We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We (two adults and 4 kids) stayed in three rooms for four days over Christmas 2012. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel is beautiful, accommodations are excellent, staff are attentive and courteous, and although expensive it seemed all very worth while. The breakfast buffet is somewhat limited but quality was excellent as was our Christmas dinner. Wonderful coffee! The hotel is convenient in terms of getting to and from the local places of interest. There are no fitness facilities but with the altitude, no one was in the mood anyway.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a room with a window to the outside. Some rooms have windows but these face the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 348 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a pricey boutique hotel but extremely well-appointed right down to hot water bottles tucked into king size bed at evening turn-down. Spacious romm with really attractive fixtures. But what makes the hotel special is the extensive garden, water features, birds, etc. Breakfast also exceptional.

Room Tip: Garden room especially quiet
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woggles67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Alcazar Hotel. The place is absolutely beautiful with unique furnishings throughout. I stayed in room 303 which was lovely, spacious and very clean. The room had a view of the gardens which had a fountain and sitting area. Breakfast was good with many choices of fruits, breads, cereals, etc. I was also offered a hot plate option as well, which included scrambled eggs, ham and bacon. The dinner I had was fantastic. The small dining room added to the charm of the experience. The entire staff was friendly and very helpful to me in suggesting daytime activities during my stay. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: garden suites room was located down a short path connected to the hotel and very quiet
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorikAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I am visiting my family in Ecuador because I am from London, England. My beautiful wife took me for lunch here yesterday, amazing food, great service, beautiful garden fresh flowers, hummingbirds all over, quiet place to rest and enjoy a lovely date.
I will be coming back to have lunch here before we leave town. We highly recommend this place to all Cuenca visitors and locals.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddieCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I simply love this beautiful boutique hotel in Cuenca!

I will come back for sure as the staff are so attentive to every detail and they are such friendly and kind people who know what they are doing!

I love the feeling of this beautiful place which is in the best location and yet you feel miles away once you enter the front door.

The gardens are so lovely as are the many different style rooms.

The service is top rated and I never wanted for anything!

Juan Carlos is there every minute to make sure your stay is memorable!

The front desk staff are amazing including Sandra, and Maritza to name just a few of these fantastic people!!

And the food and service in their restaurant is the finest in the city for breakfast lunch or dinner.

I loved everything about this special gem created with elegance and beauty everywhere you look.

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with me I will be back as soon as I am able.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the Mansion that are absolutely exquisite. Some a large and others very small so...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magictravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I start by repeating the things said by recent reviewers: very attentive service; beautiful colonial mansion turned boutique hotel; charming courtyard with soothing fountain decorated with lovely floral arrangements; and a garden with fuschia plants and hummingbirds! This home is elegantly decorated with carved wooden statues from San Antonio de Ibarra in the Otavalo area of Ecuador. Even with all of the above the feel of this hotel is that of easy elegance and relaxation. In short, we loved it and highly recommend staying here. It is deserving of its current status of number 1 hotel in Cuenca!

Stayed: September 2012
Thank 1nnocentsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

One of, if not the best boutique hotels in all of Ecuador. This hotel completes the Colonial Charm that is Cuenca. Great location and awesome service. I am so glad we stayed here. Only wish it could have been for longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
453 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel

Address: Simon Bolivar 12-55 y Tarqui, Cuenca EQ010104, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cuenca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cuenca
#2 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#7 Family Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range: $202 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a quick walk from the famous square of Parque Calderon. Mansión Alcázar Boutique Hotel is located in a very vibrant area of the city, nearby well known museums and churches. This republic style architectural adds the perfect element of elegance to this already refined structure. Guests of this Ecuador hotel can have a refreshing cocktail or glass of champagne out in the jasmine garden and enjoy the fantastic surroundings of our Hotel. Relaxing indoors is also an option, by the baby grand piano sipping a warm cup of tea. This hotel knows just how to pamper their guests. Declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, the city of Cuenca has everything you could want from it - beauty, nature, and a vibrant life. And when you are not exploring the area, you may want to sit and have a delicious meal at our restaurant Casa Alonso which serves international and local favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Alcazar Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing