We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ambiance & Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ambiance & Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

One of, if not the best boutique hotels in all of Ecuador. This hotel completes the Colonial Charm that is Cuenca. Great location and awesome service. I am so glad we stayed here. Only wish it could have been for longer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bpmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    51
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
43
155
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Mansion Alcazar is literally a haven in the hustle and bustle of Cuenca. Once you step inside the doors (you must be buzzed in, for extra security) you are met by a peaceful, beautiful sitting area, complete with fountain, very comfy chairs and complementary tea or coffee. The entire building is elegantly appointed, the rooms are cozy, and the breakfasts are delicious! It is very conveniently located in old town, within walking distance of the markets and cathedrals. The staff were so helpful and polite, and we felt very safe during our stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during our recent honeymoon and we found it more than met our expectations. The hotel has a relaxed colonial feel to it and the staff are both efficient and friendly. The gardens are delightful and the barman is something of a character!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mal31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
343 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Mansion Alcazar is a charming property. Each room has been specially designed and accessorized with antiques and art. The staff is top notch, very thoughtful. And the restaurant is extremely good. Mansion Alcazar will cost more than other hotels in Cuneca, but it is worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Mansion Alcazar is a historic mansion converted to a boutique hotel. It is one of the most spectacular boutique hotels in the world. We have stayed here on two occasions for a week at a time, when the prices were still quite inexpensive ($95 a night for two persons). Since the prices have gone up, we still visit the hotel every time we visit Cuenca, for drinks and dinner because of the spectacular old world atmosphere and personal service.
You will be greeted at check-in with complimentary champagne by Manuel. Manuel will be your personal butler. He also tends bar and makes high tea in a special area in the courtyard. He is a national treasure.
Everything about this place is up scale. The world class restaurant offers a different menu every day. Every room is different and authentic to the period. The common rooms and gardens are awe inspiring. This is truly an incredible hotel for those who can still afford it. This is not a large modern cookie cutter hotel. If you are looking for a family resort hotel, this place not for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three times and fall in love with it more each time. As one who has traveled the world I have stayed in a full range of hotels...from Timbuktu to Moscow to Sydney etc. Mansion Alcazar has the most charm, comfort, convenience and beauty of all. The staff is beyond helpful. It is my favorite hotel in all the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rneuheisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstudioKuno, Public Relations Manager at Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear RNeuheisel

We´re glad to hear that Mansion Alcazar is favorite Hotel in the world, our guest reviews are a great motivation to keep working for you, to offer the best experience in Cuenca.
Kind Regards
We wil be waiting for you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southold, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Wonderful staff, incredible building, excellent food, fantastic rooms. I can't say enough about this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstudioKuno, Public Relations Manager at Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Sarah

Thank you so much for your comments, our staff is well trained to make you feel the best experience during your staying, every room of Mansion Alcazar is like a history of the house, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room.

Hope you have again soon

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 57 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 57 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 57 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Lucia
Hotel Santa Lucia
#8 of 57 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 57 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 57 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel

Property: Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Address: Simon Bolivar 12-55 y Tarqui, Cuenca EQ010104, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cuenca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cuenca
#2 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#7 Family Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a quick walk from the famous square of Parque Calderon. Mansión Alcázar Boutique Hotel is located in a very vibrant area of the city, nearby well known museums and churches. This republic style architectural adds the perfect element of elegance to this already refined structure. Guests of this Ecuador hotel can have a refreshing cocktail or glass of champagne out in the jasmine garden and enjoy the fantastic surroundings of our Hotel. Relaxing indoors is also an option, by the baby grand piano sipping a warm cup of tea. This hotel knows just how to pamper their guests. Declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, the city of Cuenca has everything you could want from it - beauty, nature, and a vibrant life. And when you are not exploring the area, you may want to sit and have a delicious meal at our restaurant Casa Alonso which serves international and local favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Alcazar Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing