We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ECELLENT SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“ECELLENT SERVICE”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

stayed one night at the Hotel. Outstanding service, nice rooms, excellent food !
A real boutique Hotel ... very recomendable

Room Tip: probably the best boutique Hotel in Cuenca
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthias T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstudioKuno, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Matthias T. it´s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Mansión Alcázar, we hope to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    55
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
46
176
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is a beautiful boutique hotel, lovely is an 1800 build house that is a pleasure to spend the night, the service and the charm of the people that work there is amazing!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaboSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstudioKuno, Public Relations Manager at Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Mr. Sanders

Thank you so much for your comments, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our republican architecture Boutique Hotel, our staff is always here to make you feel unique in the best charming and lovely place.
We hope you go back to Cuenca again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I really wanted to stay in an old colonial house in Cuenca, in Mansion Alcazar is a real JEWEL,

everything is just perfect, good taste, very nice garden, excellent atmosphere, very cosy bar, beautiful lights in all open space

it is very nicely located, walking distance from all nice places and restaurants in town

their staff is very nice and smiling !

dont forget to ask for the special bill to get refund on the 12% IVA ( you have to fill in some forms at the airport in Guayaquil or Quito )

Room Tip: most of the rooms are on the patio inside, room 104 is in front of the dining room but has windows o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paris16traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstudioKuno, Public Relations Manager at Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, we are sure that you enjoyed every litle momment in our Boutique Hotel, since we care about small details that make every guest feel in the most charming place in Cuenca, your room tip it´s very useful to let other guest know wich room will have the best experience for them, be sure that all of our rooms has a lot of details that will make every guest feel a unique experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hotel is a converted home that once belonged to someone very important. The Mansion Alcazar is the name of the hotel. When we arrived our room was filled with rose petals. Our canapé bed had two robes laid on the bed with red rose petals sprinkled over both the bed and the robes. The bathroom had rose petals on the floor and in the bath. The room was fresh and the scent of roses filled the air. We had enough room for all of our luggage (and everything else we purchased) with more than an ample table and a comfortable chair for me sit and write. The lobby was just off the entry and served its purpose. What takes your breath away is the indoor patio room that has been converted into a lobby area. It is beautiful with a fountain in the center surrounded by four conversation nocks. In the back is a beautiful garden well tended and abundant with birds. The hotel features a gourmet dining room that has been rated second in the city. I enjoyed both restaurants and my vote would place the Mansion Alcazar at the top. The staff was very attentive and courteous. My only area of concern related to the music played in the back garden. We had requested a room with a view of the garden and were assigned room # 104. The room was wonderful except for the music. The music played from late afternoon until around 7:00 pm and it seemed to play the same songs over and over again. Would I return to this hotel? For sure and I would even ask for the same room. I just might bring a CD with some other songs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

My daugher (18) and I (her mother 50) stayed at this hotel for three nights on a trip to South America. We loved this hotel, the personnel was very friendly and helpful; the food in the hotel was great; the rooms very clean and location within walking distance of downtown Cuenca.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uberaba, MG
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Mansion Alcázar was one of the best lodging surprises I've ever had. Had a gorgeous suite on the second floor (The Sirena Suite) and an incredibly affordable price (specially if compared to the Plaza Grande Quito).
Service was top-notch. One of the employees, Manuel, was always offering to prepare us drinks and tea. Other staff member always smiling and trying their best.
The restaurant was a understaffed, sometimes we had to wait for a few minutes to have someone show up and serve us. But we felt so at home that it really didn't matter. We could see very few guests at the hotel, and none of them used the common areas upstairs, so we had the library, living room and TV room all for ourselves. We literally walked around just wearing socks as if we were at home and we felt at home.
If only I could live at Mansion Alcazar... the only thing I would do is refurbish the bathroom! lol

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodrigoHueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Charming little boutique hotel with a wonderful staff and great food. The rooms are nice but not spacious and the lighting could be improved. But all in all, a wonderful little place in a great location!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
1.7 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel

Property: Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Address: Simon Bolivar 12-55 y Tarqui, Cuenca EQ010104, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
#1 Spa Hotel in Cuenca
#2 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cuenca
#7 Family Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a quick walk from the famous square of Parque Calderon. Mansión Alcázar Boutique Hotel is located in a very vibrant area of the city, nearby well known museums and churches. This republic style architectural adds the perfect element of elegance to this already refined structure. Guests of this Ecuador hotel can have a refreshing cocktail or glass of champagne out in the jasmine garden and enjoy the fantastic surroundings of our Hotel. Relaxing indoors is also an option, by the baby grand piano sipping a warm cup of tea. This hotel knows just how to pamper their guests. Declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, the city of Cuenca has everything you could want from it - beauty, nature, and a vibrant life. And when you are not exploring the area, you may want to sit and have a delicious meal at our restaurant Casa Alonso which serves international and local favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Alcazar Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing