We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Restaurant...”
Review of Zig Zag Restaurant

Zig Zag Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 417 Restaurants in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: European, Peruvian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Alpandina dishes offered by the Zig Zag Restaurant are the result of a creative culinary fusion deeply rooted in the mountains, where the sun endows foodstuffs with energy and balanced components. The dishes most representative of Alpandino gastronomy arise from a marvellous synthesis of unique time-hallowed ingredients from all over Peru, combined with ancient and modern culinary techniques from the Alps and the Andes. One of the results is our great speciality: Volcanic-Stone-Cooked Meats and Fish. This culinary concept was generated specially by the restaurant's proprietor and Chef, Michel Hediger from Switzerland. During the course of many years in Arequipa, Peru, he has developed an original gastronomic proposal which enables one to savour different kinds of food prepared in an exclusive, healthy and very natural style, so that the restaurant's customers might compare and enjoy the country's different flavours. Located in the Historic Centre of Arequipa, opposite the lovely Plaza San Francisco, the Zig Zag Restaurant, with its impressive cast iron staircase designed by the famous French architect Alexandre Gustave Eiffel, is a unique place to enjoy a gastronomic evening with a difference.
Arequipa, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant...”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have been here twice, once to celebrate my new job and then it was my restaurant of choice to celebrate my birthday. The food is amazing. The service is great. I recommend calling in advance and making a reservation for upstairs by the window if you are going as a couple. It's romantic (if you're into that kind of thing) and the view is beautiful.
There is a dish that is served traditionally over hot stones. It's still cooking as it is brought to you. I had the fish trio the first time and the duck the second time. Both were excellent.
Buen provecho!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,521
    741
    164
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best service!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The attention and service were outstanding, sizzling fish and meat- you certainly need the bib, great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tabernash33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“You've got to try this one”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

After a massive disappointment at the nearby Wayrana the previous evening this restaurant was recommended by a local. What a difference! We received a warm welcome, friendly smiling staff seated us and took our orders. A good atmosphere in this restaurant which is clearly popular with the locals as evidenced by the number who came in whilst we were there and we're obviously regulars by the way they were received.
The extensive menu is reasonably priced (positively cheap if quality comparisons are made) and the food when served was hot and delicious. The restaurant was very busy but the wait ws not unwarranted and the meal was well worth the wait. Our best meal yet in Peru - out of 7.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank exkgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Myself and my partner turned up without a reservation, and were shown to a table without a problem. The decor was inviting and we were seated to a scenic table with lovely views. We both opted for the alpaca burger set menu served on the lava plates. Food was cooked to perfection as we had asked. Whilst this dining experience may be unique to Peru, we have enjoyed this dining experience in the UK with not as much success. The most memorable thing which occurred, was glancing out of the window and then be showered with salad leaves. The poor waiter had tripped on a step and gone flying in our direction. I genuinely felt sorry for the poor man, in fact prior to this accident his service had been excellent. In all our bill came to around 120 soles for 2 main courses a bottle of water and 2 pisco sours. I tried to find our primary server post bill following salad gate to leave a tip, but could not find him.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank woxx823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Deserves the Number 1 spot.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here last night. We turned up at 8pm with no reservation and only had to wait 15 minutes in the bar for a table - great opportunity to relax with a drink before dinner. We shared an entree (sesame coated trout with dipping sauce), main (large trilogy of meat with dipping sauces, baked potato and green salad) and dessert (chocolate mousse). All up with a glass of red wine, alcoholic cocktail and 2 cappuccinos it cost 144 soles - very reasonable. Everything was great - service, food, atmosphere, value for money. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zig Zag Restaurant also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Zig Zag Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing