We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean. tidy and great service”
Review of Posada el Castillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada el Castillo
Ranked #21 of 170 Arequipa B&B and Inns
London (originally NZ)
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean. tidy and great service”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I stayed here while travelling with family so I saw 3 rooms. All were excellently presented, large, clean and had excellent bathrooms. I cannot fault them on the rooms. The wifi reached all rooms. The breakfast was a good continental style breakfast. The location is quite good, it is not in the centre of arequipa, it is a 10-15 minute walk on safe well lit streets. Very good stay and reccomended

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles5333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    24
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
67
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Amazing place- clean beautiful and muxh attention to detail!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alladin_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stayed in the main house and the room was lovely. About a 20 minute walk from town which we did during the day and felt safe, but did as advised and cabbed it at night 4 soles.
Never really found out what time breakfast was served as we had some communication problems, but when we appeared at 8am and nothing was out the staff ran off and bought it all out to us. The pool wasn't looking at it's best so left it alone, it might be waiting a clean for the start of the summer? Although we struggled to find someone to speak English and we have very little Spanish the hotel we very good with a late checkout as we were leaving on the night bus.
A very pleasant couple of nights. Thanks very much

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed four nights in the modern block at the back of the garden. The room had wood floors, lots of space and light, comfortable beds, and a large, very clean bathroom. Out front was a veranda with a table and chairs and views of the volcanoes, Eiffel's bridge, and the posada's flower-filled garden. The staff were friendly and helpful, calling taxis and indulging the kids. Hot water was patchy - sometimes yes, sometimes no - but we never went a whole day without a hot shower (if there's none in the morning, try at night!). The location is a plus - a short, cheap taxi ride to the Plaza de Armas, but very quiet and peaceful. We slept well every night. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MTXLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2011

there´s no question why it´s number one in arequipa!perfect place to spend a few days.
the house is beautiful, the owners are very helpful and sweet, the breakfast is plentiful and super tasty!
it´s a 15 mn walk to the center, but therefore it´s calm and peaceful!
we really enjoyed our stay here!
(by the way,the owner didn´t bribe us to write these comments!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcandarnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This is a very nice hotel situated in an old mansion. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was quite good. The garden was lovely and well tended. The owner, Hans, was very accommodating and allowed us to check out very late for an evening flight. They even sent tea up to my room because I wasn't feeling well before leaving for a flight. Hans also assisted with scheduling a hotel in Lima. The only downside is that the hotel is not in the city center and there is only one restaurant in the vicinity. However, the peace and quiet of the location and the ease of getting a reasonable taxi makes up for this.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrklynTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
308 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

All the previous reviews are completely accurate. We recently stayed there a total of 4 days...beautiful property, good breakfast, free wi-fi, friendly owners. While it is a15-20 minute walk to the plaza we did not mind it...over the 4 days we probably did the walk a dozen times without a problem. The street leading to the plaza is not attractive but it is very busy. We always walked to the plaza area for dinner but took a taxi back...$1.50-2.00 for taxi ride. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randomMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.6 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
1.2 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mint Hotel
Mint Hotel
#16 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
1.3 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#12 of 97 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada el Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada el Castillo

Property: Posada el Castillo
Address: Pasaje Campos 105, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada el Castillo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada el Castillo is one of the best hotels in Arequipa, charming and comfortable. A mansion of impressive architecture looking over the whole city, the three volcanoes and the iron bridge, designed by EIFFEL, at the edge of the historical city center. The hotel is run by a Dutch/Peruvian couple, has 18 rooms all spacious, with balcony and/or garden view. Our breakfast is famous with fresh strawberry juice to die for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Posada el Castillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing