We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old hotel”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

On entering this hotel we were greeted warmly and the service was excellent. We were traveling with a tour group, and I think we might have had one of the nicest rooms (507). Spacious, bright with wall to wall, floor to ceiling windows. Impressive. The bathroom had a full size ceiling window to see the stars at night, I guess. (Might have been nicer over the bed, but still pretty special.) Immediate and plenty of hot water. All staff were courteous, helpful, pleasant. A really nice place to stay that's only a few blocks from the old city center and market. We would definitely return.
Air conditioning is not needed in Cuenca, and we slept with the windows open. My only complaint has nothing to do with the hotel, but rather with a neighboring guard dog who took his job seriously, and a car alarm that seemed to go off more than was possibly necessary. We'd still book this hotel again and ask for the same room!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the hotel facing onto the river. Decline lower level rooms (small windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinasofinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelacionesPublicasEK, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Carolina

Thank you so much for your comments, we are very hapy to hear that you would reserve on our hotel again. Also, we are sorry to hear that a guard dog disturbed you, off course we have took your comment seriously and we went to talk with our neighbord.

We hope to have you here again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    93
    19
    5
    9
See reviews for
62
148
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, IN, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in Hotel Victoria in February 2013. We were so happy with the room and the view from the balcony. We love the colonial look and feel of this beautiful old
hotel with beautiful woodwork and stained glass windows. The staff were attentive to anything that
we needed and always welcoming as we came in or went out. Cuenca is a beautiful city and
Hotel Victoria is located on the Rio Tomebamba. The restaurant, El Jardin, has a very
friendly wait staff, orchids on the tables, and delicious food. When we return to Cuenca we
will look forward to staying at the Hotel Victoria.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with a balcony overlooking the Rio Tomebamba.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at the Victoria hotel for 6 days and it was a great experience. The place is very centrally located, in the old town part of Cuenca, and across from Coffee Tree (a place were lots of foreigners meet, drink and eat). If you want a really fantastic accommodation, book a suite,which has a terrace the size of the bedroom, with a table, umbrella and chairs and it's all overlooking Cuenca and a river at the bottom. Great views!!! The service is very good and the restaurant superb!!! The stay includes daily breakfast, which is served in the restaurant or in your room, and it's tasty and very well presented. Would highly recommend this hotel if you go to Cuenca. I know that we will go back:)

Room Tip: definitely a suite (I think they have 2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelacionesPublicasEK, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Eva

Thank your for you great comments, we will try harder next time to get a 5/5 calification from you, we know that we can always make our best efforts and we will be waiting for you the next time to make you feel like a queen on our suite.

Kind Regards

Hotel Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We happened upon the Hotel Victoria restaurant while searching for a place to eat and relax after visiting a museum. Their lovely dining room overlooks the river and green hills beyond. We were greeted by friendly and professional staff and enjoyed the menu's mix of local and classic menu items. All in all, an excellent experience and very well located.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsripley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a great time at this beautiful hotel in the centre of the city. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food was great and the room was super clean and comfortable. We were very satisfied with our choice and we will definitely go back to Hotel Victoria.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanEli514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelacionesPublicasEK, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kindly review, we hope to see you soon, we will be glad to give you the charming service to detail that make us a top hotel in Cuenca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have to say I go away a lot stayed in many big name hotel chains and this hotel beats them all hands down not Bly is it in a great location but he staff had excellent customer service skills hey went above and beyond they too care of all my needs with a smile and I am not an easy customer. The room was impeccable their housekeeping is very well trained I will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelilcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelacionesPublicasEK, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Angelica

Thank you so much for your review, our staff is well trained to make fell every guest as comfortable as posible. We know that being a small hotel with world class service to detail is a hard work but reviews like the one you encourage us to make our best effort.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

great friendly envorment the staff was very profesional and treated us like family. the hotel it self is very beautiful! the best part is that it is located in the center of the city where there is a lot that can be done. outside and inside the hotel there is a lot of things that can be done. the food was very tasty and good. i recommend this hotel to anyone who is willing to have a beatiful experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cm82232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelacionesPublicasEK, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and your recommendation. Hope to have you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
452 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
0.5 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Calle Larga 6-93 y Presidente Borrero, Cuenca, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cuenca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
#11 Business Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria is a first class hotel located in the ravine of the city of Cuenca, on the River Tomebamba. Its face is a beautiful mixture of bourgeois aristocrat construction brick and marble interior is decorated with typical elements of our culture. Its spacious and brokers allow a peaceful and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing