We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you just gotta have it”
Review of Sunrise Cafe

Sunrise Cafe
Ranked #17 of 724 Restaurants in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: International
Description: We have both English and Spanish speaking waitstaff. We serve breakfast all day but have an extensive menu with international cuisine. For example, eggs benedict, omelettes, crepes, veggie & fruit juices, healthy smoothies, soup, salads, sandwiches, burgers & fries, fish & chips, Fish/Chicken Tacos, Stir Fries, Pasta and many more options. We also hold special events such as Mongolian Night, BBQ Night, Cuban Night and others.
Restaurant details
Description: We have both English and Spanish speaking waitstaff. We serve breakfast all day but have an extensive menu with international cuisine. For example, eggs benedict, omelettes, crepes, veggie & fruit juices, healthy smoothies, soup, salads, sandwiches, burgers & fries, fish & chips, Fish/Chicken Tacos, Stir Fries, Pasta and many more options. We also hold special events such as Mongolian Night, BBQ Night, Cuban Night and others.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

We live in Cuenca and get a craving for American breakfasts from time to time. Ok, all the time. I love hash browns and onions grilled crisp on the flat top with a fried egg and bacon. They do it up right. We usually buy a couple lbs of bacon to go as this is the best bacon you can get in Cuenca. The team are all friendly and it feels like a neighborhood diner back home. Yes, as others have said, not too many Ecuadorians dine here, but I think they would like it too. Oh yes, agree that the fish and chips are excellent.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CuencaGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 189 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2019

As much as some will shudder at the term 'gringo' that's what this place is all about. I recently visited for my 3rd time and there was not a local to be seen. The reasoning, is most likely the scarcity of North American style breakfasts in the area, and a menu chalk full of dishes that hit a craving. Fresh biscuits, corned beef hash, benedicts. you crave it, they got it. The service is efficient if not warm, and the servings are plentiful. The prices are a bit high for Ecuador but totally worth it if you have got that yearning for back home.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank megoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Sunrise is the best place for an early or late breakfast, a burger or fish n chips. Frank & Orlando will treat you like a member of the family- Frank will remember your name, how you like your tea or coffee or eggs & your favorite meal. Don’t miss it!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank sgcanez2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019 via mobile

A fusion of Ecuadorian and western cuisine. The atmosphere is lively. Staff are quick, efficient and nost of all very friendly. With only a few visits Frank (a real gem) will know your name. Unpretentious dining in the heart of Cuenca.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank JS4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

Ate breakfast here twice during our visit to Cuenca, food was good, service was excellent. Definitely geared towards gringos, most of the staff seemed to speak good English. Large portions and reasonable prices. I would suggest if you have the eggs Benedict to ask to have your English muffin toasted, and specify how you would like your egg (as the default is very over easy). The consensus in our group was that bacon on it was better than the ham... there's not alot of bacon on them but it tastes excellent, you get more ham but it tastes a bit different than what we're accustomed to. The cinnamon buns looked spectacular, but we were all too full to get one. Would certainly go back again!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank BeevaHabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunrise Cafe also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Sunrise Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing