We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!!!”
Review of Salvia Restaurant - CLOSED

Salvia Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Modern European restaurant bringing British cuisine to life with Ecuadorian produce, modern techniques and classic french training. Head Chef Gavin has over 15 years' experience, most notably running London's St Paul's Cathedral.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

A classy typical English cottage restaurant right in the heart of Cuenca was not only a surprise but an utter delight. The food was exquisite and the presentation superb. The chef and his wife came here from England and set up the most fantastic sanctuary of culinary and atmospheric experiences! Some of the best food I have eaten here in Cuenca. NOT to be missed for a special meal. They also have High Tea (by reservation only) several days a week and a classic Roast Beef and Yorkshire pudding dinner on Sundays. What a great find!!!!

Thank sanguinewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Q, Owner at Salvia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We're so glad that you enjoyed our style of food and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 169 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great food, terrific, friendly service, nice wine and bargain pricing. What else can I say that hasn't been mentioned by these other reviewers? Simply put, all the raves are accurate, and if you are in Cuenca and don't dine here, you are making a mistake.

Thank Trvlinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Q, Owner at Salvia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure having you both here and I look forward to your return (I saw your other Cuenca review and put 2+2 together), and not just for the marmite, brown sauce, etc...! See you again soon, Karen & Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We have had the pleasure of eating here twice. The ambiance does have the distinct vibe of an English country manor. One of the aspects we most enjoyed is that the clientele is a diverse mix of Ecuadorians, tourists and expats. The restaurant uses a wide range of local products: for example, one of our side salads had watercress, arugula, mustard greens and tiny yellow tomatoes in addition to the other ingredients -- the devil is in the details! The Yorkshire pudding in the Sunday brunch, combined with local, fresh-grated horseradish, was outstanding. One suggestion is to add a bloody mary to the Sunday drink offerings (and use the same horseradish!) The lunch specials at $6 Monday to Saturday are a very good value. Thumbs up! Also for very good service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brenlang_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Q, Owner at Salvia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thanks for your kind review, we're really pleased with the diverse mix of clientele we get and are happy that both extranjeros and Ecuadorians congregate here. Noted on the Bloody Mary, although I'm not sure Gavin would give up any of his prized horseradish! :) We look forward to seeing you again soon, and appreciate the time and effort you've spent on reviewing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Salvia is food that is as wonderful as its namesake. Everything about this place is perfect, a trip to Cuenca is not complete without a meal here. The atmosphere, the cuisine, the service everything is amazing. Karen is wonderfully kind and the Gin and Tonics are amazing! This was the best meal of my life, above anything I've eaten from Istanbul to DC!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Q, Owner at Salvia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for a) trying our restaurant, I know you were only in town for a day, and b) for bringing your grandparents who I know were a little sceptical about our 'new' food! I'm so glad you all enjoyed it and hope very much to see you when you're next in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

From the moment you enter the gate, you expereince the ambiance of an English country manor..it's a very special, welcoming feeling made even more so once you walk into the restaurant. There is a cozy bar with a proper clubby feel and several dining areas. The main room has a warm, intimate feel about it. The attention to detail, from the monthly menus and creative preparations and careful presentations indicate a level of skill in the kitchen that is not extremely common in Cuenca, although in all fairness it is on the rise. Service is warm and attentive. The steak and ale pie was spectacular, with velvety, fat studded (rare in these parts) pieces of beef, slow braised and covered with puff pastry..rich and satisfying on a cool evening. Highly recommended as well were the house made pate, the arancini, the puree of green pea with mint soup and the well-dressed perfectly cooked beef -chorizo burger with hand cut fries. House infused liquors added yet another unusual touch. Haven't tried the high tea yet, but it's on our list. The pricing is really quite surprising, well affordable given the quality and care. Can't wait to see what July's menu will bring.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Millegrazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen Q, Owner at Salvia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thanks for your review, we agree; the standard is rising in Cuenca and we're glad to be here for it (not just as restauranteurs but also as keen eaters!!) It's been a pleasure having you both here and for your feedback on the food and home-brews. I'm still searching for that Abuelo Rum! Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvia Restaurant also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing