We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel very central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Carvallo
Ranked #11 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

i was booked here by a tour company and it is not somewhere i would have choosen myself. On the plus sides it is in a great location, a lovely building, breakfast buffet was fab and all the staff very lovely and helpful. Very secure, comfortable, clean and in a great location. On the negative if you are looking for a hotel with a restaurant/bar/lift this doesnt have one and they seem to have an agreement with a restaurant over the road which is okay but there are better places to eat in Cuenca. Also my room 207 was right beside the speaker which has corridor music but when i asked the staff for it to be turned down they were very accommodating. My room while very comfortable, lacked natural light with the window overlooking corridor area at the back of the hotel. I am not sure how much my tour company paid but looking on booking engines I dont think I would pay what seems to be the going rate for a single room for this hotel. Overall really nice hotel in a great location with a few negatives for me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilJackieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 150 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family stayed here for a week recently and found it a comfortable sanctuary from the bustle of town right outside the door. This old mansion has a homey, welcoming feel with multiple common areas with sofas and chairs to relax in for a change of pace from your room. Everything you could want is right outside the door: restuarants, bars, shopping, services. When we were there women were selling perfectly ripe cherries and strawberries out of wheelbarrows on practically every other street corner. They even have a discount arrangement with a parking garage around the corner. The staff was fantastic, friendly and accomodating to all our needs. Great buffet breakfast, they even cooked us up some trout we had caught at no additional charge.
A couple of drawbacks were the lack ventilation in the rooms, but they provided a fan at our request. WiFi was spotty. A little creaky because of the wood floors, but we slept soundly.

It really made our stay in Cuenca.

Room Tip: Ask for a fan for your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbyrnes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Cuenca is a World heritage City and this hotels decor suits this. It is only a 2 minute walk from the Central square and a short walk to the river. Sightseeing is very easy from this location and the hotel was comfortable, clean and tidy.
Staff were very helpful. There was wifi in the room free of charge. I wished I could have stayed here longer as it was a really delightful place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent our first night in Cuenca here and would have happily stayed for our whole time had they had the availability. A 1920s colonial mansion that has been converted into a welcoming and sumptuous place to stay. Thee rooms are larger with all the amenities you need, including very comfortable beds. Wifi in all the rooms. The staff were attentive and very pleasant - you couldn't really ask for more - especially dealing with my limited Spanish with humour and patience. Most of the rooms are centred around two inner courtyards with paintings and antiques aplenty on display. Right in e heart of the old town with lots of good eating places near by. Potentially one of the best places to stay in the city and very reasonably priced for what you get, which includes a great buffet breakfast, Ecuadorian style.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms look out in to one of the courtyards, but not quite all, so worth checking this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed at the Carvallo as part of a tour package so we didn't choose it - but we wished we had! A lovely hotel very near the main square and all the restaurants. Service was great. I was just beginning to come down with a tummy bug and they were good enough to bring me some camomile tea to our room to help me settle. The waiter at breakfast was particularly attentive and brought me hot chocolate as I didn't fancy coffee. Room was lovely, nice big bed and well furnished. Very pleased with the hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxonBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

we stayed here one night and had Room 308...........a huge bedroom with a huge bed, a small sitting room and a small bathroom. Mini bar TV and wi-fi downstrairs in the lobby. This hotel is owned by the same small chain which owns the Patio Andaluz in Quito. it's an old colonial house tastefully renovated and as you walk back through the building you come upon 4 different courtyards.
Our bed was extremely comfortable and although on the street we used our earplugs. breakfast was fine and it was a short walk to the main square and on our first night we walked easily to a nearby restaurant for dinner which had been booked for us. There is only a breakfast restaurant in the hotel. the hotel also finds itself in the middle of loads of jewellery shops! helpful staff too

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We also stayed in Suite 309. Two beautiful room with all sorts of interesting furniture. It was during the week so were not bothered by noise from across the street. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast may have been basic but the service was great. By the 3rd day the waiter knew what we wanted before we asked. The location is very close to the main old town square.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 62 in Cuenca
461 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 62 in Cuenca
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 62 in Cuenca
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 62 in Cuenca
372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zahir 360
Hotel Zahir 360
#9 of 62 in Cuenca
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Carvallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Carvallo

Address: Gran Colombia 9-52 and Benigno Malo, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range: $65 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boutique Carvallo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CARVALLO, is an antique house of the XIX century, carried of an ancestral history and has been carefully restored to offer conformity and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Boutique Carvallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carvallo Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing