We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Place and Wonderful Owner”
other travelers have booked this property
Cobblestone courtyard and garden and studio entrances
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cobblestone courtyard and garden and studio entrances
Stairway to the second floor studios Decorative Spanish-style portal in the courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Cobblestone courtyard and garden and studio entrances
Stairway to the second floor studios
Decorative Spanish-style portal in the courtyard
Part of the courtyard and garden
Loft studio ('Vicuña) and its balcony
Queen-sized bed with two side tables and lamps.
The dinette table
Kitchen, fully equipped with recessed lighting
A view of the studio flat from the dining area
Bathrooms are fully tiled, elegant, all new
The studio flat balcony, looking toward the courtyard entrance
From the studio flat  balcony, looking towards the 'Llama" and 'Guanaco' upstairs studios
Detail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cuenca, Azuay Province

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ssf_papea
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Place and Wonderful Owner”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This studio apartment was ideal for my stay in Cuenca. It has all the amenities, charm, and terrific location in the historic center of the city; and is nicely sized as well. The gallery in the front of the house is an added plus. The owner is an exceptionally thoughtful man, especially because i injured myself while in Cuenca, and he checked on me daily to see if there was anything i needed. Stay here - you'll love it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il
Reviewed November 11, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DAG814
Cuenca, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experence!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This small group of studio apartments around an absolutely glorious courtyard was everything you could want - ample space, a full kitchen with everything you need, a wonderful bathroom - a totally comfortable home away from home. And owner Stuart White was extremely gracious - changing out light bulbs because I found some too dim. And ever providing me with a comfortable armchair just for asking. You know you're in the right place when you arrive to find a fresh loaf of French bread, cheese, and biscuits/cookies -- plus a lovely vase full of fresh flowers. Add to that a location in a very quiet section of El Centro within an easy walk to the center or town, to grocery shopping, plus bus and taxi service just steps away. Thanks, Stuart - I thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and beautiful courtyard
Liked least: Stairs without railings
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansnIngr...
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looks amazing on-line, even better in person!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at one of the lofts for 16 nights. The location is perfect and within walking distance to Calle Larga and the downtown core (Parque Calderon). The set up of the building is like a courtyard, and is welcoming from the second you walk in. Stuart has thought of absolutely every single detail for his guests: from a small flash light on the key chain to kitchen gadgets like a cork screw and can opener. Stuart even came with cold medicine when we told him I got sick! He is happy to share information and give suggestions. The immediate impression we got was that it was cozy, extremely clean and well thought out. We are a well traveled couple and I cannot think of a single recommendation I could make to improve the loft. It was perfect, we had friends visit us at the loft and they too were impressed by it all. When we go back, this is the only place we'd consider. It was worth every penny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Everything!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bruce359
Cuenca, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sanctuary in El Centro”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Anyone fortunate enough to stay here will enjoy this part of Cuenca.The area was very clean, well kept, private and safe.
We were centrally located and were able to explore Cuenca on foot starting with the surrounding neighborhood and eventually traveling up to Turi. There are several very good restaurants within a few blocks of the apartments and my wife enjoyed all the shops. If you go down Calle Larga you will find Todos Santos and the ruins.
Stuart White was a very good "landlord"; he made my wife and I feel more like guests than tenants. Stuart is a good source of information regarding Cuenca and Ecuador and is always willing to share that information.
The front portion is an art gallery, but it is only open intermittently. There is a scheduled showing the 1rst Friday of each month. It was nice - they brought the party to us and it was over by 8PM, so we had the best of both worlds.
There is a washer/dryer available, which was a blessing. The apartments themselves have all the essentials for simple meals. We usually had breakfast at the apartment and would eat lunch/dinner out.
We have travelled all over the world and stayed in some many 5 star hotels, but I can honestly say that I felt more comfortable and "at home" in these apartments, even when compared with the 5 star hotels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like home.
Liked least: I can't think of a negative comment.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute Indiana
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$33
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing