We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel!”
Review of Pimampiro Hosteria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galapagos Islands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pimampiro Hosteria
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Galapagos Islands
Certificate of Excellence
Newark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel!”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed here for two nights during a Galapagos tour. The rooms were fairly nice. There was a trick with the shower (only turn the knob enough for water to come out, or else the water was cold instead of hot!), but otherwise it was great! The pool seemed lovely, but what I remember most was the breakfast. It was SO GOOD. Fresh juice, coffee or tea, eggs cooked just the way you like them, as well as tasty bread and fresh fruit. It was a bit of a walk to downtown (maybe a 10-15 minute walk), but that wasn't a problem at all for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    29
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
35
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed for three nights at the beginning of our Galapagos adventure. We had a two bedroom apartment with central lounge area-all were clean and beds very comfortable. Great for three star accommodation! We were welcomed with mugs and stickers on our beds as gifts on arrival. Breakfasts were great -juice,fruit,cereal, yoghurt and eggs as ordered. We were able to do a large bowl of washing for $10 (washed and folded).
One day we cycled down to San Cristobal on the complimentary mountain bikes which were adjusted by the friendly staff .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The owners were personable, the staff extremely attentive. Safe. Super-large rooms. Each of our rooms could have easily slept 3-6 people (well worth the price we paid, given the size, cleanliness, complimentary breakfasts (juice, toast, and all the eggs you could want). Internet connection worked well, when server was on. Pool -- clean, new, right size for 6-8 people lounging around (only pool we saw connected to a hotel). Some rooms have kitchen/microwave. Just ask for the ones that do.

The staff helped get us to and from airport, recommended a good land-tour guide, and loaned us bikes gratis. The owners have a nice souvenir store in town -- nice items, comparable in price to other stores.

Would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diversgalore1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights during a tour of the Galapagos. We had a cabana sized room with a nice sized kitchen/dining area. Breakfast was delicious. It was a little far to walk to downtown, but not too inconvenient. The pool was small, but really great for lounging around.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_in_Palo_Alto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Best spot on the island to stay. Arrived on a last min surf trip. Luckily they had avalibility for 3 of us. The room was very clean, comfortable beds, hot shower, wifi, tv, great view of the town and water from the hill location. Best breakfast that comes with your stay. They will keep cooking until to can no longer eat. The owner and his wife are very friendly and will go out of their way to accomidate you.
Would definitely stay here again!

5-10 min from any surf break and a 10 min walk into town.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The best hotel in te galapagos!!!! I cannot tell you how amazing this place and the owners are! No pictures or words can express how amazing this place is!!!! Stay here!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfash2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

To celebrate my 40th birthday we took an adventure-filled 14 day trip to the Galapagos & deep into the Amazon jungle. The trip started with our flight into San Cristobal and staying at Pimampiro. When we arrived Alejandra met us at the front gate with a warm welcome. She showed us our room (#8) which was very spacious and clean. We even found a little goodie bag for each of us which had postcards, information about Pimampiro and a snack. The room overlooked the pool they have and even though it is not too large, it is sparkling clean and inviting. Pimampiro is about a 1/2 mile from the downtown and sits up on a hill so from our room we were also able to see the ocean. We spent most of the day snorkeling around Kicker Rock and walking around the downtown. We were honored to have dinner that night with a local fisherman's family and by the time we got back to Pimampiro it was quite late. The next morning came early with the roosters (and sometimes dogs) singing, but we didn't mind since we had to be up and on our way to Day 2 of our adventure on another island. Both Alejandra and Fernando were up making breakfast for just us. We had fresh breads and jellies, eggs, fresh fruit (papaya was amazing!) and my new favorite drink Cafe Con Leche! I also had hot chocolate -- sorry but I could not resist! The hot chocolate drinks in the Galapagos & Ecuador are made from scratch and are so rich & delicious they are hard to resist! While we were eating breakfast my husband Rob (who speaks fluent Spanish) and Fernando (who speaks little English) had a wonderful conversation about Pimampiro. Fernando built the place from the ground up. He grew up in a small village in the Andes outside of Quito called Pimampiro. In the Navy as a pilot his nickname was "Pimampiro" and that is why he named this wonderful little place by that name. Although we only had one night here, it was one of our favorite places in all the places we stayed during our adventure. We highly recommend staying here and on our next trip to San Cristobal we will definitely stay here and for many more days than just 1.

The only downside (which we found throughout all of the Galapagos) is that a hot water shower can be hard to come by.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BnRadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galapagos Islands hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Miconia
Hotel Miconia
#5 of 8 in San Cristobal
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
34 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#6 of 8 in San Cristobal
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimampiro Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimampiro Hosteria

Property: Pimampiro Hosteria
Address: Avenue Quito y Tulcan, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Galapagos Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pimampiro Hosteria Hotel Galapagos Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing