We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Friendly Hotel, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Posada del Angel
Ranked #5 of 73 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I am a new resident of Cuenca, and stayed at this hotel 3 weeks, while I searched for a rental apartment. My stay was over the Christmas holidays, and I couldn't have chosen a better place! This is a charming, comfortable hotel. At Christmas, especially festive and welcoming. On December 24th, the Pase del Nino parade passed right in front of this hotel!
The old floors do creak, I didn't mind it. My room was comfortable with a spacious bathroom, and I slept well. There are cozy areas to sit and relax on 2 floors, or use the computer.
A good breakfast is included, and the attached Italian restaurant, Mangiare Bene is excellent for lunch or dinner. In a location convenient to downtown. only 5 blocks walk to the main square at Parque Calderon. All the staff were very helpful to me, and especially Angie and Paul were very kind.

Room Tip: My room was at the back and quiet. Rooms at the front could have street noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstoLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Posada del Angel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 209 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

The family that own this Hostal really make you feel at home, its like staying at a big family gathering.
The rooms were big and spacious, ours had 4 beds, one on an upper level despite the fact that there was only 2 of us.
The breakfast was very good (Certainly by Ecuadorian standards)
The places has a communal feel as it was originally a courtyard which has been roofed over. In the centre is the main dining area, and the reception, and then to the sides on 2 floors are the rooms.
My only criticism is that on the first floor all of the floor is made up of exposed wooden boards, so if someone comes in late, or has to leave very early you know about it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very comfortable, charming hotel with good breakfasts and nice sitting areas in an excellent location with very helpful and hospitable staff. Angie and Paul were particularly helpful in guiding us to the main tourist attractions and for transport to other parts of Ecuador. I can't recommend Hotel Posada del Angel enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was a great little family owned place. Rooms were clean and quiet, despite the wooden floors in the hallways. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was one of the better ones I had in Ecuador. It was a bit pricey by Ecuador standards, so look around first. I just arrived in Cuenca late and night and this was the first place I saw in my guidebook that looked clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jszafraniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Entering the patio of Posada del Angel for the first time is a very pleasant surprise! You enter into a kind of big community house with a lot of comfort and cosiness. The room we had (7) was spacious, with a small balcony to the street from where al lot of traffic noise came. So we closed the windows/doors at night and slept then very well. The breakfasts are generous, wth yoghurt and musli, eggs at your choice, rolls and toast, fruit juice and fresh fruit and coffee and tea at your choice. Tea, coffee and water are free available all day. The staff is very dedicated and helpful by organizing trips and unusual wishes. The posada is combined with an Italian restaurant "Mangiare bene", where you eat very good luches and dinners in an Italian style. also their housewines are good and friendly priced.. So if you look for an accomodation in Cuenca: go to hostal Posada del Angel!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

On our last day in Ecuador, we had to find a hotel at the last minute, and we landed at the Posada del Angel. This was a dream come true! I had tried to book this hotel through the internet, without success, and I was finally going to experience it. I turned out to be as charming as described in the Lonely Planet guide. The decor is interesting, and the old colonial building gives one the feeling that you are far from the city, especially if your room has a window onto the breakfast patio. We dined in their restaurant for the evening meal, and the food was good, although pricier than in other restaurants. The breakfast the next morning was good, and such a delight in the glass covered atrium. Personnel were very helpful, and my overall experience was very positive. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a comfortable hotel experience (the queen beds are a nice surprise) , in a decor that is lively and charming. Most staff speak English, so try booking through this email address: <posadadelangel@hotmail.com>

Room Tip: The rooms that face the inner courtyard will be quiet, although the breakfast service will allow for...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverGreetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for four nights in November and found the staff very friendly and helpful particularly as one of use was ill The staff went out of their way to help us out. Their English language skills were quite good.

The rooms are are comfortable and clean but could be a little noisy if near the courtyard.

Centrally located in the historical area.

The restaurant in the hotel was excellent as was the complimentary breakfast.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Toutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morenica del Rosario Hotel
0.9 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#14 of 60 in Cuenca
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Posada del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Posada del Angel

Address: Bolivar 14-11 | Estevez de Toral, Cuenca, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range: $49 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Posada del Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Posada del Angel is located in Cuenca, Ecuador cultural heritage of humanity, we are located in the historic center in an old house but we totally rebuilt with beautiful rooms in which you will feel at home, also we have 2 large courtyards, spacious reading rooms inside a breakfast in which you can make an amazing breakfast, also have one of the best restaurants in Cuenca visited by local and foreign our specialty is Italian food. Hostal Posada del Angel will be your best option in Cuenca Ecuador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Posada del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Posada Del Angel Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing