We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We (two adults and 4 kids) stayed in three rooms for four days over Christmas 2012. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel is beautiful, accommodations are excellent, staff are attentive and courteous, and although expensive it seemed all very worth while. The breakfast buffet is somewhat limited but quality was excellent as was our Christmas dinner. Wonderful coffee! The hotel is convenient in terms of getting to and from the local places of interest. There are no fitness facilities but with the altitude, no one was in the mood anyway.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a room with a window to the outside. Some rooms have windows but these face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    51
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
42
155
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a pricey boutique hotel but extremely well-appointed right down to hot water bottles tucked into king size bed at evening turn-down. Spacious romm with really attractive fixtures. But what makes the hotel special is the extensive garden, water features, birds, etc. Breakfast also exceptional.

Room Tip: Garden room especially quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woggles67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Mansion Alcazar is located in an old family home, about 150 years old, that's absolutely gorgeous. The entire property, from the elegant lobby, to the huge and elegant sitting area at the center of the main building, to the gardens at the rear, is perfectly maintained, large, and beautiful. The staff are as friendly and helpful as they can be. The restaurant, Cafe Alonso, is excellent too; very polished cuisine without pretense. I enjoyed a Thanksgiving dinner there, in a glass gazebo dining room that overlooks the gardens, and it was excellent. All rooms include a full breakfast that is served in your room.

I stayed in the Cielo Suite (#207) and it's simply beautiful, with a large sitting room, an ample bedroom, and a nice bathroom. There was a white cotton robe covered with rose petals waiting on the (very comfortable) bed when I arrived. Mansion Alcazar offers a lot of these fine touches with their service. I spent only four nights, and I wish I had stayed longer.

A word about the noise that bothered another visitor: This hotel is located in a very large, old mansion that was built long before soundproofing - while it was still a private home and long before it became a hotel. Sound does indeed carry throughout the main building of the property, much like in many European hotels that were built long ago. I always take light foam earplugs for such situations.

Overall, I would rate this hotel as excellent in every respect. I can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: The Cielo Suite #207 is wonderful!! Rooms that look OK to me: #201, #202, and #206. Rooms that look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaisaContento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Alcazar Hotel. The place is absolutely beautiful with unique furnishings throughout. I stayed in room 303 which was lovely, spacious and very clean. The room had a view of the gardens which had a fountain and sitting area. Breakfast was good with many choices of fruits, breads, cereals, etc. I was also offered a hot plate option as well, which included scrambled eggs, ham and bacon. The dinner I had was fantastic. The small dining room added to the charm of the experience. The entire staff was friendly and very helpful to me in suggesting daytime activities during my stay. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: garden suites room was located down a short path connected to the hotel and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorikAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I am visiting my family in Ecuador because I am from London, England. My beautiful wife took me for lunch here yesterday, amazing food, great service, beautiful garden fresh flowers, hummingbirds all over, quiet place to rest and enjoy a lovely date.
I will be coming back to have lunch here before we leave town. We highly recommend this place to all Cuenca visitors and locals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I simply love this beautiful boutique hotel in Cuenca!

I will come back for sure as the staff are so attentive to every detail and they are such friendly and kind people who know what they are doing!

I love the feeling of this beautiful place which is in the best location and yet you feel miles away once you enter the front door.

The gardens are so lovely as are the many different style rooms.

The service is top rated and I never wanted for anything!

Juan Carlos is there every minute to make sure your stay is memorable!

The front desk staff are amazing including Sandra, and Maritza to name just a few of these fantastic people!!

And the food and service in their restaurant is the finest in the city for breakfast lunch or dinner.

I loved everything about this special gem created with elegance and beauty everywhere you look.

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with me I will be back as soon as I am able.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the Mansion that are absolutely exquisite. Some a large and others very small so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magictravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I start by repeating the things said by recent reviewers: very attentive service; beautiful colonial mansion turned boutique hotel; charming courtyard with soothing fountain decorated with lovely floral arrangements; and a garden with fuschia plants and hummingbirds! This home is elegantly decorated with carved wooden statues from San Antonio de Ibarra in the Otavalo area of Ecuador. Even with all of the above the feel of this hotel is that of easy elegance and relaxation. In short, we loved it and highly recommend staying here. It is deserving of its current status of number 1 hotel in Cuenca!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1nnocentsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 57 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 57 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 57 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia
Hotel Santa Lucia
#8 of 57 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 57 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 57 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel

Property: Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Address: Simon Bolivar 12-55 y Tarqui, Cuenca EQ010104, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
#1 Spa Hotel in Cuenca
#2 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cuenca
#7 Family Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a quick walk from the famous square of Parque Calderon. Mansión Alcázar Boutique Hotel is located in a very vibrant area of the city, nearby well known museums and churches. This republic style architectural adds the perfect element of elegance to this already refined structure. Guests of this Ecuador hotel can have a refreshing cocktail or glass of champagne out in the jasmine garden and enjoy the fantastic surroundings of our Hotel. Relaxing indoors is also an option, by the baby grand piano sipping a warm cup of tea. This hotel knows just how to pamper their guests. Declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, the city of Cuenca has everything you could want from it - beauty, nature, and a vibrant life. And when you are not exploring the area, you may want to sit and have a delicious meal at our restaurant Casa Alonso which serves international and local favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Alcazar Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing