We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for a better way to start the new year!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Quito, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for a better way to start the new year!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We recently traveled to Cuenca with our two young children. While the hotel looks old and fancy, and you'd think kids are not exactly welcome, it was completely the opposite. Everyone had a kind word and a lot of patience with my two charming devils. The rooms were perfect. Especially the triple bed one, with two beds up in a loft. Perfect for our family. The food was divine, the service amazing and overall, everything was impressive. The staff really made us feel welcome, from the moment we got there, when our cab pulled over, they hurried over to get our bags, we weren't even out of the cab yet and our stuff was already in, to the moment we left, when we checked out and waited a couple hours in the lobby for our flight. I really cannot recommend it enough. A perfect way to spend new year's. A luxurious yet comfy hotel that feels almost like home, if I didn't have to do anything at home. One of the few trips with kids where it has really felt like a vacation.
A big shout out to Chris, Jose Maria, Jose, and all the other friendly staff who helped make our stay wonderfully memorable.

I read some reviews saying that it was noisy, and while the floor does creak for it's wood and old, it wasn't. We stayed in two rooms (not a hotel issue, we knew this when we booked) both overlooking the courtyard/restaurant. One in the back, with a window view to a parking lot, completely quiet. The other with a main street view. The last one was a bit noisier, but it was normal, city noise, which you have to expect if you want to stay smack in the middle of the center. Perfect location really. Anyway, nothing to complain about, plus the loft area for the kids more than makes up for any car that may drive by late at night, which is the most noise there was.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear Guest

First of all I hope that 2011 is a year full of blessings for you and your family. We appreciate very much that you took a moment to qualify us, that's the only way that other travelers can know more about us.
We are very pleased that our Hotel has met your expectations and hope that on your next visit to Cuenca accompany us again.

Greetings from Cuenca,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    123
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
88
175
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aruba
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Stayed in Cuenca for a meeting and reserved this hotel through the organisation of the meeting. This hotel is very small (20 rooms), cosy and beautifull. Service is great, as well as food and drinks. Rooms are old, but that is part of the charm. There are beautifull areas in the hotel were you can sit and relax to read a book.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Dear Guest:

Thanks for your feedback, we are very happy that you are satisfied with our hotel. I hope that in your next trip to Cuenca you visit us.

Sincerely,

Cornelio Vintimilla
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
281 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Santa Lucia is a nice hotel with a friendly staff and well suited to comfort the weary traveller. Some of the bedrooms open directly onto the central patio which also serves as the restaurant. These rooms have no outside windows. Santa Lucia is a pleasure to experience. Excellent beds and bed linen, chocolates and hot water for tea delivered to the room in the evening. Our room was at the first floor street side (second floor for North-Americans), very cosy and impeccably clean. We could open the doors of a balcony. During the day rather noisy, nights however were quiet. No coffee making facilities in the room. Breakfast was adequate with fresh fruit and eggs made to order.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment, it makes us feel very proud and happy to have met your expectations. We hope that in your next visit to Cuenca to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Quiet room, asked for prior to visit, as a lot of rooms are built around the Courtyard which is also the Restaurant.
Good sized bedroom with enough clothes hanging space.
Room very clean and good hot shower
Food at Breakfast not bad.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, October 18, 2010
Dear Guest

First of all, appreciate your comment, we are pleased that you had a pleasant stay. We hope that your next visit to Cuenca you stay in this your home in Cuenca.


Best Regards;


Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

The hotel is located in the middle of the city and is very elegant. Service was average and like everywhere we stayed in Ecuador they dont change travellers cheques. We did not eat a main meal here, but had breakfast, which was an average quallity buffet.

The room we stayed in was located on the first floor, quite small with no natual light and exited above a courtyard, where dinner was served, so the room did get some noise from the dining conversations. The room had a safe, fridge and TV and a bath/shower which had a body shower system that didnt work.

Had a lovely meal at a restuarant called Villa Rosa, which was a 10 min. walk from hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Distant_Dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment, has been very helpful to us, from the first of October we accept travelers checks. We await you in this your house in Cuenca.

Cordially;


Cornelio Vintimilla
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This review is for the restaurant that is part of the Hotel Santa Lucia, I must clarify I have never stayed in one of their rooms.
The service was great, the food was good, we had a shrimp ceviche brought to us to the patio restaurant from their closer-to-the-street cafeteria.
I should say that the atmosphere in the patio restaurant is not made for small children, I was worried the entire time that mine were being loud or would brake their formal diningware.
I found their food overpriced for Cuenca standards although the quality is very good.
We were greeted and seated as soon as we arrived and bottled water poured in our glasses as we sat down.
To my surprise, the moment we paid our bill, I noticed that they charged me for the water which I thought was a courtesy of the place like you expect from any good restaurant (gee! even the not so fancy places give you courtesy water!).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XSloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your criticism, has been very helpful to us and we have modified our procedure by offering tap water, be assured that on your next visit will not happen again.

Hopefully in your next trip to Cuenca you will visit us.

Cordially


Cornelio Vintimilla
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2010

The Santa Lucia is a real pleasure to experience. The staff is pleasant. The food is great and there are so many little touches--chocolates and boiling water for tea delivered to each room in the evening, a delicious fruit drink presented to incoming guests when they check in, constant replenishing of all the bathroom freebies--that make the Santa Lucia feel like a much more expensive hotel. Our room was very cosy (the sheets were of such a high thread count that they felt almost like silk) with a great spa shower in the bedroom. One other small luxury--the waiter in the breakfast room presented me with a perfect cappucino every day (without my requesting it) after I asked for one during our first breakfast. All in all, I highly recommend this delightful old haciena-style hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#7 of 60 in Cuenca
231 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia

Property: Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Address: Presidente Borrero 8-44 y Mariscal Sucre, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cuenca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cuenca
#6 Family Hotel in Cuenca
#6 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful colonial hotel located in the center of Cuenca. Just two street blocks from the central park, it has twenty exquisite decorated rooms. Each room is different from each other and they have all the comfort of a modern style room. Inside the hotel there are two restaurants considered two of the best restaurants of the city. The first one is named Bacus Caf., and it serves a modern Ecuadorian cuisine Nouve style. The second one is a Trattoria named Novecento. It is considered the best Trattoria of the whole country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Lucia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing