We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three nights there.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
SATX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Three nights there.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Agree that the hotel's room are overpriced. The hotel is nice but needs maintenance and my bed was small for 2 people. It was a full bed, I had requested a comfortable bed for 2 people but I could not get a Queen size bed.

Room Tip: They need to contact the hotel and request for the facilities they are looking for and if they can n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bvillacis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Santa Lucia Hotel with other travelers. We are really sorry that your expectation were not surpassed during your stay with us . I will immediately verify your comment regarding the maintenance inside the hotel in order to improve it.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    121
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
87
171
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
156 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is a converted townhouse in the old town of Cuenca and well located for site seeing. There is a central courtyard which is now covered by a glass roof and used as the restaurant.
The rooms are large and well appointed and are furnished in the style of the building.
The bedroom was hot at night (unlike most hotels in the hgihlands) and this required the window to be open which led to quite a lot of traffic noise after about 6am. In addition there is a constant chirping from the pedestrian crossing just down the street. This should be avoidable by having a room at the back.
The food was good and the wine selection satisfactory. The bar is noisy with 2 televisions but you can have your drinks in the lounge upstairs or adjoining the restaurant.
The staff were very helpful and the breakfasts were good. The old town is delightful and most of the sights are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Santa Lucia Hotel with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your expectations were surpassed with our buffet breakfast and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

A trip to Cuenca is not complete without a visit to Giovanni and the Trattoria at Santa Lucia! We have heard that the Boutique Hotel is lovely, though we have never stayed there. We do, however always visit the lovely restaurants and lounge.

Before I talk about our favorite- The Tratorria with it's majestic courtyard venue and romantic ambiance- for lunch or for dinner- I must first tell you that the INTI is the first place we discovered here and a fun place to come for a casual meal- a beautiful venue with it's trompe l'oile and rustic feel. The menu is regional with Ecuadorian fare- my husband had a secco de chevre (a goat stew) that was fantastic.

Next the Moshi Moshi is a cocktail lounge on site with a 2 for one Happy Hour Daily (Check about this for weekends. I can't really believe it's true all week)! Any drinks apply and it's a trendy, cute place to come for cocktails.

We first found INTI a few years ago and since then we have discovered and so fallen in love with the Trattoria that we can not come here without visiting it and having a performance by Giovanni, who makes the menu specials come alive with his knowledge and enthusiasm for the food and the wines. When we visit Cuenca we have to visit Giovanni!

The Trattoria is in the central courtyard that is present in all these beautiful Ecuadorian patrimonial properties. The Trttoria is under a glass ceiling, has gorgeous plantings including a huge tree, ambient lighting and heat and a wonderful menu which includes creative Italian and regional selections. We usually end up ordering something from the specials, the gnocchi is delicious, and really, I don't think you can go wrong ordering anything.

We usually don't have room for desert but it is spectacular. Specials and creme brulee are what come to mind off hand.

Nice selection of wines and Giovanni will never steer your wrong if you tell him what you are looking for.

Love this restaurant. It's one of our absolute go to's when in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtnchkbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Santa Lucia Hotel with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your expectations were surpassed with our Restaurant and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days and were impressed by everything. We stayed in a 2 level suite which was very clean and comfortable with beautiful furnishings. The staff at the front desk, waiters, cleaning staff were all very friendly and eager to respond to our requests. The courtyard dining room was beautifully furnished, the food was excellent, and the waiters were very helpful - even preparing food for us that was not on the menu.
The hotel is centrally located in the old section of Cuenca and within walking distance of museums, shops, banks etc. The only negative thing that we encountered was the strong smelling room deodorizer which seemed to be the custom in the old section (we checked Mansion Alcazar which had been our first choice, but not available for the 3 nights of our stay, and it was the same re: room deodorizer). As it turned out, we much preferred the Hotel Santa Lucia, and were happy that that's where we ended up staying. When we pointed out the scent issue to the staff, they immediately brought up a machine to our room to clear the strong scent; this along with keeping the doors to our balcony open, cleared the problem.
Because it's an old hotel without a lot of soundproofing on a busy street, the traffic noise was a bit troublesome by 7:00 am, but we got up early to start our exploring, so it was not an issue. Otherwise, it was very quiet for sleeping. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street side would probably be quieter, but the traffic noise stopped by 11:00pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Santa Lucia Hotel with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your expectations were surpassed with our restaurant and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff. I will immediately verify your comment regarding the smell inside the room in order to improve it.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Santa Lucia while I looked at Cuenca as a viable place to retire. I stayed a total of two nights during my time in this magnificent city.
As a Culinarian and a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America, I know, understand and value quality lodging and food service.
I feel the Hotel Santa Lucia is the finest Hotel in Cuenca for the price paid. I was impressed with the attentiveness from the front desk staff, the restaurant staff and the owner himself who was on property many hours of the day. He was easily approachable and even went out of his way to see that I had an English speaking driver/tour guide so I could see Cuenca without any problems.
I was very pleased with Hotel Santa Lucia and I will stay there again when I return to the city of Cuenca.

Room Tip: Any room away from the street side of the building would be my best advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Santa Lucia Hotel with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your expectations were surpassed with our restaurant service and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Congratulations! Our experience was fantastic, the service from everybody was excellent. I will recommend this to my friends traveling to Cuenca. Traditional, the food is excellent and a great deal to have breakfast included!.
E. del Salto
Ft. Lauderdale, FL

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Santa Lucia Hotel with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your expectations were surpassed with our buffet breakfast and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Another night on out way to Guayaquil. We arrived in the afternoon aiming to spend next morning walking through Cuenca streets and visiting places. We fall in love with hotel at the very first sight - entering it, suddenly you find yourself in a lovely patio, decorated as if it is about to turn twenties of the last sentury. Every corner of the hotel seams to tell a story from the past. Good service in addition (English speaking) - simply great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nik-tik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Santa Lucia Hotel with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your expectations were surpassed with our Italian Restaurant and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 61 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 61 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 61 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 61 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#7 of 61 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia

Property: Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Address: Presidente Borrero 8-44 y Mariscal Sucre, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cuenca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cuenca
#6 Family Hotel in Cuenca
#6 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful colonial hotel located in the center of Cuenca. Just two street blocks from the central park, it has twenty exquisite decorated rooms. Each room is different from each other and they have all the comfort of a modern style room. Inside the hotel there are two restaurants considered two of the best restaurants of the city. The first one is named Bacus Caf., and it serves a modern Ecuadorian cuisine Nouve style. The second one is a Trattoria named Novecento. It is considered the best Trattoria of the whole country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Lucia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing