We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best hotel in San Cristobal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pimampiro Hosteria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galapagos Islands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pimampiro Hosteria
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Galapagos Islands
Certificate of Excellence
Quito
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best hotel in San Cristobal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

I've been several times in San Cristobal island with groups and this is one of the places where I come back with a happy face! Alejandra & Fernando the owners are always with a big smile in their faces. Suites are great, a lot of space. In warm period the pool is a relaxing option after local visit. Breakfast is the best in the island (fruits, eggs, toasts, juice, good coffee, muesli... )
I really recommend this hotel for a stay in San Cristobal

Room Tip: Upper rooms with ocean view are nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NomadGPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    24
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

I loved this little hotel. I travelled to the Galapagos with 3 children age range: infant- 6 years old. I stayed here for nine nights and would definitely return if I went to San Cristobal. I had the room by the pool which was two rooms, a common area with a couch, tv, and a kitchenette area, and a bathroom. The first bedroom had a full size bed and the second room had 3 twin beds. The kids loved being next to the pool and the pool definitely felt like it was an extension of our room. The pool can make this room loud at night so if you are sensitive to noise this room may not be the best for you. The pool is also deep and has no shallow area so if you have small children you should be very alert.The room however was just what we needed to make a comfortable land based trip. We lunched out and would pick up dinner to go and eat it comfortably in our rooms- a perk to not be out at dinner time with kids!The owners and staff are very much a delight. The warm reviews represent them accurately. I only add that the owners have children and are used to traveling with children so they are cognizant of what makes a family comfortable. They seemed to be very honest and caring people. They really went out of their way to accommodate us at every level.
The location is not right downtown but we did not find this o be a problem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knittingmami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

I agree with all that everyone has been saying about this place. Very friendly owners/staff, probably the best condition of most places I've seen in San Cristobal, perfect breakfast. One caution..it's across the street from a "Galapagos Fried Chicken" and party room. We had a noisy stay in Quito and were looking forward to some quiet here...but there was a special occasion "quinceanera" party going on, and our walls shook til very late with salsa music from across the street. The mosquitos topped off a very unrestful night (probably our fault for leaving the door open earlier). Only other thing is that the hotel is a bit of a walk uphill, not right down by the waterfront. Would still stay here again (if no parties scheduled next door!)

Room Tip: Most second floor rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadeInFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

This little hotel offer all the tourist need: excellent bedroom, good shower, very clean an big room, excellent breakfast (made by the owner!!). The staff is very kind, always helping you all you need. They have bikes (even to cary surf boards!!) for borrow....the hotel is about 2-5 minutes riding to downtown.
We spend 07 nights there, without a problem!!
Alejandra and Fernando, and all the staff, thanks for everything!! You are great!!

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabifarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed here for two nights during a Galapagos tour. The rooms were fairly nice. There was a trick with the shower (only turn the knob enough for water to come out, or else the water was cold instead of hot!), but otherwise it was great! The pool seemed lovely, but what I remember most was the breakfast. It was SO GOOD. Fresh juice, coffee or tea, eggs cooked just the way you like them, as well as tasty bread and fresh fruit. It was a bit of a walk to downtown (maybe a 10-15 minute walk), but that wasn't a problem at all for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed for three nights at the beginning of our Galapagos adventure. We had a two bedroom apartment with central lounge area-all were clean and beds very comfortable. Great for three star accommodation! We were welcomed with mugs and stickers on our beds as gifts on arrival. Breakfasts were great -juice,fruit,cereal, yoghurt and eggs as ordered. We were able to do a large bowl of washing for $10 (washed and folded).
One day we cycled down to San Cristobal on the complimentary mountain bikes which were adjusted by the friendly staff .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

The owners were personable, the staff extremely attentive. Safe. Super-large rooms. Each of our rooms could have easily slept 3-6 people (well worth the price we paid, given the size, cleanliness, complimentary breakfasts (juice, toast, and all the eggs you could want). Internet connection worked well, when server was on. Pool -- clean, new, right size for 6-8 people lounging around (only pool we saw connected to a hotel). Some rooms have kitchen/microwave. Just ask for the ones that do.

The staff helped get us to and from airport, recommended a good land-tour guide, and loaned us bikes gratis. The owners have a nice souvenir store in town -- nice items, comparable in price to other stores.

Would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diversgalore1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galapagos Islands hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#5 of 8 in San Cristobal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Miconia
Hotel Miconia
#4 of 8 in San Cristobal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimampiro Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimampiro Hosteria

Property: Pimampiro Hosteria
Address: Avenue Quito y Tulcan, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galapagos Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pimampiro Hosteria Hotel Galapagos Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing