We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting Uzhupud!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Uzhupud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Uzhupud
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enchanting Uzhupud!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had learned of Uzhupud while still living in the US, and now living nearby in Cuenca, decided to go there for our anniversary. Our experience was even more special than we imagined. An elegant hacienda from times past, Uzhupud was first-rate in service and amenities. We had a lovely room with private balcony overlooking the grounds and an amazing view of the mountains across the valley. Whether enjoying a glass of champagne out on the terrace, walking the path around the ponds and horse pasture, or taking a hot tub, we were surrounded by beautiful flowers, architecture, and antiques. Breakfast and dinner were delicious, and all the staff, without exception, were friendly and attentive. Loved sitting by the fire each night. We were impressed that, even off-season, service was excellent. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RoznKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raúl J, Director de Recepción at Hacienda Uzhupud, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Uzhupud with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your experience were surpassed with our services and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Raul Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    51
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
77
23
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights with my family during the Carnival festivities. We drove from Guayaquil, where I live, and the roads in Ecuador nowadays are outstanding, so we had a pleasant trip.

I had been in Uzhupud at least 10 years ago, and the place was a disaster. I'm glad and fond to say, that today is a BEAUTIFUL boutique hacienda hotel. Ran by people who is proud to serve and cater to the most small detail, the GM and all his staff where everyday with a genuine smile and you could see the joy the have to work here, all my kids ages 10, 8 and 3 even call the GM Uncle....because he was so genuinely nice, especially with my daughter (7) and the youngest (3) who kept getting in his office to chat with him all the time...!

The rooms are big, well appointed, good bedding, and beautiful bathrooms. On Sunday we attended to Mass on the premises (I'm Roman Catholic), they have a small Chapel, where a Priest from Cuenca gives Mass on Sundays, they have activities for kids, a small farm, heated pool and a Jacuzzi, horse riding, and also a Small but well equipped Convention Center, for business meetings.

The only thing I would suggest is to have a bit more of variety on the buffet breakfast, other than that, this place is great to relax and enjoy, genuine Ecuadorian hospitality and cuisine at its best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main building where the front desk is located, so you won't have to walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raúl J, Director de Recepción at Hacienda Uzhupud, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Uzhupud with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your experience were surpassed with our services.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Raul Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed here a few weeks ago. We absolutely loved the scenery of the grounds, buildings, and local area. The service was impeccable, and breakfast was delicious each day. We were especially impressed with the abundance of flowers throughout the facility, both in the gardens outside and in the vases all around the grounds. The staff was helpful with transportation (which was a free transfer from Cuenca), helpful with taxis, with laundry, and even with mosquito spray each day for the room (although we never saw even one mosquito while we were there). We definitely recommend this place to anyone that wants a beautiful environment to relax in. Or if you like, swim, play ping pong, volleyball, take a walk, ride the horses, or take a boat ride. This was by far the nicest place we stayed while in Ecuador.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YorkHavenDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raúl J, Director de Recepción at Hacienda Uzhupud, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Uzhupud with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your experience were surpassed with all our services

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Raul Jimenez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our family spent a few days at Hacienda Uzhupud at the end of December. The property is very beautiful, with a great pool and grounds. The rooms were spacious, clean and well-appointed. We had adjoining rooms with our kids - which worked out great. Both rooms were quite large, and the kids' room had a great view over a beautiful garden.

The food was really excellent. The breakfast buffet was fresh and had a good variety of options for every taste (including hot chocolate for the kids). The restaurant is very attractive, and has a variety of excellent choices.

Finally, the staff are outstanding - friendly and willing to help.

We would love to return on our next trip to the region.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Silvy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raúl J, Director de Recepción at Hacienda Uzhupud, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Sylvi20:

We are happy to have been able to enjoy and learn Uzhupud. We invite you to their next vacation come back with your family and friends.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

They have a beautiful hacienda ! We went a group of 10 including kids, they have a great time on the pool which is warm, riding horses (include in the price ) taking rides on the pond and watching bunnies guinea pigs little chickens etc .
It was New Year's Eve party with dinner, fireworks, music , grapes ! Everything you need to have a great one !
Highly recommend for family

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nadiaozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raúl J, Director de Recepción at Hacienda Uzhupud, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest:

We are happy to have been able to know Uzhupud Hacienda. We invite you to on your next vacation to visit us again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
157 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I've been there 3 times in the past 2 months and I have to say their food is amazing. Every time I had the empanadas, yaguana and agua de fresco. Always fresh. Fish and onion soup are excellent, plus the figes and cheese dessert.

The place is amazing, they have fun kids games and the pool is always clean. Staff is friendly.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raúl J, Director de Recepción at Hacienda Uzhupud, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest:

We are happy to have been able to know Uzhupud Hacienda. We invite you to on your next vacation to visit us again.

Best Regards

Raul Jimenez
Gerente de Habitaciones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our family was there and had a great stay! We were upgraded to a premium room (303) with great view, very quiet, withe terrace, beautifully equipped... Definitely recommended. The attention from all staff: excellent. The location, surroundings, the activities offered, the facilities, all excellent for families with kids or adults only. We traveled a lot in the villages and towns around, Cuenca city, as well as enjoyed the Hacienda facilities.
The only thing I would not put excellent is about breakfast: you know how important that is when you are on a vacation :) Poor fruit selection (the same three every day) and not much variety for the rest. But that´s all which is doable.. so we would go back again, happy to be there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiana_Sus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raúl J, Director de Recepción at Hacienda Uzhupud, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest:

We are happy to have been able to know Uzhupud Hacienda. We invite you to on your next vacation to visit us again.

Thank you very much for recommending us to your friends

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
18.7 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hosteria Duran
Hosteria Duran
#25 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
17.2 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
16.6 mi away
Kuna Hotel
Kuna Hotel
#8 of 60 in Cuenca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Uzhupud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Uzhupud

Property: Hacienda Uzhupud
Address: Km 32 Via a Paute, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cuenca
#9 Family Hotel in Cuenca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Uzhupud 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosteria Uzhupud is a country resort in an old Ecuadorian Hacienda, located in the Paute Area in the province of Azuay, Ecuador, in one of the ancient Canari culture settlements on the totemic Paute River Valley. We are only 35 five minutes form Cuenca. Our main retaurant "Dona Eulalia" invites you to a real gastronomic experience with exquisite Ecuadorian food of traditional recipes. Besides in our 30 acres property you can go horse back riding, practice tennis, mountain bike riding, bird watching, and also pamper yourself with relaxing massages in our SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hacienda Uzhupud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Uzhupud Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing