We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the finest Italian cuisine in Cuenca”

Salumeria Vecchia Modena
Ranked #36 of 724 Restaurants in Cuenca
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We work as a time in my land, Modena, cradle of pork and fresh pasta We take you to discover the flavors of the authentic time We are located on the second floor of the Hotel Vieja Mansion, in the center of the city
Reviewed January 24, 2019

Massimo's trattoria is in a new neighbourhood, a traditional simplistic eatery where you can see the kitchen and smell the food being prepared, and an outdoor patio. Salumeria Vecchia Modena is now located on Paseo de las Canaris continuing to masterfully create fresh, homemade, classic Italian food with love !

An extensive menu of pizzas, lasagne, pastas, salads, and more.

We started with four different freshly prepared salsas and fresh artesanal bread. Then we enjoyed traditional prosciutto with melon. Our main plates were home-made pasta and gnocchi. Both were “ melt-in-your-mouth” delicate and the pesto sauce, and orange bursting with exquisite flavour. No room for deserts this time.

While not centrally located for visitors to the city, very popular with locals, a visit is highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank global3adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 99 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2019

Wonderful Italian food. Just walking into the restaurant, you get the smell of fresh food being prepared. Nothing special about the atmosphere, but the food was excellent. Big menu with lots of choices; very generous portions. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bridget7477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

Tired of bleak copies of Italian food? This is the cure in Cuenca! Awsome rustic italian dishes with homemade pasta. We are going back soon!

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Mats W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2015

Just found about this place a couple of days ago. Today I just visited and it was a pleasant surprise. At the beginning I was a little hesitant as it is in downtown and normally parking is an issue but we had no issues at all.

About the service, his own owner and his wife, really nice people, server you very nicely. Always with a smile, very polite.

The food, is out of this world. Bruschetas were absolutely fantastic, the rigatoni with salvia was out of this world and so the dessert, the chocolate and cream combination.

A keeper, a new gem in town

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Guz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2015

Best gnocci I have ever had. Quiet relaxed ambience and good service. Excellent food for the price. Homemade sausage You should visit often for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank SumacDoyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salumeria Vecchia Modena also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Salumeria Vecchia Modena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing