We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveler rating
11
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
2
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 14 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2016

We arrived late in the evening. The owner and his son graciously took us to a delicious restaurant. Breakfast the next morning with his cook, Blanca was very good, juice, fresh fruit, coffee, eggs & toast. Anything we asked for and even what we didn't ask for, the owner was more than gracious and accomodating. This was a tremendous value, and the owner made the experience over the top.

Room tip: We like having a bathroom.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKOLIBRI, Propietario at Hostal Kolibri, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias, estimada, Zany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016

This new hostel was about a 20 minute walk into the old town. It is a modern, clean and good value for money. Breakfast was lovely. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The common areas and kitchen were also exceptional, modern, bright and inviting to relax in. The owners were very welcoming and had lots of advice for the area. The hostel had several good restaurants within walking distance.

This hostel would have received a full excellent rating if it was not for the CCTV cameras in many common areas. There were cameras in the stairs (which is understandable) from a safety point of view, however there were cameras facing guests in the kitchen and common area. We arrived late one evening and had to look for some bowls in the kitchen. We did not find these easily and looked through all the cupboards, eventually finding them in the last cupboard we looked in. The hostel owners wife came up immediately and asked us what we were looking for. Immediately I felt uncomfortable as I realised we were being watched through the CCTV cameras.
Very unsettling and we didn't fully relax after this incident. The cameras facing guests in the common areas should be removed as I've never seen this in any hostel or hotel we have stayed in.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awolers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2016

With buses and taxis as cheap as they are I like this location. There's plenty to walk to around the area.
The room was super clean as was the common area and kitchen. Would like to have been able to stay longer.
Hosts were super nice and the son speaks excellent English.

Room tip: Rooms on the back side would be quieter, but views of the river are on the front.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CindyinWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2016

My best friend and I stayed 5 nights in this hostal and everything was perfect!! The family who owns and operates the hostal went above and beyond for the both of us. We don't speak Spanish, so they helped us make reservations on the phone (order pizza too, ha ha) and talked with us everyday. Blanca who makes breakfast every morning is so pleasant as well. The common area and kitchen area is spacious and enough room for any need. The room was clean and cleaned up every day. The bathroom and shower were exceptional as well. There is a lovely park across the street to walk the trail (with a security guard actively in the park) which was a great thing to do first thing in the morning for exercise. The hostel is also gated which adds to the security. I would absolutely recommend this hostal to anyone staying in Cuenca.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thedannfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2015

a small bit remote (about 20 minute walk to the old town, but a taxi costs about 1.5 USD, so not a very big issue) modern clean hostel, runned bij son Fernadez and father Fernadez, both very heldpfull bij planning excursions, giving good advise what to do, offer good alternatives ( for instance how to get van cuenca to Guayacil, not bij regular bus but for just 3 usd more bij a small much faster private bus company, taking us to Caja national park in their own car etc) vry nice place, very nice people!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert1963M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews