We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Trastevere Restaurante
Ranked #112 of 729 Restaurants in Cuenca
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

The place is beautiful, and the courtyard equally so. But the food was extremely disappointing. The appetizers had little taste, and the main courses were sadly missing taste and not cooked well. My main meal was the very simple Carbonara. This is like Italian cooking 101. Sadly the pasta lacked any type of taste, and was very overlooked to the point that it was just a mush. The pasta had no texture at all. Added to this, the restaurant is pricey, which is fine if you are served great food. I will not eat here again.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank 97PaulS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 37 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2016

Chef Massimo Pinelli and his wife Karina and Rosey know true Italian Cuisine.....from the Lasagna Bolognese (which we always take for our meal on our trip back home, to the the amazing ravioli and softest ,lightest gnocchi ever.

Rose, pommodori , cheese sauces....divine

Last week we had the amazing King Crab stuffed Lunas(ravioli) OUT of this world,

We cannot stress their 3 cheese pasta, fresh pastas, linguini , etc cheeses(including fresh made mozzarella) salamis and wine by the glass will make you think that you have revisited ROME.....See for yourself.........Salute

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

We go there to buy their olives, which are excellent, often buy their cured meat and chees, again excellent. Finally decided to go for dinner, to sample their home made pizza and other dishes. Service was painfully slow getting started, slow by even Ecuadorian standards! There was no wine list and the three bottles brought over to the table to pick from, were seriously overpriced, even though imported. We all had a pasta dish of some kind, since my husband makes fantastic pasta, we were anxious to compare. I'll stick with ours anytime. It was too tough, not al dente, but tough. We ate it all, but I'd say it as maybe average. Disappointed in all the flavors, even though made in house.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _qland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

On a recent visit to Cuenca from Manta we looked for a new Italian Restaurant. We learned of the restaurant from Sandy Kraft of Carolina Smoke House. The small assuming restaurant was a real find. Homemade pastas, great service and a friendly staff made the evening a pleasure. The wine list is short but the selections is very good. We choose a very tasty Malbec. There are many Italian restaurants in Cuenca and this is near the top of the list.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lexas40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2016

We found this place by accident and thought it was a little deli. They actually have homemade pasta and sauces and the food was excellent. It is a small quaint restaurant with excellent service as well. The arrabiata sauce was excellent as well as the seafood risotto. The only reason I did not give a review of 5 is the Alfredo sauce was a bit bland.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank lourabonita429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trastevere Restaurante also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Trastevere Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing