is not a large place, so reservations might be appropriate. It is a good choice for a slightly upscale lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best meals in Peru”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner here after touring the monastery earlier that day. The seating is limited so make a reservation. The food was great and the waiter very attentive. It was a cozy "treat yourself" kind of dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LilHalPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Buenazo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Probably some of the best food I have eaten for the money we paid. Absolutely top-notch service as well. If you come to Arequipa and don't come here, you miss out big-time!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tiny portions for the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I live in Arequipa and we chose to try this "special" place on a special occasion. It was disappointing. The place was pretty, the placemats were dirty, and the manager/owner was very pushy and we could hear her yelling in the kitchen constantly. She even argued with another customer when his meat was undercooked that it was medium-well when in fact, it was obviously rare. The same happened to my husband -undercooked meat, but he didn't send it back since he knew an argument would ensue. But what really threw us were the portions. I'm willing to splurge the s/35 for a nice pasta dish. They were delicious, no doubt. But my tortellini dish consisted of 8 tiny pieces of tortellini. Stretching, I could make it last 8 bites. My husband's lomo a las tres pimientos was similarly accompanied by 5 small pieces of 3 cheese ravioli. Even though we had ordered a salad beforehand, there was no way this was enough food to fill even a small appetite. We were so irked by the tiny portions we went across to Chicha for desserts (where they are incredible) since this place obviously seeks to not fill you with an entree in hopes you order multiple courses. For s/115 meal for 2, (had only small cokes, no wine) it is the slimmest option in Arequipa, and in the future we'll splurge where we can at least leave full.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MartitaAQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria del Monasterio also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to La Trattoria del Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing