We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Le Petit Jardin

Le Petit Jardin
Ranked #1 of 724 Restaurants in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Description: Serious dedication to cooking and a light hearted approach to life; these dual aspects encompass the philosophy of Giovanni Cambizaca, the chef patron of Le Petit Jardin. Each weekend we offer a new menu inspired by the freshest ingredients from our local organic markets. Using classical technique, our kitchen expertly creates favorites from French gastronomy, as well as devising new dishes based firmly in the French tradition. We invite you to spend an afternoon or evening with us and let time drift pleasurably away as the aromas of leeks, red wine, white onion, and tarragon begin to fill the air. Please email or call for a reservation; we speak Spanish and English.
Restaurant details
Description: Serious dedication to cooking and a light hearted approach to life; these dual aspects encompass the philosophy of Giovanni Cambizaca, the chef patron of Le Petit Jardin. Each weekend we offer a new menu inspired by the freshest ingredients from our local organic markets. Using classical technique, our kitchen expertly creates favorites from French gastronomy, as well as devising new dishes based firmly in the French tradition. We invite you to spend an afternoon or evening with us and let time drift pleasurably away as the aromas of leeks, red wine, white onion, and tarragon begin to fill the air. Please email or call for a reservation; we speak Spanish and English.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a fairly impromptu anniversary party there with only two days notice and 22 people in attendance. We were treated like kings. The food was great, as always and the service impeccable. The atmosphere is great and the fact that its a little hard to find makes it even more magical. Giovanni is a great chef and a master of french style cooking

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank ccar50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitj2016, Propietario at Le Petit Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Hola ccar50,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Le Petit Jardin here on TripAdvisor. Haha, I think you are the first reviewer ever to put a positive spin on our restaurant being a bit hard to find, thank you for that :)! I am also pleased to hear you had a good experience with your group party and felt you, "were treated like kings" high praise indeed. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Saludos,

Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife & I were taken here by friends who are living in Cuenca. They said: the best food in Cuenca & I agree. There were 6 of us for lunch and all were completely satisfied with the meal, presentation, wine & service. All the food is fresh & the menu usually includes special dishes that the owner/chef prepares. The building is a large, purpose built wooden structure with interesting decoration.
The restaurant is only open weekends & you should call for a reservation. It is on the outskirts of Cuenca & hard to find. Most taxi drivers will not know where it is but Google navigation will get you there.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 52dant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitj2016, Propietario at Le Petit Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Hola 52dant,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Le Petit Jardin here on TripAdvisor. The words "completely satisfied" make me smile and are words any business owner would love to see in a review associated with his business. I am very pleased you had such a good experience with us. And, thank you too for posting the nice photos with your review. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Saludos,

Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

This is wonderful classic French restaurant. Chef Giovanni is a true professional. His dishes are all prepared in the classic manner of delicious French gourmet delicacies. To have this quality and this much professionalism in Cuenca is a blessing to us all. If you have not been you must make it an item to do on your list.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitj2016, Propietario at Le Petit Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago



Hola Phil K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Le Petit Jardin here on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your kind words and for pointing out the "professionalism" you noticed during your visit with us. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Saludos,
Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

There is nothing I don't love about Le Petit Jardin! The food is world class, prepared lovingly, artistically and joyfully by Giovanni and staff, the setting is beyond charming and I enjoy the adventure of just getting there! It is situated just west of town set among the cornfields and little farms and homes - you have to know where you're going the first time, but there are taxi drives who know exactly where it is and how to get there. Getting there is half the fun - and it only takes about 15-20 minutes from the center of town and is incredibly worth it! I always choose it for special occasions or a special romantic dining experience. There's nothing like it! I cannot highly enough recommend Le Petit Jardin!!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sanguinewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitj2016, Gerente at Le Petit Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019


Hola sanguinewanderer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Le Petit Jardin here on TripAdvisor. Your words, "lovingly,
artistically, and joyfully" perfectly expresses the way in which we strive to do everything at Le Petit Jardin. I'm very pleased that those things came through for you during your visits with us. Thank you so much for the kind words and fervent recommendation. We hope to continue to see you often at Le Petit.

Saludos,
Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019

We had the escargot,frogs legs, rack of lamb and lamb ragout. All were very good. Ended the very pleasant experience with creme brûlée and lemon tart which were excellent as well. The service is just the right amount of attention, without feeling hovered over or constantly interrupted. The atmosphere of the country home just adds to the whole feeling of goodness and leaves you wanting to return many times.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank livingthelifenCuenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lepetitj2016, Propietario at Le Petit Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019


Hola livingthelifenCuenca,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Le Petit Jardin here on TripAdvisor. Thank you especially for mentioning the specific dishes you enjoyed, I always appreciate that kind of feedback from our guests. And, I'm very pleased that you found them, "all very good" and that your experience left you, "wanting to return many times." That is always our goal. We hope to see you again soon.

Saludos,
Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Jardin also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Le Petit Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing