We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soul healing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cuenca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gaia Sagrada Eco-Lodge & Retreat Center
Ranked #1 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Stanwood, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Soul healing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We arrived at the land and immediately felt embraced by a magic that felt welcoming and special. The landscape and the surrounding mountains create a nest with which to rest one's soul.
Love filled the air as the soul group that gathered easily interacted with one another on a very deep level. The shamans are authentic and warm english-speaking natives and the ceremonial spaces are well thought out and inviting. The hot tub and sauna are a significant added plus. The hearts and souls of the colorful and friendly locals that support the retreat center are amazing, along with the proprietors, Christine and Bruce. As a new, burgeoning hot spot on the Ayahuasca/San Pedro scene, Gaia Sagrada will continue to glow amongst the available sacred medicine venues and continue to provide the objective of healing the souls of people in a very responsible and appealing way. I am thankful for the opportunity to have been there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
22
126
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

When first shown to my room and shown around at Gaia Sagrada I was happily surprised to discover how idyllic the landscaping and facilities were- way better then I even expected! The beauty of this place is truly a reflection of the enchantment of the owners, Christine and Bruce. I participated in the June 12 day spiritual retreat and have come out of it feeling like an entirely new and better me- the HEALING REALLY WORKS! The magic here is, in my opinion, a combination of a few things: #1 receiving healing from genuine, first class shamans, #2 guidance and healing from Christine, oh Christine, ooooooh Christine, #3 an all around tremendously loving environment that Christine has orchestrated for everyone, #4 the connection with other incredible participants, and #5 the people assisting and working there create a lovely and light hearted support system for all. This is a place where everyone can ultimately feel safe and truly loved, which is surely a very important element for a huge undertaking such as this.

I wish I could give everyone I care about the opportunity to be a part of this experience, sincerely. Participating in this retreat was probably the most profoundly healing and helpful things I've ever done for myself in my life. I think anyone who goes through this journey will on some level be forever positively changed- for the better! AND this is definitely an extreeeeemely reasonable rate for what's ultimately included!! I can say with almost 100% certainty that the other 15 people who went through this with me would agree they feel the same! Unbelievable experience!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 222Ariana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

If your are looking for a shamanic retreat this is the place to go. I was supposed to go to Iquitos in Peru but ended up in Gaia Sagrada, which I am very grateful for. A beautiful and peaceful place with comfortable accommodation and facilities. The hosts Christine and Bruce are wonderful people, so kind patient and compassionate. I am very grateful they are doing this for us. I liked that we did San Pedro in addition to Ayahuasca, the two medicines truly complement each other. Wonderful experience. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NilSan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just reading Balish13 review says in perfect words what I would like to express... So I will make it short and say to you, just read what he/she wrote!
I have so much gratitude for the hosts, Christine and Bruce, for doing such an amazing job at Gaia Sagrada. Cristine is an AMAZING spiritual healer.
I saw how transformed and happy people were after the retreat, so I can say, it IS totally worth giving it a try! Whatever happen, you will have a special, lovely holiday!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank member729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguas Calientes, Peru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

One thing that makes Gaia Sagrada such an incredible place is that it's focus is on the quality of your 'entire' experience. The facilities, the rooms, the lodge, the kitchen, the gardens, and even the paths are all very impressive. What's more impressive are your hosts; Christine and Bruce. They are 'extremely' accommodating, clear and pleasant people. The value for your stay, from what I have seen, is unbeatable in terms of retreat prices/# of days. And as accurately described, it is genuinely non-profit.

I've personally observed Gaia Sagrada's ability to offer many types of retreat experiences. If you're looking for something peaceful, quiet, and isolated, you can find it. Alternatively, if you're looking for a challenging, personal, and transformational experience, that opportunity exists here as well, and in many forms. The best part is that neither of these are assumed, but believe me, especially if participating in the Shamanic Retreats, you'll gravitate toward the latter.

I can't recommend this community enough in all of it's grandeur. I participated in the 12-day Shamanic Retreat and had an absolutely wonder-full experience. Like many others, it was diversely transformational, but in the end, what really lasts (and what makes this place so special) are the people, the people who run the retreat, the Shamans, and the future life-long friends that you share sometimes intense and always beautiful experiences with.

Oh, and the scientifically validated natural medicine that not only has extraordinary physical and emotional healing properties, but also a boundless opportunity to explore massive new areas of spirituality and perception... that... that too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Gaia Sagrada will take your breath away and change the way you perceive the world in many ways. It is on a stunning property filled with beauty and grace, it is 3 years into the making so far and is and will be only better in the future. Great food, amazing people and unforgettable experiences! The hosts Christine and Bruce take care of everyone and cater to any of your needs whether it be physical, emotional or spiritual you have no worries at Gaia Sagrada. It is a place to let go of the world and delve within your own heart and find answers to who you truly are! I will definitely be going back one day soon! If you are ready it will call to you, do not let the opportunity pass! Love will wash over you in every moment! The people we shared this journey with were all wonderful beautiful souls I wish them all love, light and laughter for all of their days! Gaia Sagrada is a must for anyone who wishes to journey with sacred medicines in a safe and loving atmosphere!

Room Tip: A double room is nice if you want privacy. My wife and I got a double bed in our room which we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesFyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I highly recommend Gaia Sagrada. A place to experience the sacred medicines and have a deep thought out conversation with your subconscious....Bruce and Christine are the best host...i love those guys!!!.Gaia Sagrada is such a beautiful place.... had lots of fun walking through the property and fell in love with ecuador....goin back in the December ....and bringing some friends along to see it :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
13.1 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
11.2 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
10.8 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hacienda Uzhupud
Hacienda Uzhupud
#27 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
11.1 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Sagrada Eco-Lodge & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Sagrada Eco-Lodge & Retreat Center

Property: Gaia Sagrada Eco-Lodge & Retreat Center
Address: Via Jadan, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Cuenca
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleeps 46. Relax in the real countryside of Ecuador on a mountain where a real Ecuadorian community thrives, enjoy fresh air and quiet, a hike, or sit by the campfire! Just outside of Cuenca, Ecuador, Gaia Sagrada is easily accessed by car, bus or taxi (driver must know where we are). Bring your own food and cook for yourself if you are staying between retreats, or enjoy one of the many retreats we offer. AYAHUASCA RETREATS and SAN PEDRO RETREATS with real Ecuadorian shamans are offered monthly, providing a safe, secure, nurturing environment in which to experience this amazing adventure. Wifi Internet, Clean, modern housing, electricity, 24hr hot water, Sauna, Hot Tub, Hiking, Kitchen to cook for yourself or $15/day for food during retreats even if not participating in retreats, help yourself to the buffet! Yoga room, movie room, games, light a campfire at patio if you like, walk 3/4 mile to little store nearby, gardens, organic farm, fireflies, stars and moonlight! See our Ayahuasca Retreats and San Pedro Retreats with Ecuadorian shamans schedule if you are interested in Ayahuasca Retreats dates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing