We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Classy Private Courtyard In The Heart Of Cuenca”
other travelers have booked this property
Dining area and entrance to the charming one-bedroom, named 'Alpaca'.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining area and entrance to the charming one-bedroom, named 'Alpaca'.
Courtyard, garden and stairs to second level.  The Alpaca one-bedroom faces the garden. Bathrooms are elegant and new.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Dining area and entrance to the charming one-bedroom, named 'Alpaca'.
Courtyard, garden and stairs to second level.  The Alpaca one-bedroom faces the garden.
Bathrooms are elegant and new.
Bathroom door and sink
Queen beds are new and comfortable and have side tables and lamps.
The couch is a sofa-bed for an additional guest. Original paintings by Charles Reddington.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Cuenca, Azuay Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
USA-destr...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Classy Private Courtyard In The Heart Of Cuenca”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

If you would like to experience the lively city of Cuenca while maintaining a home base that is classy, comfortable, and clean then Pummamaqui Apartments are for you. The attention to detail in the courtyard design and the great care of design within each apartment to makes this place the best value in the city for 1 or 2 week stays. The ability to select various combinations of interior lighting created a variety of possibilities, from romantic to functional and the kitchens were built with the ability to produce a 3 or 4 course meal for four people. If you are staying anywhere in Cuenca near Centro I suggest you bring ear plugs. The noise did not bother me, but some sensitive travellers who either cannot deal with noise made by other people or have medical sensitivity will need ear plugs. You are close to it all here in this apartment. I seriously doubt you can do better than this place as you are near some of the best food in all of Azuay within Cuenca (eg: Tiesto's) and a short walk to the daily market for fresh seafood (mornings), fruits, and vegetables.

Also, I'd this is your first time in Ecuador and have never traveled in South America before then I highly recommend hiring a private driver, of which Stuart can provide you names. Guillermo can take you from Guayquil to Cuenca (or Guayquil to anywhere), and Angel can take you from Cuenca to Quito or Cuenca to Loja, Cuenca to Guayquil. Both can give you tours and speak English. Just ask Stu after you book.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jelcock19...
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Exceptional Accomodations”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stu and his wife, Patricia, are attentive hosts. Stu responded to our e-mails promptly-- both before and during our stay—and ensured that all of our needs were met. Additionally, Stu met us upon arrival and provided us with an orientation to both the property and Cuenca.

The property is centrally located and within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and Cuenca’s major attractions; Patricia also vends hand-sewn alpaca apparel at the on-site boutique.

Date of stay: March 2016
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JIK2014C
Cocoa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Exceptional stay!”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed at Stuart's place last November when visiting Cuenca for a few days. We booked it based on other reviews and made the best choice! We rented the first floor larger unit. It was perfect for two people and could easily accommodate more people, if needed. We loved the open floor plan of the unit. Living room had a TV with a couch. Bedroom was spacious with a comfortable bed. Kitchen had everything you need to cook your own meals. The unit was located very close to the center of the city. We walked everywhere, even to the large grocery store. Taxis are plentiful as well and cost very little. The best part of it was the owners who are absolutely wonderful. We would love to return to Stuart's place next time we come to Cuenca. It exceeded our expectations!

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, owners, communication, comfort of the unit
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conchitaS...
Lima, Peru
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serene”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at the charming one bedroom garden apartment and wish it could have been a month! Stu, the owner, greeted us with fresh flowers, fruit basket, delicious cheese and fresh baked bread!...wow! What a way to start a vacation! The garden was lovely and the apartment had everything you could possibly need....even umbrellas for those possible rainy days of which we had none!...it is convenient to many wonderful restaurants, shops, food and flower market...we highly recommend and look forward to returning!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No disappointments
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magisterr...
Hammond, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't believe the reviews....but they were true!”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I can't remember a better stay anywhere! I've traveled Europe, Turkey, Canada and the USA and our stay here was unbelievably wonderful! Not only was the place wonderful Stu and his family were beyond any traveler's dreams! Warm, wonderful, and inviting! Great neighborhood with helpful locals up and down the street. Ideal location--in the historic district but removed a bit from the hub bub of the Parque Calderon area. We hope ot end up here again and eventually live in this neighborhood.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Stu, location, garden
Liked least: Can't say there was anything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denargo
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Rental!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This apartment was perfect for our stay. Large kitchen; garden view; TV; Internet; Desk area; Storage; Very clean. The location is perfect to walk to the parks; museums and restaurants.
The host-Stu is a GREAT guy! Very helpful with anything you might need. Thanks Stuart!! See you soon!!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location AND comfort
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake P
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best International Rental ever”
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have lived outside the USA for 25 years. We have rented Vacation apartments in Vienna, Austria, La Spezia, Italy, Naples, Italy,Oradea, Romania, Sofia, Bulgaria and in London. This property in Cuenca, exceeded our every expectation. From the moment of arrival at the Cuenca airport until the moment we flew away, this was by far the best experience we ever had in rental property. Clean, well appointed, great, great, great, location, the view from the balcony was fantastic and only steps away from EVERYTHING.

The utilities worked, all the time. The internet was superb, I could continue to do necessary business from this property. I cannot think of anything that was needed that was not provided.

Thanks to Dano for a fantastic experience. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to any of my friends and family

Jake Popejoy

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, presentation, management
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing