We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst rice in Cuenca”
Review of Sweet & Sour

Sweet & Sour
Ranked #295 of 724 Restaurants in Cuenca
Cuisines: Ecuadorean
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 19, 2016

I wanted to go somewhere different and happened to see this place. When I went in it was empty and after eating there I have an idea why. The almuerzo was $3, with postre being 50 cents extra. The portions were tiny, almost laughably so. My lunch was cerdo frito with rice and a vegetable mix. I am not exaggerating when I say that my vegetable portion could easily fit on a normal spoon, with room left over. Miniscule. But the real shock was the rice. All over Cuenca the rice is pretty predictable in color, texture, taste, etc. The serving I had was just awful. I don't know any other way to describe it. I'm not much of a chef but even I can make better rice. The pork portion was also quite small - about three small bites. I've had larger portions at other restaurants for $1.75 or $2. So charging $3 seemed a bit off to me. I guess that's the tax for having wi-fi available.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nimno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 6 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2016

This is a great little place right on the main square. We stopped in to have a traditional Ecuadoran lunch and got everything form soup to desert including a large beer and glass of wine for two people for about $8. I would highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank andymartin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2015

There are hundreds of restaurants in Cuenca that advertise almuerzo (lunch) specials. We were not familiar with the routine when we stumbled upon this restaurant.

Each day, there is a set menu, generally it includes a soup, main dish of choice of meat, and a drink for $2.75. The day we went, the soup was chicken with rice. It was the best chicken soup I have had since feasting on my grandmother's version. The broth was rich with fresh chicken flavor and it was not overpowered with rice.

The main we chose was also chicken. A lovely healthy piece of breast was served with rice. It was moist, tender and delicately spiced. You will find dozens of locals eating here, so it may be difficult to find a table immediately. However, almuerzo specials are not meant to linger over. These are meals for workers that need to get back to work, so there is an unspoken expectation you will eat and leave. The table is then open for someone else.

Service is quick and efficient.

I should mention you can order off the menu if you want. The restaurant has many other offerings besides the lunch specials.

The gentleman who I think is the owner speaks excellent English, so if you have questions, direct them to him. He was delightful.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2016
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2015
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet & Sour also viewed

 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Sweet & Sour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing