We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Dorado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Dorado Hotel
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

The staff was really nice and it was centrally located. No air conditioning and rooms were kind of stuffy. The treadmill in the gym didn't work (I know, I'm probably the only person who wanted to use it) and fyi, most places are closed on the weekends in Cuenca. We did go to Chordeleg and Gualaceo on a Sunday and there were some pretty awesome open food markets (there were literally whole pigs roasting and cuy as well). The private tourguide the hotel arranged for us was overrated and other than providing transportation, he was not all that useful or fun.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennfromcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    64
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
35
32
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
128 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Great hotel in the heart of centro! We had a Jr.Suite (two rooms) excellent value, great restaurant for a hotel! Breakfast buffet and omelet station are included with the room rate. Free wireless works great throughout the hotel. The staff is excellent. Only negative if you open your windows you will hear street traffic. Over a great value. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank temple1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

Good Hotel, but pay attention when you check out!
I did the check out before to leave the room (as I do normally). Ten minutes later I tried to pickup my staff form the room but I was not able to enter the room anymore.
I went back to the reception and I found my luggage beside the woman at the desk!
In short they picked up all my staff, ad kicked me off from the hotel!
This is something I never faced till now in my life!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

It was perfect especially the restaurant.
Very good quality, niceand quiet room

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurenceHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
172 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

I was booked into this hotel by a garden tour group and while the location is convenient, in the midst of many restaurans and shops, the hotel is horrible. Absolutely no service, sent up to the rooms by ourselves in the dark since lights in the corridors are motion activated and not on until you get under them. No ventilation system in the rooms, only an electric wall heater. The only way to get air in the rooms is to open the windows but then, insects fly in. The television does not carry an English language channel. The elevator is located in a dark, back alley that feels unsafe. The sheer curtains on the window were gray with dirt. The bedroom was almost completely filled with a king size bed so there was barely any room to walk around.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duxburygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

The central situation of this modern hotel within the historic centre of Cuenca makes it ideal for exploring the city on foot.
Rooms are dominated by the excessively large beds creating an unnecesserarily cramped feeling; otherwise satisfactory but without coffee/tea making facilities,
Food was adequate if a little limited in scope,
Not suitable for young children.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hasseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
961 reviews
405 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

First we got a small room overlooking the street. We asked for a larger quiet room, so we got, I think the handicap room in the back and it was great. Short on storage. Nice large TV, clean room, clean linens. The restaurant is pretty good. The service was very attentive. In the center of town. Breakfast was very, very good. Get up early for a very hot shower.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zahir 360
Hotel Zahir 360
#10 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel

Property: El Dorado Hotel
Address: Gran Colombia 7-87 y Luis Cordero, Cuenca 010101, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cuenca
#8 Business Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Dorado Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Dorado Hotel welcomes and invites you to delight yourself with a different concept in hospitality provided by a unique, modern and minimalistic design, thought by executives for executives; count with us to become your best business ally or simply enjoy all of our services during your leisure trip. We are strategically located in the heart of Cuenca´s historic and commercial centre, just one block away from the Cathedral and only 5 minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your El Dorado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing