We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, quiet and beautiful boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Elegant, quiet and beautiful boutique hotel”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

GI had a great stay, they have a great staff, and above all great food.
I strongly recommend trying Casa Alonso Restaurant. Good menu and very well priced.
Also the breakfast was oustanding for room service!
Patio is very nice and the wine bar is very classy!

Room Tip: I had a room downstairs. Rooms upstairs are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosnoboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    55
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
46
175
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Mansion Alcazar , a very romantic hotel feeling like in honeymoon even after years of marriage . So much effort in all the details : candlelights in the night , petal of roses in the bathroom even in the wc , flowers everywhere . So well decorated ! The food excellent . Lush garden and peaceful . The warmwater bottle before go to sleep was the must ! Cuenca is a beautiful city and stay in a such lovely hotel it made our stay fabulous . Barbara

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara-van-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

atmospheric old building with very charming inner courtyard.
Nice sized rooms but the bathrooms are a bit dinky.
the beds are comfy, and the furnishings suit the property
good breakfasts but slow service if the hotel is full ( at weekends )

Room Tip: choose an upper floor room, so you won't have to listen to anybody crashing about upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_broadabroadVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelacionesPublicasEK, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kindly review.

Our rooms were designed to make you fell in an old republican house right in the downtown of Cuenca, we would like to invite you again to enjoy the Mansion Alcazar´s experience, you can choose one of our garden suites were you wil have a nice and quiet night.
We will consider your recommendation about the service time in order to make fell our guest as unique kings and queens.

Kind Regads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We (two adults and 4 kids) stayed in three rooms for four days over Christmas 2012. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel is beautiful, accommodations are excellent, staff are attentive and courteous, and although expensive it seemed all very worth while. The breakfast buffet is somewhat limited but quality was excellent as was our Christmas dinner. Wonderful coffee! The hotel is convenient in terms of getting to and from the local places of interest. There are no fitness facilities but with the altitude, no one was in the mood anyway.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a room with a window to the outside. Some rooms have windows but these face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a pricey boutique hotel but extremely well-appointed right down to hot water bottles tucked into king size bed at evening turn-down. Spacious romm with really attractive fixtures. But what makes the hotel special is the extensive garden, water features, birds, etc. Breakfast also exceptional.

Room Tip: Garden room especially quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woggles67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Alcazar Hotel. The place is absolutely beautiful with unique furnishings throughout. I stayed in room 303 which was lovely, spacious and very clean. The room had a view of the gardens which had a fountain and sitting area. Breakfast was good with many choices of fruits, breads, cereals, etc. I was also offered a hot plate option as well, which included scrambled eggs, ham and bacon. The dinner I had was fantastic. The small dining room added to the charm of the experience. The entire staff was friendly and very helpful to me in suggesting daytime activities during my stay. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: garden suites room was located down a short path connected to the hotel and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorikAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I am visiting my family in Ecuador because I am from London, England. My beautiful wife took me for lunch here yesterday, amazing food, great service, beautiful garden fresh flowers, hummingbirds all over, quiet place to rest and enjoy a lovely date.
I will be coming back to have lunch here before we leave town. We highly recommend this place to all Cuenca visitors and locals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
1.7 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel

Property: Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Address: Simon Bolivar 12-55 y Tarqui, Cuenca EQ010104, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
#1 Spa Hotel in Cuenca
#2 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cuenca
#7 Family Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a quick walk from the famous square of Parque Calderon. Mansión Alcázar Boutique Hotel is located in a very vibrant area of the city, nearby well known museums and churches. This republic style architectural adds the perfect element of elegance to this already refined structure. Guests of this Ecuador hotel can have a refreshing cocktail or glass of champagne out in the jasmine garden and enjoy the fantastic surroundings of our Hotel. Relaxing indoors is also an option, by the baby grand piano sipping a warm cup of tea. This hotel knows just how to pamper their guests. Declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, the city of Cuenca has everything you could want from it - beauty, nature, and a vibrant life. And when you are not exploring the area, you may want to sit and have a delicious meal at our restaurant Casa Alonso which serves international and local favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Alcazar Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing