We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel”
Review of Hotel La Casona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Casona
Ranked #26 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2009

This hotel was a good value at less than $50 (double), is quiet (away from the downtown) and well appointed rooms.

Because this hotel is located across the river from the central district it is nice and quiet . Of course, there still is Ecuadoring honking, car alarms and dogs barking so bring ear plugs if you are sensitive. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but it shutdown at around 10 pm even on a weekend.

The rooms were clean and had decent bedding. The staff didn't speak much English but understood my poor Spanish.

It is a 10 - 15 minute walk to the downtown. Although Ecuador isn't always the safest place, we did feel comfortable walking around in the early evening in Cuenca. It seemed to be a properous area and there weren't any groups of young men hanging around.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoName47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 120 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2009

We stayed at La Casona for 1 night. The folks at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful!

My father is running a home for street children in Mumbai, so the owner - Patricio was actually kind enough to tell us about an orphanage in Cuenca and actually take us there to see it!!!

He and his mom actually spent a lot of time with us in the evening chatting about life in and the history of Cuenca!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambarishmalpani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

After a month in Ecuador we arrived in Cuenca. This hotel was the nicest place we have stayed for the money we paid. The hotel is a restored hacienda, and it is very attractive from the outside. It is in a quiet and safe area close to a shopping mall, and only a few blocks from the old city. We had two rooms, as our adult daughter was with us. The rooms were charming and immaculate, and a reasonable size. Bathrooms were modern with a bathtub and hot water. Wi-fi was available in the rooms. The complimentary breakfast was as good as any we have had. Contrary to what you may have heard, Cuenca is not cold. We slept with the window open and 2 blankets were too much. Staff speak English, and they were the most friendly and accommodating people you could hope to meet. We hated to leave!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tiger12340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

My husband and I went to Cuenca in Ecuador for 4 days and ended up being there for 4 weeks. Unfortunately my husband had an accident and had to be hospitalized for 3 weeks. At the time we were staying at Hotel La Casona which we had already decided was a great place to be. Patricio(manager/owner) and his staff were so charming and helpful in every way. The hotel is in an ideal spot, convenient for walking into town, near a big supermarket and for us very close to Monte Sinai hospital. Even although I was sleeping at the hospital I kept my room at the hotel as it was so reasonably priced and I could take a break to check and write e-mails(internet was free and there were 2 computers available to guests) or have a coffee or meal. There was nothing Patricio wouldn't do to help and I shall be forever grateful to him and his family who treated us like their own. They even invited us to their family/staff Xmas dinner just before we left. We hope to be back there some day. Hotel La Casona is definitely highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank eannmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2008

For the price is a very nice place to stay, we use a 3 beds room with a large accommodation, enough room. The breakfast is included and the food is you order. Is close to downtown and easy to get taxi, also a little mall is close.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Alvaro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

It is a nice hotel close to downtown, but in a quiet residential neighborhood. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. The majority of the guests seemed to be on business. As a single traveler, I felt a little out of place though. Is a great location close to everything. Also I booked a single room and had two beds and a large room and was charged the rate for the single room!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SunandFun63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

La Casona is an average hotel with some pro's and con's. I cannot share the excitement of other visitors. Although it is in a quiet neighborhood, dog barking regularly wakes you up at early morning. The breakfast is the weakest I got so far in Equador and service is awfully slow.
The room is very spacious and a fair deal for the rate. But it is missing essentials such as enough light (2 light bulbs for the large room only) and any heating. Temperatures here can get at night time down to freezing point. So, it is awfullly cold, when you are in your room despite being fully dressed up or using all available blankets in bed. The bathroom is very basic, too. Internet connection works about 50% of the time, which might be caused by the network provider. The place is in general okay and certainly more quiet than the downtown places.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank caribtravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCasonaHotel, manager at Hotel La Casona, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2008

dear friend,

For breakfast, you can ask any extra that you prefer and it will be free of charge.
We do have heaters for the rooms, you only need ask for them on reception.
Unfortunely, on the dates you came the Internet provider was making some maintenance on the town, so the Internet service was not working at full capacity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.9 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#7 of 62 in Cuenca
243 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#14 of 62 in Cuenca
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 62 in Cuenca
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Morenica del Rosario Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#50 of 62 in Cuenca
134 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kuna Hotel
Kuna Hotel
#9 of 62 in Cuenca
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona

Address: Miguel Davila Cord 2124 | Azuay, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#6 Family Hotel in Cuenca
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range: $62 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casona 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most beautiful areas of the city of Cuenca, between the rivers Tomebamba and Yanuncay, is found an old stately house, beautifully restored, which now functions as the Hostaled la Casona. The hotel is located in a secure and tranquil residential zone, very close to historic downtown, and just a few minutes away from museums, theaters and the principal financial and commercial districts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing