We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky accommodation”
Review of Le Foyer Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Foyer Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Funky accommodation”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

What a great place to stay in Arequiba. Not far from the town square, it is clean & tidy, well set out with great indoor balcony/terrace. We only stayed a night, but the room met all expectation, bed were comfortable, rooms clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. We had met fellow travellers the day before & they turned up there as well and were also impressed. There was nothing not to like. Big thumbs up.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodfather_gong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    84
    28
    13
    9
See reviews for
22
74
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013

A very laid-back hostel located very centrally, close to the main square (Plaza de Armas). The staff are extremely helpful and provide additional services, such as booking (good value) Colca Canyon tours and buses. The rooms are comfortable, clean and not your average dormitories (each have only 3 beds max). I came in low season, so the hostel was pretty tranquillo but it is near all the action for those that way inclined.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great location with comfortable rooms for the best price.
The breakfast included is good and the guy at the reception is one of the nicest person ever met in a hostel. He helped us a lot planning the next part of our trip!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Le Foyer is I think one of the best place to stay in Arequipa. You are in the main centre. The staff is great and friendly and they have good showers, Small dorm rooms with two or three good beds and relaxing atmosphere.
Sieme

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sieme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Located in the center of Arequipa, near the Plaza las Armas you can find the hostel Le Foyer. The hostel has nice and clean rooms, with great beds. Included is a nice patio were you can spend some time relaxing. The hostel is secured by a locked door that is only opened by staff. Last but not least the best HOT! showers of Peru.

In Dutch: Super hostel. Helemaal goed als je lekker wil ontspannen.

Room Tip: shower, room, bed, staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarstvdBosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Too noisy and a bit dirty.
Staff very friendly but it's not enough.
How can you sleep if someone is playing music until 3am next to your door ?
Try something else ... Because even with my hear plug I am still awake.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwimmerLu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hostel was recommended to us by fellow travelers. It is located in the center in a busy street. Everything is in walking distance. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in total four nights with interuptions for hiking trips. It was possible to store some of our stuff in the hostel during the hikes. The stuff was stored directly behind the reception in a safe room. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and tidy. In total we would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Rooms without private bathrooms are significantly cheaper. The common bathrooms are cleaned twice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.2 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 97 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 169 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bothy Hostel Arequipa
Bothy Hostel Arequipa
#6 of 169 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Friendly AQP
Friendly AQP
#4 of 169 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Foyer Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Foyer Hostel

Property: Le Foyer Hostel
Address: Calle Ugarte 114, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Foyer Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Foyer Hostel is located in a charming colonial house, located in the monumental city centre and just two blocks away from the Plaza de Armas. It offers rooms with free Wi-Fi, balcony, roof terrace and free breakfast with fresh fruits. Its strategic location provides easy access within walking distance to major attractions, entertainment centres, banks, shopping areas, restaurants and pharmacies. Rooms at Le Foyer feature tiled floors, wooden furniture and views of city and courtyard. All with private bathrooms and hot water 24 hours. Le Foyer Hostel features a lobby with comfortable sofas, TV and internet access. Also we offer shuttle service to Rodriguez Ballon airport or bus station, located about 15 minutes. An American breakfast with natural juices, homemade jams and eggs is served every morning. Guests can also enjoy barbecues on the patio and have drinks on the roof terrace. We'll be waiting for you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Foyer Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing