We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Posada del Angel
Ranked #6 of 75 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We spent two nights here in late June and were delighted by the location in Cuenca. Very easy to get to the central square and a number of places to eat. The rooms were very spacious and we even had a loft inside our room that we ended up not needing. The bathroom was very small, but was clean and adequate for a short visit.

We loved the common areas around the hostel- especially the breakfast area. Very light and inviting. The breakfast was simple but very quickly prepared and served. Having WiFi was a nice plus and they also have computers for use, but we used our own devices instead. This was by far the cheapest place to have our laundry done on our entire trip. We paid more than twice as much in Banos to have the same amount done.

Wonderful and friendly staff. You won't be disappointed with this hostal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCGatorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 211 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

Speaking no spanish is very challenging but at this hostal there were no problems. The menu was done in both spanish and English. The front desk along with the owners entire family spoke great English even though I believe they are from Argentina.

When I first arrived I wanted to get all my clothing washed since I just spent a week in machalla. Unfortunately I left $75 in one of my pockets. It is reassuring that this place has the an honorable staff. They returned the money to me the same day. I new from that moment that I was in good hands.

The front staff asked me when I arrived if I would like downstairs or upstairs which is quieter. I chose down stairs because I didn't feel like carrying two heavy suitcases up and down stairs even though the staff I am sure would of helped. Anyway the downstairs is a little noisy and to no surprise the noise can be attributed to this on very loud New Yorker, surprise surprise.

My last day I asked for a late check out because I wanted to sleep my entire bus ride to Quito. Since my stay was as perfect as it can get I wasn't surprised of his answer. Stay as long as you like.

This place is definitely first class all the way.

Room Tip: Choose the upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rmk1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Only a 6 block short flat walk back to the central square. Plenty of common space to lounge and relax around what felt like an enclosed inside courtyard. Timber floors squeak but adds to the atmosphere I suppose. With a narrow stairway to carry our bags up to the third floor, it was a small price to pay to be away from the "others". Internet slow on hostal 2 computers but wi fi OK in large common area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BruceSL_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were pleased with this hotel which is about a 6 block walk to the central square of Cuenca.

Our room was small--too small to sit around but they have nice open areas for sitting and reading.

The staff was very friendly.

They also run an Italian restaurant (Italian food seems to be very popular in Ecuador) in the hotel. We were sceptical but tried it and found the food to be very good!

Room Tip: There seem to be 2 choices. You can take a room on the street and hear the traffic or a room openin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tlc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I hadn't made a reservation yet for Cuenca and in another city a couple recommended this hostal. It was also recommended by Lonely Planet so I decided to stay here. Unlike some places, the good ranking in Lonely Planet hasn't gone to its head. The place is still great, reasonably priced and within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veggiejeonju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

A handsome little place with a great restaurant. Full of local information. Warm rooms despite the lack of heating and great staff on the desk. Thanks for arranging my trip to Guayaqil.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

From the good price I really expected to turn up to a bed in a crummy old room, but I was so thrilled to find such a quaint little hostal with such friendly staff and a packed out Italian restaurant with ooze smells you can only salivate from!The room is perfect, free tea and coffee offered down in the restaurant and absolutely love the colourful blue and yellow colour scheme!I can't help but feel I am robbing them at the cheap price I am paying for the fantastic service I am getting!The staff were also very helpful, filling me with leaflets on what to do in the surrounding area and maps of how to work my way back to the hostel safely. They organised a giuded tour to the nearby park which I am looking forward to on Saturday!Looking forward to breakfast and a fullpacked day of sight seeing tomorrow!This should not be called a hostal, but could pass for at least a 3 star hotel any day!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Hanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 62 in Cuenca
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 62 in Cuenca
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Macondo
Hostal Macondo
#18 of 62 in Cuenca
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#13 of 62 in Cuenca
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Ines Maria
Hostal Ines Maria
#1 of 75 in Cuenca
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Posada del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Posada del Angel

Address: Bolivar 14-11 | Estevez de Toral, Cuenca, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range: $49 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Posada del Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Posada del Angel is located in Cuenca, Ecuador cultural heritage of humanity, we are located in the historic center in an old house but we totally rebuilt with beautiful rooms in which you will feel at home, also we have 2 large courtyards, spacious reading rooms inside a breakfast in which you can make an amazing breakfast, also have one of the best restaurants in Cuenca visited by local and foreign our specialty is Italian food. Hostal Posada del Angel will be your best option in Cuenca Ecuador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hostal Posada del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Posada Del Angel Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing